Gearbox Problem!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

rajie

May 7, 2005
pantai hillpark
Hello ZTH forumers,

I bought a 2nd hand Perdana V6 2007 two years ago. Now the gearbox is giving some problems.
For the 1st 3 seconds of driving, there is a rough vibration feeling & sound and then slowly it will become smoother.
The other problem is that when I maintain a speed of 110-120 km/h, the gear will drop into 3rd with a loud sound and massive jerk. Sometimes it will go to back to 4th gear or either it will maintain 3rd gear until i stop and switch off my engine.
Please advice on the most economical method to avoid this problem and aslo which workshop do i go to. (my location is in USJ)

Thank You

Yup, the GB need to be maintained properly, not until problem come then maintain.

Have you change the ATF, ATF filter? Some valves may be acting up. You can try some ATF additives and if still does not help looks likely need an overhaul already....

ken yeang

once sorted the gb problem..... better install a GB cooler.

Veloc

May 19, 2010
Sabah
With those symptoms and that car of that age, just got rebuild it and install an atf coooler. You can flush and change filter for a possible temporary solution, but then it wouldn't last long and you will have to rebuild it fairly soon, hence wasting your labour charge and fresh ATF. Rebuilding is not exactly cheap and would cost around 2.8-3.2k. But once you've done it, it should be good for 10 years or more if maintained well.

Cheap and possibly temporary solution : Flush the gearbox and change the ATF filter and use Lubeguard additives.

Probably permanent solution : Rebuild the GB

Cheap and possibly temporary solution : Flush the gearbox and change the ATF filter and use Lubeguard additives.

Probably permanent solution : Rebuild the GB
Have some friends using the temporary solution for quite some time like permanent.....lol:biggrin:, but that depends how severe the damage is now.....:smokin:

spawn_net

Jan 26, 2015
Bro.. I oso brought a 2007 model.. but thank God till the day I sold it off.. no prob..
but I did take some preventive steps... nv high ref, always change the gb oil every 20k kilometre..
If kong already.. u may go for the eternal Gb.. sm say much better.. but the best Convert to manual like I did...
if u think of repairing... ermm prob will start after a year..

ken yeang

that is why the price of manual GB has soared pretty high in the recent years....

2007 is the SEi model, right? That model the GB really bad. My VR when NA time is the E33A, it was auto and had similar GB. Mine was change with chop shop GB before I bought over and it lasted 6 months only, thereafter I did my transplant of the VR4 engine and manual GB in....

ken yeang

the engine of this perdana is pretty awesome and smooth....but only be marred by its sui-sui autobox....

Hi All,

After the Japanese eye surgery the previous time, I have been given the honour to perform yet another eye surgery + skin whitening on a Korean.

Patient this time is a Kia Optima 2.0 year 2004. Headlamps have been heavily oxidized and owner feels that it is no longer safe to drive at night with this headlamps. A new replacement would have cost a few thousand but lets say we did it at a fraction of the price.

Lets examine the condition of the lamps:

Oxidation from 7 years...