ford cortina problem daa

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
Hello guys, need ur help really bad here..

not long ago ive transplanted an SR20 engine into my ford cortina..yes i know twas a bad choice of chassis but i had no choice since my ori 1.6 caught fire...but ive encountered a lot of problem which are
1. i've no idea on how to mod my front disc since the ori ones are too small
2. wut suitable suspension should i use?
3. wut axle is suitable to replace my original rear axle..i think the ori ones were grinded to dust since a lot of boosting was done hehehe..

so there u have it..overall u can see that ive got handling problems for this car...ths engine is powerfull perhaps to powerfull that even a 1.4tonne car can wobble around even in the straights...so ade siapa can tolong mee ka..or if not recommend me to a good mechanics....

preferably id like to tinker with it myself thats why i need all u taikoss help..tolongggggggggggg:cry_smile:

badmanners signing out..:shades_smile:

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
my cortina also convert into nissan engine but it just nissan silvia engine ca18.. I change drum brake with disc brake from perdana rear site.. also i modified front suspension to coup with new engine. for rear axle i don't change anything..

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
thanks for replying nimy..just some queries..ur axle is ori rite...? can it withstand such boost?..i mean mines just liao already woo..n can perdana rear disc cun cun masuk at the ford cortina rear axle assembly meh....no need mod izzit?

another thing is that eversince ive transplanted my sr20..all 4 springs n absorbers gone kaput already..because the engine is too damn heavy lorr!!..it stands less than a coca cola tin height..imagine the weight man!

so did u change ur springs n shocks?..

curios about ur front suspension...did u change the whole assembly?

since im using a supra power steering, the joints that attached to the power steering (im not sure if its the correct term) is slanted forward..not backwards...so not all modern cars have this kinda assembly.

n btw..if u r not change ur rear axle means that ur still running with PCD 108?

really hope to get a reply from u nimy..n thanks for the info..hope u can lead a blind man here

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
For first question yes. i think my axle is original one.. yes can put rear disc brake perdana into axle assembly but need some modification.. btw once my car is ready i'll take some pic.. For your information i already change all new absorber but my front absorber is already modified coz original one cannot stand the weight from new engine. My rear shock is using gas and oil version maybe u can try to change new absorber first..

about my axle maybe i can check back with my mechanic coz all work done by him..

Btw how much your get supra power steering?

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
waaa nimy ..i didnt expect ur reply to be that soon la..thanks a lot macha..my thinking is this..i think ur mechanic is going to or has done a complete makeover on ur suspension setting. Bcoz
1. if u r using perdana disc for rear - that means u have change the PCD setting already coz if i am not mistaken..it comes together with the tyre bolts asembly..im thinking that it should be PCD 114.3 coz perdana is using that PCD..

2. The same goes for the front disc..i dont think if using ur ori disc u can use PCD 114.3 unless u have change them. As i mentioned before, the ori PCD is 108 for ford and the rest of the old continental junkies before 1980s..unless this can be seperated thats a different issues...takkan kita nak pakai tayar depan lain..tayar belakang lain..get the idea...so i think ur mechanic might have change them..i mean the whole knucker assembly..i might be wrong..but just guessing

3. what type of absorbers r u using man? for oil n gas..?n what type of springs?...i talk to my mechanic last time that i may have to use the old mercedes spring type..i didnt like his idea...im thinking to use 4x4...much more tougher..but donno wut size to fit...wuts urs spring..maybe i can use the same spring setup..

4. how much for my supra power steering..donno la nimy..it comes together with the whole make over..it cost me 13 K to do the car because i had to do some body work also...got some photos to show u..but the car used to be in better condition..the supra steering works very well though..

hey..where r u in jb?..i use to study n work in jb last time...all together 7 years overthere..

i will show u the pic later coz im mailing from my office now...hope to hear from u soon man..

Bad

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
Yeah that's true my mechanic already change my PCD now.. coz right know i no longer can use any ori rim from FORD.

I mean by oil and gas is my front suspension is using oil absorber with some modification but spring is still using old one. The rear is using gas absorber and my mechanic is already change that from original ford. The spring still original only absorber is changing. About changing spring i think maybe u can try any sparepart shop to get new one coz last time i still can get a spare part for cortina like absorber.

My power steering is from nissan silvia one but i got problem when driving coz it make my steering shaking. I don't know what problem actually.. walau u spend almost 13k.. btw till now i spend almost 5k still don't have painting new color. maybe can reach 8k-9k after painting.

i'm staying at batu pahat btw weekend will be at Johor bahru.. Maybe later if i got more information about it i'll post again. BTW u can check here for any info about ford cortina www.buysellcortina.co.uk

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
For your information right know rear disc brake perdana is quite cheap around RM300 only. Maybe you can try find this disc brake and ask some one to modified for your. But better you change your axle first i think.. Where do you stay.. like you from Pahang is it?

