Engine Oil Grade

S_04

Dear all,

I been using my staria neo cps for 4 months, all this while im using W5-30 Engine oil.
i feel light and power if compare with using W10-40.
but al lot of ppl recommend me use w10-40 instead of W5-30 izzit rite???

if i keep on using W5-30 will engine damage??

pls advise bro...

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
Some "leaked" information i got few years back :
CamPro engine produces the most output ( power ) with 5W-30 engine oil.
To say it is not true is not true either :)
To say it is true, well, try it out yourself :)

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
only thing about thinner oils is the protection it provides.

at higher operating temps, it might not lubricate/protect as well as higher viscosity oil..the oil can only hold its lubricating capabilities to a certain heat range...im not so sure on the exact figures but i belive u can get the chart if you google and see.

if you drive hard, maybe should use 10w-40...for better protection...

No point using any other weight recommended by the manufacturer if your engine is stock. If Proton says to use 5W30 on your Neo just stick to it la. If they say to use xW40 then stick with 0W40, 5W40 or 10W40 lor.

Why make things so complicated? The higher the weight the better tolerance it has when heated to its optimum temperature. But that's not saying lighter weight oils are useless. I use 5W30 on my car mainly because I like the early morning protection it gives and how well it works with my Wira when spirited driving. 5W40 feels a tad bit more heavier on my car but it's not significantly different.

I'mma gonna try the Blitz 5W40 next oil change.

S_04

Motul H-Tech 5-30 full syn. is the best so far i used...

thanks guys.

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
whoever has Motul's mixing recipe ( mixing different Motul oil to achieve something else ) memang untung :D

btw,

5W-50 :
5W : for winter rating
50 : viscosity index of oil @100 degrees celsius <---- correct me if im wrong :)

Must be automatic, cause my mother cannot drive manual.

Priority in order of importance
1. Comfort king among pickups/4wd
2. reliability/problem-free
3. fuel economy (diesel sure beats petrol right?)
4. power
5. not older than 2010, preferred if in warranty
6. no lite versions, or pissed down versions, the full manly version please

Please don't suggest Amarok, Cayenne or things that costs more than RM70k.

Mostly city driving, will modify it with bull bar front and back. Off-road...