how to clean OLD rims?

ah lee

Dec 28, 2004
my old wira rims (which i believe has been skimmed yrs ago) are sort of dirty with some kind of brownish spot... Looks like mouldy marking around the rims..

I have been trying to clean it with thinner,,,polisher(car) etc.. but the result was not impressive. ANy ideas how to clean to stains... or can we just send it for another skimming process? :lol:

AccordRacing

Feb 2, 2005
kepong
www.zhapalang.com.my
better hear the advise of expert then coat it more better n durable

Yong_5290

Nov 4, 2004
Klang
hotmail.com
skimming will make it blink blink...go 4 it...but i think tyre shop sharge quite xpensiv...last time i work b4 n alsways charge ppl rm 60 each pc...

boggysv

Sep 7, 2004
I'm desperate.

which shop can help me repair this?

pls pls pls....very desperate..and i'll start becoming a bitch if this is not solved soon

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
u must hit something!!
to repair this u must to reparay whole rim again!!
for my advice
just leave it there
is not very obvious

psyk

Feb 22, 2005
that small dot u complain already ah.. my rims sumone go scratch one big ugly line.. i also donno where to go get it fixed.. i tink i best go get new rims la..

ahkeong82

Dec 7, 2004
i need help in repair rim too... :(

WinDz

Mar 29, 2004
my rims also scratch until i fed up wanna do anything with it aledi .. somehow when u go for wheel balancing .. those ferlow ketuk those weight or stick those weight on ur wheels.. the whole rim scratch here and there.. expecially those parts where the old weight is remove.. nice nice mark there.. T_T

pdj1103

Sep 10, 2004
in case any of you find out any good shop that can skim/groom rims back to normal,pls pm me..my wife hit my 17" rims wif the stagnant divider...oh god!!!

aircooled

Jul 9, 2004
Gombak Tyre
03-4021 6681 (Zakir)
Batu 3 3/4, Jln Gombak

try this place. just done mine last saturday. i only did a minor job, just skimmed the lip for all the 4 rims. quite deep scruffs.

try not to pay tyre shops rm60 to do it. the place charges rm35 for full skim and fo my case, initially he wanted rm20 each wheel, but after the job completion, he only asked for rm15 each.

for lip skimming, they can get it done there and then, but for full skimming, have to wait 1 day coz they send it else where.

i din do full skimming coz i dun like the look.

good luck.

pdj1103

Sep 10, 2004
mine are 2-piece,chrome rim.so,they can fix them ar?thanks a lot.nowadays,me got no time to 'windowshop' looking for tyre shop anymore.

aircooled

Jul 9, 2004
think u gotto bring it to the job so they can verify the extent of the damage.

I am a newbie in this car world so need a little help please..Recently i changed to a sport spring..After changing it i noticed the gap of my front tyres are different, one is lower, one is higher..Why does this happen ek..