How to remove GTi gear knob

soggie

Oct 26, 2004
Hi sifus, how do I remove the Satria GTi gear knob?

I wanna steal it from proton's showroom.

Ok, seriously, I need to remove mine to repaint it. It has way too many scratches. How do I do it? THere's a portion underneath that needs to be removed right?

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
soggie said:
THere's a portion underneath that needs to be removed right?
yes, then release it down and got another small key attached also....removed the small screw then the whole thing is out....

good luck

soggie

Oct 26, 2004
OK I found out how. On the base of the knob, grip onto it and twist it counter-clockwise to unscrew it. Then, find a small alley key, insert it into the gear knob, and open it up. Then the whole thing can just be unscrewed out.

Thanks!

keithkeat

Jan 6, 2005
kapateS
no prob.....just the opinion learn from my mech.....

soggie

Oct 26, 2004
Well... mistake here. Not turn the bottom part counter-clockwise, but (surprisingly) clockwise. Haha.

Unscrewing the knob is easy... spray painting it perfectly is hard T_T... I messed up and now I have a strange looking knob with uneven silver paint (its not even metallic paint!!!!!) on it...

T_T
T_T
T_T

ae101rulez

Sep 2, 2005
erm...
haha....wanna steal gearknob from showroom...haha....i dun think the cars there are fix with gearknobslah......if wanna steal, go to secondhand car shoplah...haha

nuwa

Oct 17, 2006
i lose my gti gear knob alley key screw after i took it out and the screw very hard to find anywhere else so keep it in a save place.

sorry mister moderator.

i know this is not market place thread. but my post in that thread no reply.

need to know current pricing for evo3 & Evo4 halfcut.

thank u.