engine year of manufacture

jjoeworks

Jun 18, 2006
i want to get an ecu for my engine but someone ask about my engine when the year of manufacture is. i have a 3sge beams vvti 6mt from a toyota altezza. i bought the engine without ecu.

so now how to check the year of manufacture on my engine.

cheers,
joe

Lumix

May 17, 2004
Copy from a website, hope it can help.

There are four generations of the 3S-GE, which were used in the Toyota Celica, MR2 and Toyota Altezza. All 3S-GE engines had a displacement of 2.0 L. Additionally, the 3S-GTE engines were based off of the 3S-GE designs.
Gen 1

First generation 3S-GE was produced from 1986 to 1989, arriving in both Northern American versions, as well as In Japan as a second variation. The Northern American engine was slightly less powerful, producing around 135bhp or 100kw. This engine was the only Gen 1 3S-GE to come to North America, in the Celica GT-S (ST162). The JDM version, sported a more aggressive ECU, and among other things a lack of the EGR valve system, pushing the output to somewhere around 150bhp or 111kw, and 125ft/lbs of torque.
Gen 2

The second generation was produced from 1990 to 1993. Receiving a slight boost in output to 160bhp or 119kw, and it also proved to be a slightly more reliable engine. The 2nd Gen also did-away with the T-VIS system, which was replaced by the ACIS (Acoustic Controlled Induction System), proving to be much more efficient.
Gen 3

The third generation 3S-GE was produced from 1994 to 1996. Power output was increased to 177bhp or 132kw.
Gen 4/3SGE BEAMS
3SGE BEAMS
Enlarge
3SGE BEAMS

The fourth generation 3SGE is also known as the 3SGE BEAMS. It began production in 1997, and is still being produced for the Altezza. The 3S-GE BEAMS was the first Toyota engine with dual VVT-i, increasing the available power to 197 bhp.

"If engine could be beautiful, this would be the one!"

A Few facts:

This 3s-ge BEAMS VVT-i "Red Top" version is generation 4 of 3s-ge and was available in few models sold only in Japan - Toyota MR2 G and G-limited, Celica ST202 SS-II and SS-III and Caldina.

This 2.0-liter 3S-GE BEAMS engine with VVT-i ( Variable Valve Timing-intelligent ) produce 200 horsepower and 21.0kg-m of torque.

The production in MR2 wasn´t more than 1000.

Turbo'd Beams VVT-i 3SGE was used in TTE FIA WRC Corolla, but 80% parts of engine was modified.

There was also "Black Top" version with dual VVT-i which produce 210ps/7600 rpm, this engine was in Altezza.

This engine is used in Japan in Formula 3!

Tech notes:

BEAMS = Breakthrough Engine with Advanced Mechanism System

VVT-i = Variable Valve Timing - intelligent

Inside diameter x process (mm×mm) = 86.0×86.0

Aerodynamic volume displacement (cc) = 1998

Compression ratio = 11

The highest output (ps/rpm) = 200/7,000

Largest torque (kg-m/rpm) = 21.0/6,000

Speed change ratio

1st gear = 3.285

2nd gear = 1.960

3rd gear = 1.322

4th gear = 1.028

5th speed = 0.820

Retreat = 3.153

Deceleration ratio = 4.176

Helica LSD

JayDM

Mar 2, 2006
Hi Joe,

The engine serial number is usually engraved somewhere on the engine block..however i doubt if the year of manufacturing is stated (only Toyota Japan knows?)

If u have problems getting a stock ecu, u can always opt for aftermarket standalones from apexi or hks

rinagi

Sep 4, 2005
K.L
Ecu

I have 1 no of Altezza ECU (A) . Contact me @ 012-2043330 for more info

jjoeworks

Jun 18, 2006
my engine no is 3S9378696. some altezza owners says yhat the engine has yaer of manufacture. my engine is with the black top with 6speed manual gearbox.
is it true that different is required to run this engine due to manufacture date as off 1998-2000 and 2001- and above with defferent ecu required. im talking about aftermarket ecu. pls refer below...POWER FC & COMMANDER
Model no : 414AT006 (year 1998 - 2000)
Model no : 414AT013 (year 2001 and above)

why is this so and whats the difference on both ecu

cheers,
joe

porosaki

Sep 16, 2004
so far i only found out u cannot start ur car with different ECU.
tried with TOM'S TEC in my car. start buy die off straight away.(mine is 2001 July later spec)

even tried HKS Twin Power. others (before 2001 may) works fine but mine just simply won't start.

HKS F con V pro is fine with both but u need the OEM ECU for other parameters.

PFC dun know yet.

Its seems 2001 above have done something to its Ignition system. Just my experience in my car. But strangely V Pro works fine.