Fancy Number Plates and Tints That Do Not Comply with Regulations by June 15, 2014

Correct version: SAC Mohd Fuad showing samples of legal number plates during the press conference in Bukit Aman.

KUALA LUMPUR: Vehicle owners with licence plates and window tints that do not comply with regulations will have a month to remedy the situation before police action is taken.

Federal Traffic Police chief Senior Asst Comm Mohd Fuad Abdul Latiff said they noticed an increasing trend of violations in this area.

“Due to security reasons, we have decided to give an ultimatum to these vehicle owners to revert to legal tinting and licence plates,” he told reporters at Bukit Aman yesterday.

Citing examples, SAC Mohd Fuad said there were instances where snatch theft victims could not identify the registration numbers of the getaway vehicles as they were either too small, too tightly spaced or had fancy lettering.

“Robbery gangs are also using heavily tinted vehicles to avoid suspicion.

“Under Rule 6(1) of the Motor Vehicle (Registration and Licensing) Rules 1959, the licence plate must be placed in an upright position and must be in accordance to specifications,” he said.

For window tints, Rule 5(1) and Rule 5(3) of Motor Vehicle (Prohibition of Certain Types of Glass) Rules 1991 stipulates that the minimum light transmission level of the front windshield is 70%, while windows and the rear windshield must allow at least 50% of light to pass through.

“Those who do not revert to the permitted tinting or licence plate specifications by June 15 could face a RM300 compound when stopped by police,” he said.

Meanwhile, SAC Mohd Fuad urged vehicle owners who had installed unauthorised strobe or flashing lights to dismantle them immediately.

“Only those who have the permision of the Road Transport Department director-general are allowed to use such gadgets.

“Anyone using them illegally is liable to a compound of RM300,” he said, adding that vehicle owners had until June 1 to remove them.

On another matter, unauthorised “marshalls” who direct traffic as they escort convoys are actually breaking the law.

SAC Mohd Fuad said these marshalls were becoming a common sight as many car and motorcycle club members travel in convoys.

“A traffic marshall can only direct, divert or stop traffic if he has permission from the police, and police personnel must be present when he is performing the act.

“Unfortunately, some have resorted to wearing jackets with the words ‘Marshall’ to perform the duties of the police,” he said.

SAC Mohd Fuad advised the public to ignore these traffic marshalls if they were not accompanied by police personnel.

On road safety, he revealed that fatal road accidents had dropped by about 5% in the first quarter of 2014 compared to the corresponding period last year.

A total of 1,623 deaths from 1,512 fatal accidents was recorded between January and March, which is almost a 5% drop compared to the 1,717 deaths from 1,592 fatal accidents recorded within the same period last year.

“In the first quarter, 114,115 accidents were reported compared to 116,412 cases within the same period last year,” he said, adding that motorcyclists made up 62.5% of the road fatalities with 1,014 deaths.

Source: No fancy licence plates or heavy tints - Nation | The Star Online
Saw the news today.

Now I'm not sure to replaced my rear number plate to normal one. Since my car have normal one in front and rear is the smaller one but visible enough. Front one previously broken due to flood waters.

This is what I found. Guess we should start measuring our number plates for those who had change to different one.

Vehicle Number Plate Specifications

3 types of number plates that are allowed for use

1. White alphabets and numbers, embossed or glued on a black plate.
  2. White alphabets and numbers, embossed or glued on a red plate for vehicles belonging to embassies,
    the UN and the International Natural Rubber Association.
  3. Black alphabets and numbers, embossed or glued on a white plate for taxicabs and hired cars.

Cars:

Bikes:
'

Tints on the other hand, all this while dark tints are not allow but it seems they decided to finally take action. Heard that currently they have up to RM500Mil+- of uncollected summonses till date.

By the way, I thought such checking is usually done by JPJ instead? Why police are involve? Are you thinking what I'm thinking? :hmmmm2: :idea:

3rd case, I do agree to actually punish those annoying marshalls and cars with illegal siren or strobes lights when driving. This may mislead others to think they are cops or so.

Especially marshalls blocking the road without any Police personnel present, now we can ignore.
They are starting to be a pest instead. :banghead:

Starkiller

May 19, 2010
Hartamas
Re: Fancy Number Plates and Tints That Do Not Comply with Regulations by June 15, 201

*stated rules/regulations do not apply to the wealthy & powerful* hahaha

Re: Fancy Number Plates and Tints That Do Not Comply with Regulations by June 15, 201

knnccb.. I just did my tint sommore

But they didnt mention about fake VIP Badges on number plates as well.

Nah, this is pure BS. I have seen the first pic since last year.
Nope, they can just start all over again. You know why June is Deadline, Raya round the corner....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 10:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

Now I'm not sure to replaced my rear number plate to normal one. Since my car have normal one in front and rear is the smaller one but visible enough. Front one previously broken due to flood waters.
Same as bro. cvkit one mah! Front legal, they see let you thru', by the time you pass and they see the rear illegal they won't chase you, or probably won't even see at all........hahahahahahha:rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

Oh! yours just done ah! I thought most shop will fit legal ones unless you insist, right?

Same shit every year.....I'm not surprised......want to solve all the mumbo jumbo problems then start from the root...

Nope, they can just start all over again. You know why June is Deadline, Raya round the corner....:banghead:

---------- Post added at 10:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:53 AM ----------

Same as bro. cvkit one mah! Front legal, they see let you thru', by the time you pass and they see the rear illegal they won't chase you, or probably won't even see at all........hahahahahahha:rofl::rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:59 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:56 AM ----------

Oh! yours just done ah! I thought most shop will fit legal ones unless you insist, right?
Usually shops will tell you is not legal and install at customer own risk. No claim from summon

LiteBulb

Jan 15, 2009

If the authorities does their work without prejudice, a lot of cars will kena.

But rm300 summon to keep prying eyes away, it's a small price to pay for me. So long don't kena inspection letter.

Usually shops will tell you is not legal and install at customer own risk. No claim from summon
Of course over limit and customer still insist, shop will not cover.....:biggrin:

But I got a feeling since Raya is coming, they will go all out and take full advantage of this. Unless they have higher rank officers with them then real summons will be issued. If not, is more like Kopi money. Unless the higher rank ones are also corrupted.

Starkiller

May 19, 2010
Hartamas

But I got a feeling since Raya is coming, they will go all out and take full advantage of this. Unless they have higher rank officers with them then real summons will be issued. If not, is more like Kopi money. Unless the higher rank ones are also corrupted.
eeeeexactly, polis pun nak duit raya :driver:

Erm. :flute: my friend the shop owner knows me too well. The shop fitted this one cuz he knows I will complain with legal ones. Bwahahaha

all rank officers are on the same boat, they still need to issue summons to fulfill their quota. :banghead:

dear sifu,

i would like to swap engine 4g92 dohc with ngv.

how much the price and what thing do o need to take care.

thank you