KKS Autocross on 24/7/2005

julianpang

Mar 15, 2004

I was informed that KKS Autocross Rd 4 will be on 24/7/2005.

The fee is still the same at RM150 and no need racing license.

Any of you going for this?

MRMIC2

Apr 18, 2004
It will be held in Shah Alam Stadium Car Park (Opposite the go-kart track)

on the 24th July,Sunday.Registration is on-the-spot.
Come before 9am for registration.
Quite good value too because for RM150 you get a full day of autocross (yes...till evening).
And the track layouts sometimes include handbrake turns, 180s ovals and 360s.
Good fun guaranteed for car enthusiasts.
:)

julianpang

Mar 15, 2004
If I remember correctly, you get something like 12 runs in total for RM150.

In SSO, you get only 4 runs and the entry fee is RM100.

I think Autocross is more bang for bucks.

DarkHelmet

Apr 20, 2005
uncle champion julianpang went to Rd3 KKS as timekeeper to 'check out the competition', so that he can kanasai everybody for Rd4!

KKS says that they prefered Julian to come as participant, not as timekeeper.

DarkHelmet

Apr 20, 2005
crazykid said:
Not participating?

BTW how much does 1 event actually cost you guys?
after the sso2.5 wear and tear stuff like tyres and brakes gone like crap :D (this sport is too expensive :P)
If you think this is expnsive? You should try normal fun track days, will cost you more! More speeds, more wear on tyres and brakes. If you cant afford autocrossing, which is the cheapest sport around, then you might as well forget about motorsports.

DarkHelmet

Apr 20, 2005
[font=Arial, sans-serif]Round 3 of the Championship was run on Sunday 19th June at the Shah Alam Stadium after having to postpone the last date of 22nd May due to the Selangor / Singapore football match. Despite making the event now a Club event and so not requiring AAM Competition licences, the number of entries did not increase by much. However having said that, there were less Lotuses (Loti?) present this time, with only three, but there was in increase in the other makes. This time round we had both the Khongs, Ivan and Ian, and newcomers Johnson Tan in his Toyota MRS, Alvin Tan in a Proton Satria, Benedict Lim in a Toyota MR2 and Soo Sing Kuan with his Honda Civic. “Tree Climber” Mickey Teoh turned up with his immaculate MR2 and the father and son team of Ang Cheng Ho and Dominic decided to spend Fathers’ Day fighting each other on the track. Julian Pang helped encourage many to compete in this event but ended up as a Timekeeper. Hope he enjoyed this experience on “the other side” but we still like to see him competing![/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Due to the low entries everyone got many runs and we ended up with 4 tests being run with a total of 12 runs per driver! Not a bad value for money![/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Class 3 1001 to 1300 c.c.[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]The day started with Asrul Azam putting up some quick times until he clipped a curb and altered his rear suspension. Then he hopped between two other cars to keep running but could not get close enough to charging Ian Khong in his “shopping” Suzuki Swift. Alvin Tan in the meantime worked his times down during the day and by the end of the day was about 1 second behind Ian. Not a bad effort for a first time here![/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]1st Ian Khong Suzuki Swift 364.583[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]2nd Asrul Azam bin Ali Suzuki Swift 371.447[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]3rd Alvin Tan Proton Satria 374.444[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Class 4 1301 to 1600 c.c.[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Only one entry in this class but Soo put up some good times and ended up 3rd Overall. Hope we see more in this class the next time![/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]1st Soo Sing Kuan Honda Civic 351.340[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Class 7 Sports Cars[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]This is a class normally dominated by the Lotuses but this round saw the appearance of the Toyotas. There were creditable performances from the newcomers and we are sure that they have been bitten the bug and will be back. It is always nice to see the “open tops” competing as they can be quite spectacular on the loose surfaces. [/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]1st Austin Teng Tu Siang Lotus Elise 351.601[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]2nd Johnson Tan Toyota MRS 366.438[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]3rd Dominic Ang Ding Xiong Lotus Elise 383.820[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Class 8 Open[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Three entries in this class with possibly the fastest cars. Marcus Chye has got his car and himself well set up for this event and drove smoothly to win the class again. This time he was pursued by Ivan Khong in the Subaru WRX, which while having all the power, was sometimes a bit of a handful in the tighter parts of the test circuit. In the end it was the nimbleness of the Lotus that had the advantage. Mickey’s MR2 was also a bit of a handful but it was fun watching him drift the car in some parts of the test course. [/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]1st Marcus Chye Ao Hsiang Lotus Elise 330.902[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]2nd Ivan Khong Subaru WRX 334.634[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]3rd Mickey Teoh Toyota MR2 368.189[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Overall Results for Round 3[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]1st Marcus Chye Ao Hsiang 330.902[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]2nd Ivan Khong 334.634[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]3rd Soo Sing Kuan 351.340[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]4th Austin Teng 351.601[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]5th Ian Khong 364.583[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]6th Johnson Tan 366.438[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Next round is: 24th July, so get those cars prepared![/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Paul David[/font]

[font=Arial, sans-serif]Hon Secretary[/font]

crazykid

Feb 22, 2005
somewhere on earth
DarkHelmet said:
If you think this is expnsive? You should try normal fun track days, will cost you more! More speeds, more wear on tyres and brakes. If you cant afford autocrossing, which is the cheapest sport around, then you might as well forget about motorsports.
aiks...dun la say like that :D potong stim la you.At least give some support la :mad: really had tons of fun in SSO 2.5 and wantted to join KSS but cant get the cash in time to buy the tyres and the brakes :p BTW quite shocked to see only one 1.6 car participating.

julianpang

Mar 15, 2004
crazykid said:
aiks...dun la say like that :D potong stim la you.At least give some support la :mad: really had tons of fun in SSO 2.5 and wantted to join KSS but cant get the cash in time to buy the tyres and the brakes :p BTW quite shocked to see only one 1.6 car participating.
No need to buy tyres. Just run with what you have first and get more experience. Later, then upgrade. If you keep upgrading without knowing what you lack in your car, no point also.

So run first with what you have then upgrade base on what you feel your car is lack of. I did the same thing too. I started out with stock rims and tyres with standard suspension. Like that you will not hurt your pocket that much.

I am very sure that it will be more than one 1.6 participant this coming round. So are you coming to join?

Hope Turbo master and intermediate master can answer my question..Can lah..

How to read this meter..? It's also Autogauge product..!!! If the needle goes till '12', means what bar? 1.2 bar? Or 0.8 bar?Cz the meter count in PSi, not bar..Very peninglah..Please la answer ya..Thanks..Cz my previous boost meter not like this..It was 1,1.5 till 2..This one 10 till 30!!! What the heck?? Where got 30 bar..