fitting a 235/40/18 into 18x9.5 rim

davidcnz

Sep 13, 2005
as title above...will it be overstretch ? please give me some advise on it ...

recommended tyre for this setup ?

really appreciated your help on this ! :D

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
as title above...will it be overstretch ? please give me some advise on it ...

recommended tyre for this setup ?

really appreciated your help on this ! :D
9.5' is just over 24cm wide so using 235 tires is a bit narrow and stretched already. For 9.5' should use at least 255 tires. For 235 tires, should just use 8-8.5' rims.

davidcnz

Sep 13, 2005
thank you bro ...that's mean its going to be a stretch setup...anyhow , do u have any recommended tyre that it's good for stretch with good traction in dry n wet ?

AlucarD

Jan 15, 2004
hi there, you have a set of really nice rims 18 x 9.5 and should give it a proper set of tires that will make sure that the car runs properly.

Tyres are never designed for stretching so to me there is no proper tyre that is good for stretch and if you must stretch it get the cheapest tyre as the tyre may not last that well. Cheers

thank you bro ...that's mean its going to be a stretch setup...anyhow , do u have any recommended tyre that it's good for stretch with good traction in dry n wet ?
As per bro. 6UE5t mention 235/40 best fit is 8 -8.5", however 9.5" is max size to fit. It will stretch slightly.
Tyres that have good traction in dry and wet, then go for UHP or Max performance tyres but they come with a price...:rolleyes:

TopRpm

Sep 13, 2007
im using 265/35/19 on 9.5jj rims. not stretched.
minimum has to be 225/45 but its stretched.
damnn..my seiifoo is using 9.5jj too...what rims bro? i believe not at ur atos!!! btw i'm using 9.5jj but on 225/40/18..as what others said..its stretched!

blitz

I just fitted 245/40/18 on 9.5JJ rims yesterday and it looks normal so ... yours will only stretch a bit... If you want to stretch it like those hellaflush cars, go for 225/40/18....

davidcnz

Sep 13, 2005
225/40/18 on 9.5jj ..i think the rim will be out alot..hehe..i will stick to 235/40 its better..slightly stretch it's fine ..thank you all for the guideness :D

btw ...is there anything i should precaution while using this type of setup (235/40 on 9.5) ? such as tyre presure n etc

---------- Post added at 11:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

can i have some picture of your setup bro blitz & 4gbanger ?

225/40/18 on 9.5jj ..i think the rim will be out alot..hehe..i will stick to 235/40 its better..slightly stretch it's fine ..thank you all for the guideness :D

btw ...is there anything i should precaution while using this type of setup (235/40 on 9.5) ? such as tyre presure n etc

---------- Post added at 11:29 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:19 PM ----------

can i have some picture of your setup bro blitz & 4gbanger ?
40 series at least should be 35psi

davidcnz

Sep 13, 2005
in dilemma of choosing this 2 choice of tyre ..michelin ps3 or yoko advan ad08 to be my next set of tyre...18x9.5 with 235/40/18..minor stretched...i dont track my car..it's a daily driven car..which one would be my choice ? in term of side wall , dry n wet grip , comfort ride , noise n etc...

thank you all sifu in advance for the guideness

in dilemma of choosing this 2 choice of tyre ..michelin ps3 or yoko advan ad08 to be my next set of tyre...18x9.5 with 235/40/18..minor stretched...i dont track my car..it's a daily driven car..which one would be my choice ? in term of side wall , dry n wet grip , comfort ride , noise n etc...

thank you all sifu in advance for the guideness
From your priorities stated, sure is PS3 already.
AD-08 are extreme tyres more for track, extreme dry grip, wet so so only. No comfort and noisy...