First Drifting Car? What do you suggest?

First Drifting Car? What do you suggest

• Nissan Cefiro A31

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Nissan 180sx

• Nissan S13

• Toyota KE 70

• Toyota AE 86

• Toyota TE 7*

• Others

• Total voters

dennisdreams

Feb 15, 2006
Car Make and Model : TE72
Car Year : 1980
Your Comment of your first drift car : it's a very similar car to AE86, a bit lighter to KE70 (less metal part at the rear. It's a good car (for both ke70 and TE7*) which had a rather big engine bay, you can transplant a 4age-16V, 4age-20V or even a SR20-turbo. which all share the same cross-member. for i say, who had a extra penny to spare, go for a 20v a.k.a. 4-throttler. You surely need the high-rev range to maintain your drift. 16V had a fairly good mid end- torque to get you start a drift. And for those who were PRO, many were running SR20-DET under their hood to do beautiful long drift (which burn off tyre much faster :P).
Your Suggestions to newbie : get a cheap car (KE70 in example) which still had a lot of parts to salvage and make sure you had couple of k of $$$ in hand. for you will find out that you needed it from time to time. (i had spend more than 10K in my TE since i bought it. keep finding faulty parts each time i fix something else. T_T)

EvolutionZ

Aug 3, 2007
hi guyz,

i juz bought a KE-70 yr 1981, engine and suspension all transplant from AE86. car comes with minor rust. got power steering, air cond, cd player and 1 spare set of rims ..all 13inches..
now waiting for inspection n transfer name b4 taking it for spin...

new to drifting, can anyone advice me on this sport and is there any TT or group that i can join to learn this art of drift...hope some sifus here can advice ya....thanks

evo3

Jul 2, 2004
newbie to drifting.

My freinds and i went to see a S15 that are built for drifting but i can't figure why the tyre config is this.

Front: 235/40/17
Rear: 225/45/17

Why the offset for the front is wider then the rear? anyone can help? thanks.

Bump: newbie to drifting.

My freinds and i went to see a S15 that are built for drifting but i can't figure why the tyre config is this.

tofu_manic

Jan 11, 2007
easier to lose the tail?

Bump: easier to lose the tail?

kaido

Aug 10, 2009
Perth
kaidojp.blogspot.com
Car Make and Model : Nissan Skyline R33
Car Year : 1993
Your Comment of your first drift car : Very easy to drift, has nice power stock, allows you to do some good drifting at lower speeds
Your Suggestions to newbie : My suggestion would be to get yourself an s13/14/15 or 180sx they are a ton on parts for it, its light has a good engine (sr20) and is easy to make power out of it
Your Ultimate next/dream drift car : I'm very happy with my current drift car (r33) continue to build that up but maybe s15 or rx7 (fd)

---------- Post added at 05:26 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 05:21 PM ----------

newbie to drifting.

Bump: newbie to drifting.

The reason for going bigger on the front is so that you can get more front end grip and the reason for going smaller on the rear is to make the car easier to slide (lose traction) this can work good when you 1st start drifting but when you improve your skill it will limit your drifting as you need more speed and with the smaller tyres you can not get the amount of grip you need to pull off drifts at higher speeds.

i started off running 235/45/17 front and 215/45/17 rear then move to 225 and now i am using 235 (soon to upgrade to 255)

jj.v6

Aug 30, 2009
johor baru
im looking for my 1st drift car....very low budget..
after some discussion this is wat most suggest...
bcos this is the 1st time learning drift,,,
buy cheap car...
few option i have

toyota k30-stock
mitsubishi a172-stock
nissan bluebird 910-stock
toyota ke 70 gl-stock

so wats the opinion of exp.drifters out thr???some kind advise??

im looking for my 1st drift car....very low budget..
after some discussion this is wat most suggest...
bcos this is the 1st time learning drift,,,
buy cheap car...
few option i have

toyota k30-stock
mitsubishi a172-stock
nissan bluebird 910-stock
toyota ke 70 gl-stock

so wats the opinion of exp.drifters out thr???some kind advise??

bro..change yr engine to evo 3 & get the rear axle to convert your perdana to RWD,
then ask Alex @ Monster V6 to teach u to drift...:driver:

jj.v6

Aug 30, 2009
johor baru
wow danz.....thats a nice piece of advise...anyway saving my v6 to use in pasir gudang track...other than v6 which one u suggest?

leonl

Aug 16, 2009
USA
I have own quite a few different setup cars. By far, the S chassis (S13, S14 or S15) are pretty good chassis for drifting. I personally don't drift but auto-x and track. Even with the setup I have, it is still very tail happy (over-steer). I am currently running 225 front and 255 rear, very easy to kick the rear out. I am going with 255 front and 275 rear next to see if I can keep the rear planted. Price wise, I think it is not too expensive in MY neither. Tons of parts for it to modify. Good luck in finding your drift car.

p/s: I will sell you mine but you will have to ship it back to MY from US :)

jj.v6

Aug 30, 2009
johor baru
thanx leonl.but import taz in malaysia is around 200%...rather buy locally...in the future he.he..he...

leonl

Aug 16, 2009
USA
thanx leonl.but import taz in malaysia is around 200%...rather buy locally...in the future he.he..he...
Ha ha. j/k with you. I thought it was 300% tax. Seriously, I think I might not be able to afford a car when I decided to move back home :frown:

Have you decide on what car to get yet?

jj.v6

Aug 30, 2009
johor baru
after talking with few drifters,they advice to take on nissan bluebird or toyota k70...toyota k70 for beginners...
bluebird if u ave plan to upgrade(easy to mod-engine swap perhaps)
anywayt he tax is 300%..O.M.G

The toughest woman in the world of DTM has come a long way from her humble beginnings in go-karts. Susie Stoddart then moved up to Formula Renault and then Formula 3 before finally landing behind the wheel of a DTM-prepped Mercedes-Benz C-Class for the factory team in the DTM since 2006.

Recently, she got to spend some time behind the wheel of an...