Humble DIY Repairs On My Car

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,451
8,232
1,713
Petaling Jaya
Yeah to check engine fault code is fine, but also the basic ones. My immobilizer fault code didn't show up in the Torque app, I was very frustrated why my car cannot start, hahaha.
Could be the app not suitable for the make/brand of car. It works well for my Chery SUV, for Forester certain things ok, some things not....lol
 

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member

lsm1991

1,000 RPM
Senior Member
Sep 30, 2011
1,365
161
663
PJ
I think its the limit of the dongle.
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
to be honest it's more than enough for most people's needs, at one point i needed it pretty often to clear an error caused by the 02 sensor in an aftermarket exhaust.

can you actually set throttle or immobilizer with the ob2 dongle and app?
Yup it has the function, I managed to reset the throttle on my Proton Gen 2, similarly it can work with imobilizer too but never got to try that function out. What I understand it does not cover all the vehicles so it likely be a hit and miss depending on the app support.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,451
8,232
1,713
Petaling Jaya
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
Yah, even the actual unit my mechanic have, have to choose car make and model to scan. New cars in the market, have to get new software upload....
 

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,482
810
713
Kuala Lumpur
dongle is just an interface... everything else is on the side of the app... remember, just signals. signals are just 1's and 0's... if you can interpret the combinations of 1's and 0's (decode it) i will mean something
No, u need to have a dongle that can actually translate everything to the app. ELM is what we used and they have only a set of protocols.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,451
8,232
1,713
Petaling Jaya
No, u need to have a dongle that can actually translate everything to the app. ELM is what we used and they have only a set of protocols.
The one that I have don't work well with my Forester, but club member did mention got another model that can read most of the data, including CVT fluid temp......
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
arite... how much did this cost!

this is cool
The top of the line model BL-7000SLX which is capable to lift SUVs and pickup trunks cost RM7000. The mid range model BL-5000SLX is RM6500. Since it is RM500 difference worthwhile to go with the top of the line model. But I will caution that the top of the line model is about 8kg heavier.
 

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
isnt that kinda low? A friend told me this was about RM6k on google. wow
I think you are referring to the lift height. That is actually very good for a portable lift system. More than enough space to do most of the work required to be under the car.
 

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 28, 2005
290
45
1,528
I would suggest to put additional jackstand or spare wheel as a backup in any case the liftjack fails/ fall down. just a safety measure
 
  • Like
Reactions: sweelt

M_Engineer

Active Member

M_Engineer

Active Member
Jun 2, 2020
27
10
3
35
I would suggest to put additional jackstand or spare wheel as a backup in any case the liftjack fails/ fall down. just a safety measure
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
 
  • Like
Reactions: leinnz

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member

leinnz

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 28, 2005
290
45
1,528
If u see it properly, they are built with safety mechanism. Just like 2 post lift.
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
okok. just to be extra safe. looks cool
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,451
8,232
1,713
Petaling Jaya
It has actually built in jack stands. Basically a solid metal bar that holds the jacking frames in an upright position. Therefore it does not rely on hydraulic to pressure keep the jacks suspended.
Looking back at the video, the jack looks slightly slanting, not fully upright?
 

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,482
810
713
Kuala Lumpur
Other than its portable, quite the hefty price isn't it, my problem is the height. Add a few more k can get 2 post lift dy but can't simply install everywhere la.