Gear Problem

shaharel

Dec 11, 2008
Guys,

Need some help here. Anyone experience any shift problem on the 7th Gen? Mine when try to engage 4th gear in higher rpm (4k +), it is like a bit hard and when it goes in, can hear a bit "krak" sound. It is the sound when you try to to enter reverse gear in the morning. The rest of gears very smooth.. Why ar?? Not a big issue actually.. Just check if I can repair and improve it.

Barbarian

Nov 10, 2004
www.myjsoc.com
ouch... sounds like your 4th gear is damaged.... try changing your gear oil if you have to change it for quite some time.... I find Redline MT90 pretty smooth....

at the meantime, do rev match when you shift to 4th gear......

oh.... btw, reverse gear shouldn't grind even when it's cold.....

shaharel

Dec 11, 2008
I just change the gear oil 2 months back. I use TRD LSD gear oil (my car no LSD kot). Haha..
Rev match? So I have to live as it is then..

The reverse sometimes it hard to engage when I just started the car and sometime I just force it, that is why it grinds. But I don't bother about the reverse as it seldom use...

shaharel

Dec 11, 2008
Ic.. If i change to GL4, do you think I will solve the problem?

Barbarian

Nov 10, 2004
www.myjsoc.com
dun think so... if your gear is damaged then changing oil wouldn't do much.... but if you dun look after it, then things may get worst..... it may come to a point where you can't even engage your 4th gear......

GL5 gear oil will corrode our gear box internal!!!!!! I think it's due to the sulfur content.... read about it some time ago.....

shaharel

Dec 11, 2008
Ic.. Noted that.. Will change soonest..

---------- Post added at 12:39 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:38 AM ----------

How much is Redline MT90 and where can I get it?

Barbarian

Nov 10, 2004
www.myjsoc.com
I got mine from Kakimotor for RM55 per liter/bottle.... you will need slightly more than 2 litres.... about 2.1L I think.....

shaharel

Dec 11, 2008
change to motul recently since I have no choice there when I change my kaput driveshaft.. Problem still there.. i have just to live with it.. :biggrin: