Tom

TIMETOATTACK
Jul 6, 2000

Satria Neo: First Impression

Words: Jason
Car: Eon Berhad

The Satria Neo, or more commonly known as the SRM (Satria Replacement Model) prior to its launch has been officially unveiled on 16th of June, 2006. Much speculation and hype has been built around the Satria Neo as its predecessor was one of the best selling models, if not the best in the country for a 2 door hatchback

Everyday drivers, occasional speed demons, time attack addicts, they have all come to know the Satria through its wide selection to fit every lifestyle, from the humble 1.3L model to the GTi 1.8L model, and later on, the exhilarating R3 model -- the Satria Neo certainly has big shoes to fill.

While the former Satria shared its platform with its Mitsubishi counterpart, the Satria Neo is an entirely new car, with its platform developed from ground up; though it shares certain components with the Gen 2 due to economical factors. Although looks are subjective, I would rank the Neo as an improvement over its predecessor, and boy does it look good. Its projector headlights are intimidating, given that it’s shaped like a pair of eyes staring down at you; while the design of the front bumper further accentuates the aggressive feel of the car. I have difficulty finding words to describe it so I’ll just let the pictures do the talking.

The first thing that came to my mind while admiring the Neo? Throw in a pair of properly installed and aligned xenon lamps, and this car would look like a killer -- I’m scanning through Aura HID range of xenon lamps while writing this, surely worth a thought. Moving on to the side of the car, the flares running along the sides gives a defining shape to the wheel arches, highlighting the rather unique rims. If there’s one thing I don’t like about the Neo, it has got to be the rims. Proton claims that the alloy rims are of a turbine design, while the 1.3L models are furnished with the turbine design caps over steel rims. What the turbine design does exactly, I don’t really know, but even if it does something, I personally can’t justify having such bling rims on my ride; luckily, changing rims is not a big deal. Making our way to the back of the car, we can see that the rear of the Neo is rather minimalist, the taillights are rather small, but it does its job; the oval shaped tailpipe in the middle gives a hint of a sporty feel, but not overdone. To summarize, the rear end is simple, nothing to shout about, but it’s subtle and stylish, proving that less is indeed more, though I can already envision the various design houses coming up with body kits for the Neo; this car certainly has great potential in the visual department.

On the inside, Proton has done away with the cream interior, and thank God for that. The Neo has its interior upholstered with a mixture of silver and various shades of grey. Built quality wise, it felt solid, though if one noticed, there is no longer any talk about TÜV standards; that’s because TÜV is not involved in Neo’s quality control. Hopefully, after their last successful quality approval from TÜV, Proton would continue to practice stringent quality control even without TÜV scrutinizing their finished product. Entering the cabin of the Neo reminds me of the time when I first entered the cabin of a Satria GTi - “This is a Proton? Certainly feels like it’s built better than the rest (of the Protons).” The doors’ finish on the inside is simple, the side pockets are rather small, I wonder if it would be of any use, but my main concern would be the dubious door handle, which is shaped like a half-circle and flimsy to hold; it felt fragile, but to be fair, only time will tell if it’s durable.

The meter cluster is within eye level, thought I wonder if blue on black is a good choice for reading the meters at night. The handbrake lever certainly caught my attention, as I find it rather stylish and it feels good to hold; maybe it’ll even do well for those tricky handbrake turns during autokhana events. The three spoke steering wheel looks beefy from afar, but I think Proton could have been more generous, as it wasn’t that nice to hold and feels rather un-involving. Audio controls integrated into the steering wheel is certainly a nice touch of functionality, but it’s only available on the 1.6L models.

Talking about audio, Proton certainly didn’t skimp on the in car entertainment. All the Neos are equipped with Blaupunkt Radio/CD players, a reputable company in the car audio industry. The difference between the 1.6L models and the 1.3L models is that the former has MP3 playback capability and 4 speakers instead of 2 speakers.

Safety is another concern these days, and the good news is that Proton has designed the Neo ground up with safety being one of their main priorities. This can be seen through the diagram of the chassis. How well would the Neo fare in an actual accident is still unknown, but Proton claims that the Neo has passed its own crash tests using various tests standards. Until the Satria Neo is tested by reputable third parties such as EuroNCAP, I would take Proton’s claims with a pinch of salt.

Other safety feature includes airbag, anti-lock braking system (ABS) and electronic brake-force distribution (EBD). Sadly, these features are only available on the top of the range model, the 1.6L H-Line. This is truly a disappointment, as the Government have been emphasizing on safety in an effort to cut down on fatalities due to road accidents, and I expected the leading national automobile manufacturer to be in the forefront of automobile safety in our country, but it seems they are still lagging behind. In certain countries, airbag has already become compulsory equipment; hopefully Proton would consider incorporating it to their entire line-up in the future. Despite that, I guess it’s comforting to know that all Neo models are equipped with ventilated disc brakes in the front and disc brakes in the rear. Usually, cars below 1,600cc would be equipped with drum brakes in the rear, but it seems that Proton is set to change that with the Neo. At the very least, I believe Proton is moving in the right direction.

For enquiries or test drives, please contact:

EON Berhad

1-800-88-3003

Eon Malaysia

Sales Contact:
Randy Ong
019 334 2587

Rosli Johari
019 2800 333

Mohd Arif
012 630 6666

Ronny Low
019 336 4381

For enquiries or test drives, please contact:

EON Berhad

1-800-88-3003

Eon Malaysia

Sales Contact:
Randy Ong
019 334 2587

Rosli Johari
019 2800 333

Mohd Arif
012 630 6666

Ronny Low
019 336 4381

Desire has a new name, says Proton. Is the Satria Neo desirable? For its asking price, it is desirable indeed. There may be some gripes with it, but overall I think it’s a very good effort from Proton. Next, the road evaluation; where we put the Proton Satria Neo’s highly acclaimed Lotus handling to the test, and the Proton CamPro engine to use and abuse.

Link to part 2: http://www.zerotohundred.com/newforums/showthread.php?t=102127

Proton Satria Neo (On The Road in West Malaysia w/ Insurance)

1.3MT: RM43,500
1.3AT: RM46,500
1.6MT M-line: RM48,500
1.6AT M-line: RM51,500
1.6MT H-line: RM51,800
1.6AT H-line: RM54,800

Suggested monthly Installment structure from Eon Malaysia

EDARAN  OTOMOBIL  NASIONAL  BERHAD
BRANCH  SHOWROOMS 
 BRANCH    CONTACT PERSON 
NO.CODELOCATIONADDRESSOFF TEL NO.FAX NO.MANAGER NAMEADMIN EXEC.NAME
1224PUDU91,93,95 JLN CHANGKAT THAMBI DOLLAH, 55100 KUALA LUMPUR.03-2141311103-21413932JOE LIMYONG PIK KUEN
2222AMPANGNO. 10A & 10B, PUSAT COMMERCIAL ARA AMPANG, JALAN AMPANG, 68000, SELANGOR03-4251088803-42510167AZIZUL MUSTAPHA 
3227JLN CHAN SOW LINNO 188, JALAN SG BESI, 57100 KUALA LUMPUR03-9222363303-92212791ABDUL SAMAT SAMSUDINDAVID HWANG
4225CHERAS29, JLN MUTIARA RAYA, TMN MUTIARA BATU 6 JLN CHERAS 56000 K.LUMPUR.03-9130551103-91327116EDWARD CHOI CHONG YUENMOHD HAIZAM B IDRIS
5223OLD KLG ROAD79A & 79B, 3RD MILE, JALAN KELANG LAMA, 58200 KUALA LUMPUR.03-7981857703-79818613VINCENT N.K.TANAZLINA BTE YASSIN
6226KEPONGLOT 9818, PERSIARAN MOHAGANI, SEKSYEN 7, BANDAR SRI DAMANSARA, 52100 KEPONG, SELANGOR.03-6276340103-62767298MASCRABO CHINMAZWAN BIN RABLY
7201SS2NO 9 JALAN SS2/75, 47300, PETALING JAYA SELANGOR.03-7875812203-78744992MEOR ROSLI B MD AROFFMUHAMMAD HAZRUL BIN MUZAFAR
8202JALAN TEMPLERLOT 83, SEKSYEN 51/213 JALAN TEMPLER, 46050 PETALING JAYA,SELANGOR.03-7781624203-77816322LIM THEAN SUNALMINIZAM BIN ALI
9203KEMAJUANLOT 3-A JALAN KEMAJUAN 12/18, 46200 PETALING JAYA,SELANGOR.03-7956382203-79573249WILLIAM CHAN WAH SANGMOHD NADZERI B KASSIM
10204KLANGLOT 25 & 27, JALAN SATU, KAWASAN 16 BERKELEY TOWN CENTRE 41150 KLANG, SELANGOR.03-3342041103-33428879DAVID TEH BOON HOCKSAIFUL AMIR SHAHIDAN
11207BANTINGNO 40 JALAN BESAR 42700 BANTING, SELANGOR03-3181466703-31814678MOHD IBRAHIM MERICANADZWAN NIZAM B AHMAD
12208GLENMARIE & PSSEON HEAD OFFICE COMPLEX,JLN KERJAYA, SEKSYEN UTARA SATU, 40000 S.ALAM.03-7711221103-78036690MAT DAN HASSANCHOO CHUN KHUI
13331SEREMBANLOT 915, JALAN TUANKU ANTAH 70100 SEREMBAN.06-762915806-7627911MASKAMAL KHAN BIN M. ALIFONG TAT SIN
14332BAHAUNO. 39, TAMAN RIA, JALAN ROMPIN, 72100 BAHAU, NEGERI SEMBILAN06-454370006-4544700AZLAN THANABALAN B ADBULLAH 
15321MALACCANO 3530 JLN BATU HAMPAR PERINGGIT 75320 MELAKA.06-283222506-2832121YAHAYA MAJID TAN JIUN KIAT
16307SEGAMATNO 42 & 43, JLN GENUANG KAMPUNG 85000 SEGAMAT, JOHOR.07-931818807-9319248ZAZALEE BIN ABU KASIM 
17301J.BAHRU - INO 60 JLN LANGKASUKA, KAWASAN PERUSAHAAN DATO' ONN 80350 JOHOR BAHRU JOHOR.07-238819907-2388033CHEW AH BENGNORAMAN BIN TURIZAL
18302J.BAHRU - II NO 79 & 81, JLN ROSMERAH 2/2,TAMAN JOHOR JAYA,81100 JOHOR BAHRU, JOHOR.07-354991907-3545929MOHD RASYIDIN BIN NAWI 
19304BATU PAHATNO 700 (LOT 13303) JALAN BUKIT PASIR MUKIM SIMPANG KANAN 83000 BATU PAHAT JOHOR.07-431551107-4319266ZULGHAFIR HAIRIAHMAD RIZAL B MOHD SHARIFF
20305MUARLOT 1462, JALAN BAKRI, 84000 MUAR, JOHOR DARUL TAKZIM06-951513006-9525081ISMAWI BIN SHAARI 
