Gearbox swap for Airtrek

beemer72

Jan 5, 2009
Hi Guys

Is it possible to swap Airtrek NA 4spd auto gearbox to 5spd auto gearbox from the turbo version?

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
i think its not possible since the turbo version ECU shares management for engine and gearbox.. why not just swap the whole engine..

Then need half cut and a lot of paper work. Probably he just want to swap gb less headache.....lol

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
well swapping to turbo gearbox has more headache rather than just swap the whole engine.. its all plug n play.. everything is straight swap including bodykits..
and the N/A Body already 2.0 so it wont have major issues on registration.

beemer72

Jan 5, 2009
well swapping to turbo gearbox has more headache rather than just swap the whole engine.. its all plug n play.. everything is straight swap including bodykits..
and the N/A Body already 2.0 so it wont have major issues on registration.
You have a point on that

4gbanger

Jun 26, 2013
Johor/ShahAlam
yea.. can use runner(of cos have to pay) or just do it yourself. not poisoning u to do a turbo engine swap.. but its a good option to think about. reconditioned gbox not really cheap, turbo r halfcut getting cheaper now bcos most of airtrek turbo owner just looking for upgrades to evo parts rather than airtrek. and if u think u concern on FC, get it reflash tuning for better FC.

Don't always boost, fc should be okay one, but scare he gets used to it, don't boost cannot.....hhahahhahhaha

Reactions: 4gbanger

sweelt

Nov 6, 2016
Usual case, many will say swap already don't always boost, but in reality belum kena belum tau, sudah kena hari hari mau.....hhahahhahah
wahhh UncleVR, you really know turbo feels...lol
before swap, i scare do top speed. After complete straight 180kmh.:dontknow:

wahhh UncleVR, you really know turbo feels...lol
before swap, i scare do top speed. After complete straight 180kmh.:dontknow:
My swap already 17 years, with stable suspension top speed is nothing but mine 190 max (speed cut...haha) Will never be fed up driving a turbo.....

Guy's,
Would like to find out roughly what is the estimation cost to built 2.2l 4g63 Evo3 engine? Given i already had the engine kosong on standby