Honda Civic – full correction with orange peel removal and opti-coated

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Hello friends

A very good Thursday from Mauritius :wavey:

This detailing job took over 5 days, from decontamination to coating, loads of defects removal and paint leveling.

Upon arrival:

Wash:

2BM method using mf wash mitt
Local car shampoo and APC mix

To the wheels

Washed already

close-up of contaminants

Decontamination with Sonax full effect + Clay

in- process

Ready to be coated and protected

To the paintwork

Clay

Assessing the work to be done

Not easy to be noticed. On this color, it’s as if the defects have got “shyness DNA”

From previous respray job, rubber trims damaged! I was very sad for the friend who brought his Honda to me. Little or nothing I could do for that.

NEW paint defect (at least for a newbie like me, doing detailing as a passion)

More familiar

light scratches and RIDS, full of swirls but the metallic flakes just make it difficult to be captured.

The headlights

wait, not yet over

the lower sections

subsurface defect

Look

close-up

same on both sides of the rear bumper

Paint correction:

The paint has sanding marks and scratches beaneath the clear-coat. I had to proceed with extreme caution and to add, Hondas are the champion of soft paints.

Tools: Makita rotary, Flex 3401
Polishes: Menz FG 400, 203S, PO85rd
Pads: Carpro denim pads, LC white, LC HT Crimson, LC white
Glass: DP Glass restorer with glass polishing pads, Opti-sealed
Wipe down : IPA mix
Coating: Opticoat with supplied applicator, wiped with suede mf towels (better than normal mf towel IMO)
Trims & tyres: CG new look trim

After correction

a spot or 2 remain, would have needed more clear coat removal

The roof

close-up

More swirls appearing due to a flatter surface, holograms are there too from the compounding step

My friends

Beading during the polishing stage

Checking and checking

TA DA

Attending to the details

Focussed

rare incidence: Shot by Mrs

extreme close-up

The hood

The task at hand

Many scratches found after compounding, when the blurriness is gone

Inch-by-inch inspection

More inspection

The Sun test

The swipe test

Finishing beads

Feeling blessed

The hood

Peek-a-boo wih the sun

Perfection wanted

Couldn’t get the sun from the camera, but no swirls left

The doors and vertical panels
To recap

Orange peel and textured paint removed

Almost done

Hello!

I’ve still got an agricultural garage/workshop

A few reflection shots

Some Finshing beads

Coating the mirror

Some opti-beads shots

The Finishing pics

Thanks for reading. Your comments and thoughts are most welcome.

Cheers

Zaid

re: Honda Civic – full correction with orange peel removal and opti-coated

Loves those beads......:driver:

Nice to see detailing works from other countries. Awesome.

1.6L Civic?

chuckie

Jun 17, 2005
Would have send my car to u if u're in Malaysia now. BTW, how long the process actually?

zckid

Feb 28, 2012
Mauritius
Would have send my car to u if u're in Malaysia now. BTW, how long the process actually?

I see Wolverine
thanks a lot friends

@Chuckie i'd like to bro. it'd have been my pleasure. but you have a lot of sifus at your place.

the whole detail took me about five days. the car's been repainted with a lot of sub-surface defects, like sanding marks below the clear.

I miss KL a lot, my sifu and all the friends I met there.

@cvkit17 Gary Barbosa's wolverine

Track Day Junkies! - The chance to track your car alongside Time To Attack Elites!. - This coming July 22nd (Sunday). We have allocated a Track Day session between 8am till 11am for all track junkies. Everyone is welcomed and slots are very limited, register now!

Details:

• Date: 22nd July 2012
  • Day: Sunday
  • Time: 8am - 11am
  • Price: RM350
  • Payments: Bank...