21303KULAILOT 1151, JALAN KASTURI 36/41, INDAHPURA CAR CITY, 81000 KULAI, JOHOR07-663412207-6637228SYED MAZLAN SHAH 
22306KLUANGNO 15, JALAN BINTANG SATU, TAMAN BINTANG, 86000 KLUANG JOHOR07-772310007-7723102LIM CHEE KHIANG 
23101IPOH - ILOT 3893 JALAN TUNKU ABDUL RAHMAN, 30010 IPOH PERAK.05-506166605-5060666ABDUL WAHAB BIN MOHD NOORWONG WAY SIONG
24102IPOH - II NO 148, JALAN RAJA PERMAISURI BAINUN, 30250 IPOH, PERAK.05-255280505-2559555DOMINIC CHOW 
25104SITIAWANLOT 29526 & 29527 BANDAR BARU SERI MANJUNG, DAERAH MANJUNG PERAK05-688587305-6881702OOI CHIN CHUAN 
26105TELUK INTANNO 89, JLN CHANGKAT JONG,36000 TELOK INTAN, PERAK.05-621164205-6211642EDWARD JOHN A/L K AMBROSE 
27103TAIPINGLOT P.T.790 BATU 2 1/2, JALAN SIMPANG,34000 TAIPING , PERAK 05-847388805-8473890WA JUN HENGSHAHRIL AMRI BIN RIDZUAN
28112GEORGETOWN -ILOT 1101, 1102, 1293 SEKSYEN 9W G.TOWN AT JALAN MAKLOOM 10150, SG. PINANG, PULAU PINANG.04-281956804-2829158SAIFFUDDIN B AZMIZAMRI BIN YAACOB
29115GEORGETOWN -IIGROUND FLOOR, BANGUNAN PERSATUAN MELAYU PULAU PINANG, 117 JALAN MACALISTER 10400 PENANG.04-226604404-2276314CHE OMAR B SAARI 
30116BAYAN BARU NO 198, SG TIRAM, JALAN SULTAN AZLAN SHAH 11900 PULAU PINANG04-642385304-6424001YONG BENG KEATLOH TIAN CHUAN
31111BUTTERWORTHLOT 262 MUKIM 1, JALAN KIKIK TAMAN INDERAWASHI, 13700 PRAI PENANG04-390890004-3994224YAAFAR BUDINTAN JIT SENG
32114BKT MERTAJAM17 & 19 JLN MAJU KAMPONG BARU 14000 BUKIT MERTAJAM.04-539196604-5399133JALALUDDIN OMAR 
33121ALOR SETARNO 210  JLN GANGSA MERGONG II, 05150 ALOR STAR KEDAH04-733818804-7319704NORWIN MOHD NORKALAI KUMAR PERIYASAMY
34122SG PETANIC25 & C26, LORONG 8, TMN SEJATI INDAH, 08000 SG PETANI KEDAH.04-431192404-4311411RIJALUDIN ISMAIL 
35124LANGKAWILOT 3402, MUKIM KUAH JALAN PADANG GAONG 07000 PULAU LANGKAWI. KEDAH04-966611804-9666995JAMAARI B MAHTAR 
36123KANGAR276 & 278 JALAN BARU 01000, KANGAR PERLIS04-976210204-9764104NASRUDDIN B SIDEK 
37401KUANTANB4342 &B4344, JALAN BESERAH 25300 KUANTAN PAHANG.09-566613309-5665196LOW KIM HONGABDUL RAZAK B MOHAMAD DAUD
38404TEMERLOHLOT 339, JALAN KUANTAN 28000 TEMERLOH PAHANG.09-296116609-2963176MOHAMMED RAJAB B ITHNINMOHD AMIRUDDIN OSMAN
39403BENTONGNO TA-1 & TA-2, TAMAN ANGGERIK 28700 BENTONG PAHANG.09-222443309-2224446ONG YEW TEONG 
40411K.TRENGGANU31-E/1, JALAN BKT KECHIL 21100 KUALA TRENGGANU, TRENGGANU.09-623341109-6233414ZAHARUDIN MAD AKHIR 
41421KOTA BHARULOT 249-253, SECTION 25, LANGGAR JALAN SULTAN YAHYA PETRA 15200 KOTA BAHRU, KELANTAN.09-744946609-7449442MOHD YUSOFF MOHDFARAN B YUSOFF
42501KOTA KINABALU - IMILES 5 1/2,JLN TUARAN, INANAM 88806,KOTA KINABALU.088-421222088-421223KEN CHONG KEN KYUNGROWLAND PENGAI
43511KOTA KINABALU - IISHOP UNIT NO 2-0-10 & 2-1-10, API-API CENTRE, LRG API-API, JLN CENTREPOINT 88000 KOTA KINABALU, SABAH.088-223472088-233075MDM. CECILIA CHIA 
44502TAWAUH & C BUILDING GROUND FLOOR NO 1229 JLN DUNLOP 91000 TAWAU.089-772398089-761513TAN CHIK HUNG 
45503SANDAKANLOT 1, BLOCK A, BANDAR PASARAYA, MILE 4 , JALAN UTARA, 90000 SANDAKAN, SABAH089-271377089-273005CHONG TSUN VUILILIAN CHONG (AO)
46507LABUANLOT 1, JLN TUN MUSTAFA 87007 FT LABUAN087-415651087-415649BRIAN LEE 
47504LAHAD DATUMDLD 3295, BLOCK 4, FAJAR CENTRE 91100 LAHAD DATU, SABAH.089-882694089-883695VICTOR LOO 
48601KUCHING ILOT 1039, SECTION 66, K.T.L.D. JLN. KILANG, BINTAWA IND. ESTATE, 93450 KUCHING, SARAWAK.082-482811082-486816STEVEN BONGGARY QUEK KUAN YONH
49611KUCHING IINO 8, DESHON ROAD, 93100 KUCHING, SARAWAK.082-243561082-243563ABD RAHMAN B AHMAD 
50604SIBUNO 25 B & C, LANANG ROAD,96000 SIBU SARAWAK.084-331337084-331369YEO PHUAY NGUANG 
51603MIRILOT 860, JALAN KROKOP UTAMA, 98000 MIRI,SARAWAK.085-656996085-651331EDMUND TAN 
52602BINTULULOT 704 BLOCK 31 LIGHT INDUSTRIAL ESTATE 2 1/2 MILE BINTULU-MIRI ROAD 97008 BINTULU.086-336001086-336036WILSON TEE 

