Hidden Speed Trap Illegal?

buckeyes

Sep 30, 2012
jb

Just want to check whether has anyone been caught by hidden speed trap and challenge the summon in court?

Was caught twice in Johor bahru; once in oct 2012 traveling 90km/h at Danga Bay area (60km/h speed limit) which I paid and again recently in jan 2014 traveling 92km/h at kulai area (70km/h speed limit). Both time by hidden camera without any warnings.

I thought that the Deputy IGP in 2011 has declared that police will stop ambushing motorists. Will the court entertain our defence that hidden speed trap is illegal?

Thank you.

Hidden in what sense? I still see them behind amco railing and under the bridges. Is that considered hiding?

LiteBulb

Jan 15, 2009
It wouldn't be a trap if it is visible.

Actually, I don't see a point why should anyone be warned.

There is a reason why it is called speed trap :biggrin:

Unless stated Speed Camera Ahead then is not really a speed trap since it has already warned u.
A trap is a trap :biggrin: If u knew, it wouldn't be a trap haha!

That's why we practice flashing high beam in helping others at the opposite road if we spot any lizard shit around the corner.

There is a reason why it is called speed trap :biggrin:

Unless stated Speed Camera Ahead then is not really a speed trap since it has already warned u.
A trap is a trap :biggrin: If u knew, it wouldn't be a trap haha!

That's why we practice flashing high beam in helping others at the opposite road if we spot any lizard shit around the corner.
Those days it worked well. Nowadays sometimes they set far ahead, then all slow down when see flash, after a while nothing happen they speed again then kena.....:driver:

AES is it? just activate your WAZE while driving on the highway.
best if car have video player then can plug in the phone, connect waze in the video player :smile:

AES is fixed, not those under the bridge, in the bushes, at bus stops, and latest I saw in the drain.....:thefinger:
Next time u will see them in the manhole :rofl:

There's those generic speed trap signboards that's supposed to be your 'warning'. And the IGP did indeed say that speed traps will come with the warning signs, just that he didn't say it'll be 500m or 2km later after the speed trap signboard.

Next time u will see them in the manhole :rofl:
Manhole usually in the middle of the road, so we can roll over them.....hahahahhahhaa:rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:59 AM ----------

There's those generic speed trap signboards that's supposed to be your 'warning'. And the IGP did indeed say that speed traps will come with the warning signs, just that he didn't say it'll be 500m or 2km later after the speed trap signboard.
Those hidden ones or setup ones got no warning signs mah!:banghead::biggrin:

Manhole usually in the middle of the road, so we can roll over them.....hahahahhahhaa:rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:00 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:59 AM ----------

Those hidden ones or setup ones got no warning signs mah!:banghead::biggrin:
Barricaded :rofl:

He faint by gas and drop inside.......:rofl:
Exhaust fume overdose...talking about that. A cop got killed by suspected criminals. Knock him down when he was on his bike.

Manhole inside also got poisonous gas sometimes. That is why they pump in air or extract (not sure) before they go in....:biggrin: