imitation rims - are they really not reliable at all?

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
well, had to commute due to work and family responsibility. I don't even want to remember how much it costs me in fuel. Easily rm30-40 daily (b16a that time, petrol was 1.90 for ron 97)

I think I could easily buy another car with the money I spent on fuel. Ouch, just made myself remember.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

I use 195/55R15 and 215/45R17.

the 17" are ep3 wheels. its about +50 offset I think. I had to use spacers at the rear. then again, because I am using Ek9 5 knuckles and trailing arms, so offset is not like normal EGs. +38 7JJ, my tire would sit 1-1.5" out

with 17, no gap at all (1" taller than my 15"), but no fender scrapes since its used for near monsoon season only, early oct until jan.
where I don't drive much, and if I do, its not far or on bad roads.
Lucky both are very common size. Can get easily and many choices....

Waakkks, that's like almost 200km/day! You may even beat some taxi drivers dude!
a lot of ppl drive long distance on daily basis....

even now my car cover atleast 150km/day....

tired wohhh....on my body and on my pocket

Doing sales? Actually 150km sound a lot but actually is not that much depending on what line you are in. Even going to Shah Alam from PJ and back already 40km

nope...but its one trip to and later form work......

outside KL with 2/3 of the route have to take the old state road...

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
I only travel about 40km/day. :) Last time doing about 65-70kms/day already felt a lot for me, feeling like falling asleep at the wheel.

yup.. sure a lot..not to mention pot holes and who knows what else waiting on the next blind corner....

tired....but atleast not for long....moving to a nearer house soon.....

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
140km drive to me is nothing. I don't feel it anymore. 500km+. yeah that feels far.

Sent from my GT-I9100G using Tapatalk 2

No traffic it is a breeze, when jam that 20km back is hell......:mad:

Oops...we are in imitation rims thread.....OT liao.....:driver:

beatnik

Nov 28, 2004
err.. back to topic..

here's what I found during my recent visit to a shop in Klang..

Crack? normal ler..

see again..

Ooops!!

Makes me think twice on buying replica/taiwan rims again :listen:

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
Scary. Every time I see a rim in that shape, it really freaks me out.

spoon civic

Jul 12, 2012
terengganu
yes as i mentioned, imitation from taiwan, we know it bends easily. but how bad it is?
will it all patah suddenly when u hit the hole? or suddenly all 4 wheels fly out? lol:biggrin:
taiwan rims not too bad quality,altough it bends easily,but can be repair,as my friend using te37 original japan,hit hole got crack...2 times repair then sold.....japan rims lighten but if u unlucky ur rims may got patah or crack.....so the choice in your hands...more badet..can use japan rims..lower..can use taiwan grade A rims...:driver:

Does anyone know where I can find the stuff mentioned above?

preferably the complete set (all 4) so that I can use 5 bolt rims?
It must come with the original discs, caliper and knuckles (since I would not need to buy the things seperately.
Have you come across some at your local kedai potong store?

PM/ reply here with details.

Price and location is all the info I need.
Thanks in advance for any assistance provided.