Ever tried a simple DIY then causing a major F**K UP! .... Share you stories

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 20, 2012
2,877
1,349
713
Kuala Lumpur
on recent long weekend, i was tempted to clean my throttle body. :idea:
while dismantling the whole thing, suddenly i faced a stuck up.
i didnt manage to take out the screw holding the IACV.furthermore i ruin the head thread (bunga) of the screw when using brutal force. :banghead:

but i just went on to spray/clean the throttle body without cleaning that IACV sensor.

anyone have an idea on how to take out a bad screw?? :confused:
I once saw a mechanic sprayed lubricant then knock the side of the body the screw is mounted on, gently. I guess it is to slightly dislodge the grip of the screw. Not so sure. Might work though?
 

amrancharger

500 RPM
Senior Member

amrancharger

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 19, 2006
779
96
1,528
I once saw a mechanic sprayed lubricant then knock the side of the body the screw is mounted on, gently. I guess it is to slightly dislodge the grip of the screw. Not so sure. Might work though?
this i dun dare to try since the sensor is plastic.
guess i haf to bring it to my mech and get a good lecture 1st...hahahaha!
 

es2611

500 RPM
Senior Member

es2611

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jan 10, 2006
954
175
1,543
on recent long weekend, i was tempted to clean my throttle body. :idea:
while dismantling the whole thing, suddenly i faced a stuck up.
i didnt manage to take out the screw holding the IACV.furthermore i ruin the head thread (bunga) of the screw when using brutal force. :banghead:

but i just went on to spray/clean the throttle body without cleaning that IACV sensor.

anyone have an idea on how to take out a bad screw?? :confused:
bro. try spray some WD40 and use grip pliers if and only if the space is big enough.
if the space is too small.. try use the long nose type.

i ruined alot of thread due to rust or over tighten. make sure it is a good quality grip pliers.
 

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 20, 2012
2,877
1,349
713
Kuala Lumpur
this i dun dare to try since the sensor is plastic.
guess i haf to bring it to my mech and get a good lecture 1st...hahahaha!
Even though the body the mechanic knocked is metal, he just tapped it gently. To be safe bro, better let your mechanic do it haha
 

BoxCarRacer

500 RPM
Senior Member

BoxCarRacer

500 RPM
Senior Member
May 7, 2008
524
103
1,543
Johor Bahru
Bought a cheap RM60 2 tonne jack from Giant. On the second use, wanted to change oil filter, during jacking on the front right side of the car, it collapsed and scratch the under carriage and door.

Cost me RM500 to get the car fixed and another RM450 to buy a proper hydraulic jack.

Till now, it's the most f**ked-up decision ever made in my life.
 

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member

DanzEterna

Moderator
Moderator
Senior Member
Nov 1, 2007
15,916
3,371
1,713
PJ
www.primeperdanaclub.com
Bought a cheap RM60 2 tonne jack from Giant. On the second use, wanted to change oil filter, during jacking on the front right side of the car, it collapsed and scratch the under carriage and door.

Cost me RM500 to get the car fixed and another RM450 to buy a proper hydraulic jack.

Till now, it's the most f**ked-up decision ever made in my life.
really ah? im also having the giant 2 tonne jack......dammit...
 

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

cvkit17

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Mar 20, 2012
2,877
1,349
713
Kuala Lumpur
Bought a cheap RM60 2 tonne jack from Giant. On the second use, wanted to change oil filter, during jacking on the front right side of the car, it collapsed and scratch the under carriage and door.

Cost me RM500 to get the car fixed and another RM450 to buy a proper hydraulic jack.

Till now, it's the most f**ked-up decision ever made in my life.
How did it collapse? Did anything break?
 

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member

^pomen_GTR^

7,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 13, 2010
7,510
1,688
1,713
The Mines
that rm60 jack tends to suddenly loose pressure....

thats why even with expensive proper jack...always use stand when working under car....if got no stand then use wood block/brick or your rims to protect u from being pinned under the car...
 

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 24, 2011
2,698
849
713
Shah Alam
all jacks are for jacking only.. not for long use..

even the expensive ones tends to fail if use for a long time..

i think u can safely be under the jack for only 1 minute :wink:
 

Izso

Boooooossst
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

Boooooossst
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
14,869
6,257
5,213
KL
really ah? im also having the giant 2 tonne jack......dammit...
Contact this company : Mtis.com.my and get their jack la. Located in Klang. That Mechanic bigass jack is awesome! Been using since I started bigger DIY projects.

