engine oil & coolant disappear

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
hi all..
engine got problem as stated above..
been haunting me for about half year now..
engine mivec 1.8 single cam block with mivec piston
using 10-40 magnatec oil : oil level reach lower dipstick level after 2k km..
using 20-50 oil : oil level reach lower dipstick level after +- 2.5k km..
coolant toyota 1 bottle + water to fill the radiator but after about 1k km the water inside the tank gone already..
water pump changed..
valve seal also change..
for now need to check water & oil regularly..

need help & opinion from fellow forumers..
thanx in advance..

minor.
1. check your radiator hoses leak, since u are using toyota coolant, see where the water drips..thats the culprit.
2. is both your fans working?

major
time to skimm your head....

ettm_14

Jul 30, 2006
had the same problem earlier, any white smokes?

i think its good if you can have a look at the wear and tear of your valve guides, caused me major headache

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
minor.
1. check your radiator hoses leak, since u are using toyota coolant, see where the water drips..thats the culprit.
2. is both your fans working?

major
time to skimm your head....
no hose leak or water drips..radiator service but no leak found..
oil also no leak..been monitoring the engine physical condition for month but still no leak found..
crank seal timing belt side also been change..
both fans also working normally..head ache already..

had the same problem earlier, any white smokes?

i think its good if you can have a look at the wear and tear of your valve guides, caused me major headache
no white smoke..
morning start still can see stim coming out from exhaust..
wear n tear check alr..valve seal change..cam seal change..
if valve guide then need to dismantle the head..
aiyaaa..

probably the oil missing from worn valve seal....

get it changed...about coolant u need a really sharp eye to check the leaking....last time during waterpump change did they change the steel pipe behind waterpump also???? (coz sometimes it leaks on the steel pipe since rust starts)

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
probably the oil missing from worn valve seal....

get it changed...about coolant u need a really sharp eye to check the leaking....last time during waterpump change did they change the steel pipe behind waterpump also???? (coz sometimes it leaks on the steel pipe since rust starts)
valve seal change alr..after valve seal change the oil level decrease also same..
when change water pump the steel pipe also check..no leak..just little little rust inside only..

my friend follow my car last night said..
after mivec open he saw white smoke coming out from exhaust..
could this mean something..

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
done the cardboard test but still..
no drip or leak detected..
I think if the leakage does not wet the floor/cardboard, means it is wetting the engine/parts. The liquid from the leakage does not have a direct route to the floor.

If it doesn't drip, it seeps.

Normally leakage at radiator fin (not radiator tank), can be piping/hose seepage.

If there's no leakage/seepage at all, then the liquid is burnt (through engine combustion). But you've checked that haven't you.

slipar

Apr 29, 2006
banting - pj
I think if the leakage does not wet the floor/cardboard, means it is wetting the engine/parts. The liquid from the leakage does not have a direct route to the floor.

If it doesn't drip, it seeps.

Normally leakage at radiator fin (not radiator tank), can be piping/hose seepage.

If there's no leakage/seepage at all, then the liquid is burnt (through engine combustion). But you've checked that haven't you.
checked all engine part already..
even turun gearbox to check if there any leak or seepage..
no leakage or seepage found what so ever..
if coolant seep through any part there must be a trace that the coolant been there before it evaporate or something like that..
also there no oil seeping through..if there any sure can see..
radiator service alr n also check for leakage but no leakage found..
if the liquid burnt through engine combustion process then how to check bro..

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
if the liquid burnt through engine combustion process then how to check bro..
If like bro Danz said warped head, maybe dismantle head and pakai pembaris buih bro, tengok surface level ke tak

If liquid burnt, asap putih keluar... kalau dah buat valve seal, kena bukak blok la pulak tengok piston or cylinder got scratch...

HotBits Suspension system...for cars & suvs.
I'm planning to change my stock absorbers and the stock springs, because my front stock absorbers are partially not working well already.

I'm considering HotBits, as they offer adjustable coilover suspension (front & back) for my car.

Has anyone installed products from the HotBits suspension range?
Any good or bad comments?

I would appreciate if current or ex-users can give their opinion on HotBits products, before I actually make my...