More Images Below:

davidchen27

Jan 30, 2006
nice job tom.. guess proton should have include photos like this into their brochure... :)

Monstaville

Sep 21, 2005
Setapak Garden
Nice photo brah......I like the Satria Neo but....The space is to "sempit" for plus size ppl like me....I like the style easy to say overall i lke it the safety anything accept the "CAMPUR" engine.....It come with the same spec like Gen 2...Cisss!! Anyway nice shot!!

camp

Mar 22, 2006
nice review on the new staria neo, if possible can you tell me more on the engine department because i heard that the engine need high rev to get the ummph...is it true?

silent_driver

Aug 20, 2005
Cheras
I already go to proton showroom..honestly i think that car is a beauty compare to other satria model..it just my opinion!! :-)

Incinerate

Good review on the car. Great pictures !! Looks really desireable, cant wait for the OTR review. Looking to get a 1.6 HL but doubting if its good. :)

si|verfish

Apr 28, 2004
My word...

Tom, I've gone through several mags' coverage of the Satria Neo and their photos are nowhere near as good as yours. You kick the proverbial ass with these shots.

C

chilskater

wait for Gti version..funny thing is the air filter..the corong is direct to the front..scoop all the water as well and also the insects..

davidchen27

Jan 30, 2006
yeah! certainly we cant wait for the 1.8 gti or the R3 version... let's get our fingers crossed!

et5

Excellent Tom
Proton have done their homework with this one..pity that safety airbags still are not standard across the range ..