inprove your BASS

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 24, 2003
3,573
15
3,138
kl
Visit site
very simple only..seal your woofer box completely....
make sure there is no air coming out from the box when your woofer kicks hard....

there are 2 way you seal a woofer box
1)use silicon sealant or glue gun to seal ever corners of your box

2)use double sided tape and stick it on the back subwoofer speaker round frame(refer to the picture), stick into a compklete round shape..and then screw it back tighly into your box...this way you can minimize/seal the small gap in between you box and your speaker.....

then plug it back and you are ready to feel you subwoofer that kick even harder now....

*why seal all the gaps? no air will be release from the box will make thesubwoofer rebound less thus more solid

p/s- try to press your woofer and check wheter there;s any woof woof noise..if yes..there's still air coming out..if no then get ready to kick it hard
 

arrowhead

Senior Member
Senior Member

arrowhead

Senior Member
Senior Member
Aug 20, 2004
4,623
152
5,163
Damansara/PJ
but bro, im not too sure bout this though.. but im pretty sure when they make a box for the woofer... the whole there has its purpose... :huh:

just my opinion, dun shoot me
 

KSL

500 RPM
Senior Member

KSL

500 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 6, 2004
513
1
3,018
Subang
Visit site
that box you are talking about is called a seal type box. there are many kinda subs, boxes have a range as well. seal type, vented, double vented, etc. however, yeah, for the seal box, if you do seal it completely it would cut out rattles for those heavy blasters.
btw, there are a few programs used by sound engineers to determine the optimal box size/shape/type. but if you get a competition woofer, should be stated on the site wut kinda enclosure should it be mounted on.
:D
 

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 24, 2003
3,573
15
3,138
kl
Visit site
Originally posted by KSL@Nov 28 2004, 12:28
that box you are talking about is called a seal type box. there are many kinda subs, boxes have a range as well. seal type, vented, double vented, etc. however, yeah, for the seal box, if you do seal it completely it would cut out rattles for those heavy blasters.
btw, there are a few programs used by sound engineers to determine the optimal box size/shape/type. but if you get a competition woofer, should be stated on the site wut kinda enclosure should it be mounted on.
:D
ops..heheheh
 

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

alantan

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
Thread starter
Dec 24, 2003
3,573
15
3,138
kl
Visit site
Originally posted by xtorm@Nov 28 2004, 19:51
dun use glue gun wor......

on a very hot day the glue may melt n mess ur sub boxler......
silicon glue leh?
cos i'm usins silicon glue actualy..

i tot glue gun would be easier ma
 

xtorm

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

xtorm

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 9, 2003
1,593
49
3,148
Originally posted by alantan+Nov 28 2004, 20:24 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (alantan @ Nov 28 2004, 20:24 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-xtorm@Nov 28 2004, 19:51
dun use glue gun wor......

on a very hot day the glue may melt n mess ur sub boxler......
silicon glue leh?
cos i'm usins silicon glue actualy..

i tot glue gun would be easier ma [/b][/quote]
yep, normally they use silicon glue.

best would b ask some 1 to custom made the box, n the time they r installing, ask them to put in some wood glue between the joint, then do 1 more layer of silicon glue inside.
 

Angelz

Known Member
Senior Member

Angelz

Known Member
Senior Member
Jan 5, 2004
333
0
3,016
Originally posted by khguan@Nov 28 2004, 23:03
my car no subwoofer box wor... just use my entire boot as box...

of cos de bass at high vol cant fight those with box wan lar... :P
:huh: dude.. wat woofer u using? ;) kinda curious.. :)
 

Dremel

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

Dremel

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 19, 2003
1,036
0
3,136
Ampng Nrdschlff
Visit site
Originally posted by Angelz+Nov 29 2004, 05:30 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Angelz @ Nov 29 2004, 05:30 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-khguan@Nov 28 2004, 23:03
my car no subwoofer box wor... just use my entire boot as box...

of cos de bass at high vol cant fight those with box wan lar... :P
:huh: dude.. wat woofer u using? ;) kinda curious.. :) [/b][/quote]
free air?
 

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

drexchan

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 23, 2004
2,908
100
3,163
Bukit Jalil
drexchan.fotopic.net
have you guys heard of polystyrene beads? those used in filling the cushions or dolls...

heard that putting some of these beads inside the box will improve the bass. The mass to use is very important.
 

xtorm

1,500 RPM
Senior Member

xtorm

1,500 RPM
Senior Member
Dec 9, 2003
1,593
49
3,148
Originally posted by Dremel+Nov 29 2004, 06:30 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (Dremel @ Nov 29 2004, 06:30 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-xtorm@Nov 29 2004, 03:26
yes, ur bass xtension will improve for sure.

btw u mean inside rite?
erm... if outside? what would happen? [/b][/quote]
no function :P
 

gavan

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

gavan

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Apr 14, 2004
1,408
3
3,138
Shah Alam
Visit site
the stuff to put inside the box is to get either a deeper bass at lower tone or a bass with higer tone, use bass drums on the drumset as examples :D
 

KSL

500 RPM
Senior Member

KSL

500 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 6, 2004
513
1
3,018
Subang
Visit site
amp modification?? yea, i'm interested as well... erm, as far as i know, only mod for amps is larger heat sinks so it won't over heat as fast. but gettin better bass, i'm unsure about. what you did to the amp? :D
 

hitz

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

hitz

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Nov 17, 2003
1,111
5
5,138
Kepong, KL
Originally posted by xtorm@Dec 15 2004, 11:35
i change the capacitor inside it...power supply area...

it use to b 4 x 1800uf.....
i change it to 12x680uf

smaller value but more of it, giv better control. i would like to put a little more but no spacelahhh
Wah how u change the cap inside the amp??? :blink: Got area for u to solder meh?? :o Really pro lar u.... ;)
 

gogsard

Known Member
Senior Member

gogsard

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 27, 2004
115
0
3,016
where to get a 10" seal box cheap aa ?

i cant find it in brother or cosplus. i only found 12" seal box with a sub already, Armadillo from KF audio. That also cos RM370
 

lawrencelyl

Known Member
Senior Member

lawrencelyl

Known Member
Senior Member
Oct 22, 2004
162
0
3,016
Penang
www.intel.com
i also don't find any sealed box enclosure in any shops...
in fact, can't even find one...
i was looking for 1.25 cu ft sealed enclosure for quite some time already but can't find any... <_<
 
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
A Do-It-Yourself Garage 6
J Do-It-Yourself Garage 60