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
hmm then i was rite..u mechanic did change the PCD setting..the thing is..the rear discs comes with the screws for tyres rite?...pls correct me if im wrong

wut about ur front disc?..still ori one or modified?..if modified wut kind of disc did he put in..does it brake good?..

me in pahang somewhere in bentong..probably u have heard about it..if not ever heard of karak?..its just like 10-15 kms from bentong..

if u r using the same spring that means ur silvia may not be as heavy as my sr...emm wut kind of absorbers?..have any idea?...if it works well i can find the same one in kedai potong or new one..emm tengok budget worr..

emm to change my axle..i donno wut to fit leh...r u sure u r using the same axle?..
my mechanic recommended to me to change to either cefiro..gsr ..or galant turbo ..all + lsd...aiya..more money wo...does ur mechanic have any idea which axle is good?..cun cun fit in?

emm u r using silvia power steering meh...it shake like mad ?...if the power steering assembly is properly installed..u should have no problem with that..maybe u need the mechanic to recheck again..if not..it could be due to the suspension setup..if suspension setup cannot match ur car power..that will surely happen..but im just guessing onli...not expert ma..

thanks for the links...u buy parts from there meh?

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
Hmm my brother recommended to change axle with GSR one.. but need some modification to fit nicely. About absorber i don't know what brand but i can find at my autopart shop but not original ford only taiwan brand. Btw my brother said can try find any lorry or pajero absorber but i don't know it really suitable or not maybe u can try find that absorber at any chop shop and u just check it is suitable or not. If not suitable maybe can modified.

i'm still waiting for you car picture.

About my power steering i'll ask my mechanic to check again, if something wrong i'll looking other power steering.

About that site i never buy anything coz so expensive to shipping here. Only just asking some question there regarding cortina problem.

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
hello nimy..sorry for note replying yesterday..computer damn slow la nowadays..tmnet like turtle..yes..i am planning to test with lorry springs or any heavy car will do..im discontinuing my project la rite now...coz lack of funding..duit tarak woo...once i have some cash then i will continue..btw..is ur ford originally 1.6 or 2.0?..mines 1.6 year 1979..damn tua man..

my car pic?...emm i will try to give u soon.. the thing is the internet connection at my area alamakk..teruk sangat..but a promise is a promise..

anyway ..wut is ur project status now...for the power steering...u can refer to my earlier email la...donno whehter if it'll work..but try first lor

hey..i need to see ur car pic oso...can give?

BTW..ur brother is a mechanic meh?

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
Same with minelah.. year 1979.. original engine is 1.6 only. My current project is repair my body part ford coz so many hole. After that will be painted project and some modification for interior part.

Ok sure i'll post my car pic once i go back to my car maybe around next week. My brother is not mechanic but he very like to modified old car.. so i just ask him for help me.

badmanners

Apr 25, 2006
ic..same like urs laa...wwaaa we like adik beradik la like this... i might be replying ur email a bit late ..later coz im selling my ntoe book... ada hal sket la...but never mind...i will be replying them during working..

just that kat rumah tak dapat la...got no desktop PC..old ones kaput..

now i stop project o ready...but i will gice u photo soon.. wait ya?..cant wait to see ur car woorr..

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
Long time still not get any pic from your car.. I'll post my rear disc brake pic tonight. BTW i hope u can post your pic too.. tq

kabel_plug

Jan 6, 2005
kuantan
wahhh...both of u talking about ford cortina aa. i am from kuantan and have 1 76 ford escort 4 doors. Right now still doing a body work slowly2. can both of u help me to find any ford escort parts available nearby you? body panel, front grill, door or anything new or used. If any please inform me. With me now also 1 ford cortina but dunno the DOB. condition = rusty. not mine its belongs to my friend.

nimy

Jun 16, 2006
hi there long time not post here.. btw here i'll attach my cortina picture before i repainted..

my rear disc brake.. modified from perdana disc brake

my car still inside workshop.. repaint new color this time..

btw my powersteering already being fixed by my mechanic now only front suspension is still messy. maybe i'll try to find from uk if still can get from here.

Kabel_plug sorry at my area don't have any good spare part for ford escort btw i got some friend whose have ford escort and have a group of them.. if you want i can try ask them...
tq

guys, anyone know how to clean cylinder head? to remove all the dark colour that stick to the cylinder head...i know it can remove with an acid but i dunno wat acid...mind to share........