Help: Wira 1.5(A) wanna convert to 4gears auto

  • Jan 2021 Updates: 3 Letter Search Activated, try it now! | Homepage, Forums, Marketplace pages refreshed! | Top Start Thread Button added | Site notification emails are now more secure!

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member
Feb 14, 2007
21
0
1,501
Calling all sifus,

I'm currently driving a Wira 1.5 (A) [4G15]
As u all know, dis car uses a 3gear gearbox.
This has a high fuel consumption.

I use dis car for work n dis causes me to spend a lot on petrol.
I'm considering converting to 4gear auto, as I wanna maintain d ease of driving an auto cos I use it for driving ard KL/PJ most of d time but wanna hav better fuel consumption.
Even tot of changing car but given d current economic climate, I feel I still can make do wif my car.

The question is, how do I do it?:hmmmm:
What gearbox(es) can I use?
What damage(price) am I looking at?
Where can I go 2 do this?

Require help frm u sifus tat r pro in Wira make.
Pls help.
Thx.
 

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member
Apr 19, 2004
7,937
954
3,213
Sahara Desert
bro dick, there are many other ways to improve ur engines FC, u dont have to spend thousands for GB.

how many km's u are getting for full tank?
 

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member
Feb 14, 2007
21
0
1,501
I'm getting ard 350-380 for city driving.
For outstation travel it's abt 400 onwards.

I think tatz pretty normal for a Wira(A).. is it?
 

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member
Apr 19, 2004
7,937
954
3,213
Sahara Desert
I'm getting ard 350-380 for city driving.
For outstation travel it's abt 400 onwards.

I think tatz pretty normal for a Wira(A).. is it?
that is quite good fc for auto 3 speed edi maa, mine also getting at 350-370 for 65 bucks...

for outstation i am getting about 480km max..

ur FC is ok wat...no big deal :hmmmm:
 

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member
Feb 14, 2007
21
0
1,501
My full tank is is more like 75-80 bucks...
Cos I drive till empty (fuel warning light on) den oni I pump full.
 

joev8796

Known Member
Senior Member

joev8796

Known Member
Senior Member
Oct 23, 2008
145
8
1,518
ur FC is not tat bad wat, urs is carb or efi?

those 4 AT gb is not tat ec 2 fit in2 ur engine, i think la. if u reali wanna hav better fc, y dun replace ur air filter 2 those high flow type? change smaller wheel, 13" rim wit 175/70R13 is reali gud 2 improve ur fc...use thinner lube wil help
 

scoty20

Known Member
Senior Member

scoty20

Known Member
Senior Member
Mar 31, 2007
145
0
1,516
pm me if u want used manual gearbox.I got 1 used.Still in good condition.reson for selling,using 4g91 gb.
 

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member
Feb 14, 2007
21
0
1,501
Mine is EFI. Not carbbie...
I've oredi change to open type filter long b4 dis.
Jus tot of using a 4gear auto-box cos I'm sick of d car revving 2 such high revs wheneva I go outstation.

Dun really wanna change 2 manual tho cos I'm lazy.
I drive quite a bit in d city.
I old dy, no more race race punya mood.
:proud:
 

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member

fstr

7,000 RPM
Helmet Clan
Senior Member
Apr 19, 2004
7,937
954
3,213
Sahara Desert
Mine is EFI. Not carbbie...
I've oredi change to open type filter long b4 dis.
Jus tot of using a 4gear auto-box cos I'm sick of d car revving 2 such high revs wheneva I go outstation.

Dun really wanna change 2 manual tho cos I'm lazy.
I drive quite a bit in d city.
I old dy, no more race race punya mood.
:proud:
once a modder always a modder.

i always said like u said b4...dowan mod laa old liow, why waste the money?? :thefinger:

im above 35 but still mod engines, there is no age limit :driver:
 

afmarsyal

Known Member
Senior Member

afmarsyal

Known Member
Senior Member
Nov 20, 2008
100
6
1,518
if want to put 4at must be with the transmission control unit..u have to fit in a 1.6 auto ecu and tcu..don't know if it would work..but 1.6 manual ecu can successfully transplanted to 4g15, along with all the wiring and sensors..if not ecu will read error..
 
Last edited:

amad108..

Known Member
Senior Member

amad108..

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 27, 2004
412
3
3,018
1.6gbx prob maker... try find 4g91 version, even my car wira 1.6 at 65buck can get 350km for town driving...
but the wiring sure complicated parts, can become messy if the mech not do it well.. i convert manual last time, wiring for auto still got.. the wiring almost the same amount with ecu..
n make sure u ask them to check to cover xtra hole that not being use, if not during driving hot air can went inside lol...
 

mosh

Known Member
Senior Member

mosh

Known Member
Senior Member
Sep 16, 2004
137
14
3,018
KL
www.autoworld.com.my
proton 4G15 cannot be mated with 4spd autobox... and if can ? it too costly that you can even bought a whole halfcut.. try to look anybody that successfull to mate proton 4G15 to 4sp autobox.. cheers! :driver:

but, japanese later generation 4G15 got 4sp autobox but donno can fit into proton chasis..
 

lonelylilpig

500 RPM
Senior Member

lonelylilpig

500 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 26, 2006
832
33
1,528
If u really want a 4spd auto tranny, why not change to 4G91 auto. Powerful yet less complicated and Fc wise more saving !! If compare the cost + - the same. If u get 1 tranny unit from recond shop, (not advise to get from chopshop as really gamble your luck n $$$) its 1200 onwards depend on warranty period. If workshop charge near 1800 with minimal warranty period. Then have to get the tranny control unit, change the torque converter drive plate, this n that cost the same to transplant a new half cut .......

So think about it. I really sick of my old wira auto as well, RM 20 can go approx 80 km only.
 

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member

DickWad

Junior Member
Senior Member
Feb 14, 2007
21
0
1,501
Thx 4 all d advice guys. Really appreciate d help.
Looks like I havta do a lot more research on d subject b4 I do anything.
 

ettm_14

500 RPM
Senior Member

ettm_14

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 30, 2006
605
81
1,528
hmm..imho, buying the gear box is easy, but modifying your wirings for the 4at is gonna cost you...

furthermore, you will most probably face with loss of power due to the gear ratios, do remember that a 1.6 has better power delivery compared to 1.5,

I ventured into this before, ended up disappointed, and money down the drain!

my wira 1.5 auto can only do 380 for 60 bucks, why don't you change back to drop in filter, better fuel efficiency!

just my two cents!