Not too expensive too. <RM400
 

amrancharger

500 RPM
Senior Member

amrancharger

500 RPM
Senior Member
Jul 19, 2006
779
96
1,528
i just use the scissor jack...can build up muscle wat.hehehe...

actually i am really bad in jacking up cars.i got experience ruining the under body of my car. :listen:

anyone care to start a new DIY lesson on where is the spot to jack the car? :wavey:
 

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Senior Member

D7zul

2,000 RPM
Senior Member
Feb 24, 2011
2,698
849
713
Shah Alam
i just use the scissor jack...can build up muscle wat.hehehe...

actually i am really bad in jacking up cars.i got experience ruining the under body of my car. :listen:

anyone care to start a new DIY lesson on where is the spot to jack the car? :wavey:
no need DIY lesson la :biggrin:




 

lowrider1

Senior Member

lowrider1

Senior Member
Jun 17, 2005
2
0
1,501
KL
Great topic!

My experience long long ago was adjusting valve tappet clearance on my AE86.. Turned out I picked the wrong gauge to adjust and the gap was simply to big. When I start the engine, it sounds like a diesel engine! lol... Then, I must re-do the whole process all over again. Luckily, nothing was damaged.
 

ronaldindin

Known Member

ronaldindin

Known Member
Jan 14, 2013
207
29
528
Kuala Lumpur
www.12bet.com
forgot to put washer when tightening the oil sump bolt during DIY oil change, the same afternoon i noticed some oil dripping on my car porch floor , lo & behold, there i saw my washer lying on the floor, sent to workshop & the guy change my bolt to longer one, problem solve.

During DIY soundproofed my driver's door, put too much insuflex & end up fxxk up my door lock mechanism.
how bad is putting too much insulfex on doors? I wanted to put em on too
 

ColdPlay

Known Member
Senior Member

ColdPlay

Known Member
Senior Member
Jun 16, 2010
288
112
543
Kuala Lumpur
I never trust the the hydraulic jack. big or small. Everytime I need to go underneath, I'll just jack the car up to convenient level and stack few pieces of thick wood to hold the chassis.

Last time doing DIY sound insulation on doors, used 10mm insulflex to cover the whole door. Central lock need 3 attempt to work.
Distort audio sound due to the layer of insulflex behind the door speaker. And the insuflex managed to trap some water too. Lesson learned.
Now I used 6mm insulflex which stick to the panel instead of the door. And a bitumen layer with aluminium foil to cover the hollow door area. No cotton mesh but it works wonder.

Btw, my worst DIY experiment goes to swapping tyre. Was thinking of doing some hard workout when I come across the idea of toying around with my Hilux SR tyres using 2 leaf spring and big tweeter. Managed to replaced the worn out spare tyres with another working one in 1 hour. Bruises all over my palm, few dent on the steel wheel and 2 days of bicep and shoulder's muscle paint.
I guess I f***up myself. Oh! and the worn out tyre look like it had been chewed by a monster dog too. lol.
 

c4prlm4st3r

Known Member
Senior Member

c4prlm4st3r

Known Member
Senior Member
Feb 21, 2012
151
29
528
Selangor
my worst diy..so far nothing big..just recently i upgrade my headlamp wiring using headlamp booster unit..it come without fuse..so i add the fuse link by myself..but the mistake i put only single fuse instead 2..the power in have 2 wire each one for high and low beam..so drove the night i install it, turn on high beam..minutes later no light..lucky my fog light alway on..stop the car at road side change the fuse..next day straight away add another fuse link.
 

Veloc

3,000 RPM
Senior Member

Veloc

3,000 RPM
Senior Member
May 19, 2010
3,234
991
1,713
Sabah
Tried to fix my rad fan wiring yesterday. Blown a fuse or 2 and maybe melted some wire. In the workshop now fixing.
 

neohadri

Known Member
Senior Member

neohadri

Known Member
Senior Member
Jul 5, 2008
200
34
1,528
how bad is putting too much insulfex on doors? I wanted to put em on too
u can put it, but dont use the thick 10mm one, use 6mm,

for my case, my insuflex prevent my lock linkage to move smoothly, over time it just refuse to lock/unlock