guys, need your kind advice & help.....

This sounds comes from the engine as it follows the engine standard operating sounds
Sound sometimes hard to know what and where they are coming from, even when we are hearing from the car physically, therefore from forum posting is even more difficult. Maybe just tembak only.....lol

Here is what I just learn from my mechanic last week. My wife's China SUV was not driven for a few days, then when it was started, got loud knocking noise. After idle for a while still won't go away. The sound like tappet knocking, the more we rev the louder it became. Off and on engine again, sound still there.
Called my mechanic and explain the issue to him. He say could be your belt but I say sound like tappet knocking, so he ask me try by pouring water on the belt. I did that and the sound quiet down a bit, so I kept pouring water bit by bit, and after a while no more sound. It is now one week already and still quiet, so how to explain.......lol:biggrin:

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Yeah sound/noise is often difficult to identify.
Just a few more ideas to check beside what have been mentioned maybe:
- Aircon compressor. Is the noise only appearing when aircon on/kicks in?
- Fuel line vibration due to air leakage/bubbling somewhere (might be fuel pump in the tank that shakes the fuel line causing humming noise).
Try to identify the exact position of the noise.

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
I had it checked thoroughly by my mechanic but no report about any leakage from the air filter/air intake from him...so i assumed nothing wrong with the air filter...but do u think that it might be the problem? I can ask my mechanic to specifically check it again....

Sent from my GT-N7100 using Tapatalk
I can't be sure whether is it coming from the air intake as I am not a mechanic myself. Sorry about that. Just guessing because if the sound only becomes noticeable every time you press on the throttle, it could be something to do with the intake. By the way, is it that you mentioned something about supercharging your engine in another post?

I suppose yours is this M272 engine.

Since your engine is not really a common engine, plus it is a V6, it might be a bit difficult for normal members over here to identify your problem.

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Yes this is exactly my engine....i did some facelift as well....but not too extreme...just normal facelift to make it look "garang"

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Yeah sound/noise is often difficult to identify.
Just a few more ideas to check beside what have been mentioned maybe:
- Aircon compressor. Is the noise only appearing when aircon on/kicks in?
- Fuel line vibration due to air leakage/bubbling somewhere (might be fuel pump in the tank that shakes the fuel line causing humming noise).
Try to identify the exact position of the noise.
The sound/noise starts the moment i start the engine....and it persists even before i switch on and switch off the aircond...so its not aircond related...but the sound can be heard loudly & clearly from inside the car...but on the outside...the sound very low....

is it a supercharger kind of whining noise? That follows the accelerator? Does your car have a supercharger by default? Sorry, I know nothing about Merc engines. Kompressors are known to have issues since they have wear and tear parts. Maybe it just needs servicing

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Its not a supercharger whining noise....but more to engine noise....no...my supercharger was an addition after 4 years using the original engine...but the engine noise problem kicked in after 2 years of installing the supercharger kit....

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Guys could it also be its gearbox problem? Here are some snapshots of my beloved car....

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
Your plate is WPA. That seems to be quite old. You must be one of those who bought some of the earliest batches of CLS350.

Do you send your car to Mercedes service centre for checkup or just normal workshop? If is service centre, I think they should be able to identify the source of the noise since they are familiar with Mercedes.

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Your plate is WPA. That seems to be quite old. You must be one of those who bought some of the earliest batches of CLS350.

Do you send your car to Mercedes service centre for checkup or just normal workshop? If is service centre, I think they should be able to identify the source of the noise since they are familiar with Mercedes.
I don't really to mercedes authorized service centre....but i have a Mercedes Benz Expert/Specialist who have been maintaining my other benz/wife benz for years and he is my trusted mechanic....he been doing great jobs all this while but just that this one he couldn't seem to find the problem....below is my wife benz....

Nice rides, but if you want to post pictures, better just blank off your registration number

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
I don't really to mercedes authorized service centre....but i have a Mercedes Benz Expert/Specialist who have been maintaining my other benz/wife benz for years and he is my trusted mechanic....he been doing great jobs all this while but just that this one he couldn't seem to find the problem....below is my wife benz....

Perhaps it is a good idea to pay a visit to the authorized service centre to see if they have any idea behind the weird noise? Is the noise still there until now?

E200/E250 CGI coupe?

Nice rides, but if you want to post pictures, better just blank off your registration number
True. I thought of saying that also but since he already posted it, I guess he is okay with it.:hmmmm: Unless there are people who are stalking him in forum. :biggrin:

Perhaps it is a good idea to pay a visit to the authorized service centre to see if they have any idea behind the weird noise? Is the noise still there until now?

E200/E250 CGI coupe?

True. I thought of saying that also but since he already posted it, I guess he is okay with it.:hmmmm: Unless there are people who are stalking him in forum. :biggrin:
My friend's friend bought grey import unit, after a year engine got sound, outside mechanic/Mercedes Specialist don't know what or how to repair, so in the end send back to SC. I heard they have to order the parts since is grey import and even a set of tools to repair this part. He did not say what but the repairs came to RM10k if not mistaken.....:banghead:

Post already still can change mah!:smokin:

RENESIS VIII

Jun 13, 2012
My friend's friend bought grey import unit, after a year engine got sound, outside mechanic/Mercedes Specialist don't know what or how to repair, so in the end send back to SC. I heard they have to order the parts since is grey import and even a set of tools to repair this part. He did not say what but the repairs came to RM10k if not mistaken.....:banghead:

Post already still can change mah!:smokin:
Maybe his grey import unit parts differs a lot compared to those sold locally over here. For CLS350, I think the parts are not easy to get at service centre. I mean, not a lot of people here who will spend RM700k plus to buy an official import CLS350 here. They may not keep a high amount of parts for CLS.

See if he wants to edit the photos or not, haha.

CLS78

Aug 24, 2016
Its a E25CGI Coupe....its fine...i don't have any enemy....and i trust & believes this is a forum of good people....so i assumed its safe and no one will stalk both my rides.....

drift spare parts

hi to all the drifter here, i want to ask want kind of thing, tools or parts u all usually change when u playing drift? tyre? cluth pat? brak pat or wat things?
can u all "sifu" give some opinions? coz i got japan can bring a lots of spare part back to malaysia

:X-: