How to fix rusty car roof with cheapest price!Maybe DIY?

teearts

Jun 30, 2006
I was really upset when I see my Nissan Sentra roofing started got rust,it form a small bubbles(pimpers) shape like before got rust water came out from under the coated paint....Does anybody know how to get it fix?..Thanks!

S1997

some ppl said use fiber and remove gum...and repaint..

some ppl say buy new..

i have the same problem and still thinking which method to use. most likely change a new one :)

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
guess we all fall under the same roof here...

hmmm .. will it be street legal to change the roof?? or another option i was thinking is fixing a sunroof ( so the rusted part is cut out ) depends on where the rust is..

but anyway .. im still in a dilemma. :(

ken yeang

remove paint, remove rust by grinding till seeing shiny metal. paint anti rust, patch rust hole with f/glass kit, sanding surface, apply filler, apply stopper, paint primer, sanding work, paint base coat, paint color coat,. polish surface until it blend with surounding paint colour.

Easy or hard?

ken yeang

well, it's not hard. It's the recommended way, by professional. Our local repairman hardly follow such steps.

waikiki

Mar 16, 2004
Damansara, PJ
HMMM ../ that explains why they keep cummin up again even after respraying da roof..

huakenny

LB Performance
Feb 24, 2005
Kota Kinabalu
remove the old paint 1st.......then 'gosok' the rust part on the roof.....

after tat use fibre...

gosok,simen n spray...

i think is like tis....i done mine las time.....:_:

sam1741

Dec 18, 2004
wow.. sad thing
rust is the thing i hate most in car problem

is the car still under warranty?

teearts

Jun 30, 2006
Hello!Good morning,everybody!Ya,I did asked before one western guy from US,who reconstruct his old Mustang,and below are the emails he reply me :

Tee,My solution on the Mustang was not easy or cheap, but I couldn't think of a better solution. If you are going to keep the Sentra for a long time, replacing the roof is the best answer. If you only want to keep it for 2-3 years, you can just have it sanded, filled with Bondo and put a vinyl top on it. That would be cheap and you could do it yourself. It would look good, but it wouldn't be a good long term solution.

Good luck.

Harry"

" Best of luck with the roof. Replacing the roof is a very big deal and difficult to do correctly. If you have to replace your roof, make sure you find qualified shop to do the work. In the US, it cost me about $1400 to replace the roof and that did not include the paint. I put the vinyl on myself.
The best glue for your top idea would be contact cement, not superglue. Do you have 3M Super77 spray adhesive in Malaysia? 3M brand makes very good spray glues for that type of work.

Best of luck, I hope it works out for you. Thank you for the Mustang photos.

Harry "

Ken Yeang,Thanks for your great sharing ideas...!Could you please tell me what kind of "brand" is commonly use for these items? (1) Anti rust paint (2) Fiber glass kit (3) Filler (4)Stopper and (5) primer paint ?Is there any accessories shop could get it?Thanks for reply!

ken yeang

There is almost no brand in the common anti rust paint. The mid range one is from Nippon paint. It's a red-oxide paint for anti rust purpose. Good paint as it is easy to apply compared to other common anti rust. Dries well and produce good finish.

Fiber glass kit -I know that BONDO is a good brand. It's made from US and it has been used in car and boat repair. From comparison with local f/glass dealer/seller that sell in bulk, the BONDO fiberglass kit is a bit costly( due to exchange curency rate), but the product is high grade. I find the quality better and finish product is stiffer (or it just me?). The kit comes with fiber matt, harderner and resin. Comes in two sizes. All items can be bought saparately if you needed extra.

Filler is a material that local repairman called "tanah", used to fill up low spots when repairing body panel dents. They comes with different brand, and color. Some use harderner and some don't. I use normal filler that comes in a can, called NEXA (I think). Cost abt 14 bucks.

Stopper -is actual a creamier version of filler. It function as a final surfacer to mask tiny pores left from filler work. Some don't use them as they prefer sanding the filler with finer grade sand paper. The result produce is almost the same. NEXA also produce stopper. U can also substitute stopper by using base coat paint. Use white color is preferable. They are matt in colour and use as intermidiate before color coat is applied They provide a sticking surface between filler/stopper and the color coat. Many base coat is also recognized as primer paint oso, depending on the formula of the paint.

Assesories shop do not sell paint work prep product. They sell paint protection/enhancement product. Anyway, good hardware shops should carry the items I've mentioned. If u live in klang valley, u should visit ACE hardware store. They have pretty good and specialised products. If not buying the products, reading the label/instruction can teach u many things...

teearts

Jun 30, 2006
Thanks a lot Ken Yeang!

Thanks Ken!You are very kind and helpful!These are all very good information and ideas...I would do it by my self as if the roof getting more worst!Thanks a lot!

Best regards!

tee

kennethfong

Aug 11, 2004
can anyone enlighten myself n the mass public that how in the hell most of the rust appears on the roof of the car?? any counter measures for this??

if i were to send my car for roof repair where is the best place for quality workmanship in penang???

thanz

ken yeang

Kennethfong, Are you refering to new car or used car?

New cars very seldom have rust problem unless there were glitches happened at the asembly line/production line. Reputable car company would recall such "problem' car and offer free repair.

Used car always have "surprises". depending on the car's history and the owner's care taking towards the car. When car involved in accident, most owners would do the easiest way out. Repair the car with the bare minimum cost and later sell of the car. With minimum budget, repairman will definitely cut corners, preparation work before car body spray will not done properly. Rust or dirt etc are not rid off 100% at that point. In matter of 2-3 years rust /paint prob comes back under the paintwork - this mostly occured to the unsuspecting new car owner....so kesian

of course, there are other posibilities that could contribute to rust occurance.....kennethfong, but at this point i can't help u more.....as I do not know the nature of your car...

Hi all,

I am planning to apply a thin carpet in my door cut pocket.

Initially I was thinking to use double sided tape but after checking the material of the carpet is cotton, I am having the idea to apply glue.

Now, my question is, where can I get odorless glue which suitable for such application.

Appreciate your inputs.

Thanks.