engine leaking

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
hi!shifu and taiko.
last two days i just go to used car shop see altezza.
and i found some oil leak on the side of engine head.
on the picture can see something like gasket melt. my question is it the engine over heat or normal?
the car running milage about 130000+, the timing also is time to change?
cause i plan to buy the car.
thanks.

sarled

Sep 14, 2012
Semenyih
Almost impossible for this gasket to melt. It's probably hi temp liquid gasket that was used during its last major overhaul. This engine has certainly been overhauled before.

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
sarled,thanks for reply.
so what the salesman is true? cos he said the engine just changed timing belt.
and there is another sound 'tak tak tak' after engine started.
i had record video, but don know how to upload.

sarled

Sep 14, 2012
Semenyih
If the tak-tak sounds goes away after warming up then don't worry, it's just the valve tappet clearances.
However, you may want to worry about the fact that the engine has been overhauled at less than130k km. Means maybe the previous owner didn't really take care of the car.

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
Thanks again.
overhaul before? Can said is replace timing belt or service the head?
then the head or cam cover has grinned before?scared the uneven surface then apply the liquid gasket?
Actually what i should notice for this engine?
Cause the salesman said give one month warranty.

sarled

Sep 14, 2012
Semenyih
Thanks again.
overhaul before? Can said is replace timing belt or service the head?
then the head or cam cover has grinned before?scared the uneven surface then apply the liquid gasket?
Actually what i should notice for this engine?
Cause the salesman said give one month warranty.
Replace timing belt is not overhaul.
Overhaul - yes, maybe he did grind the head but maybe he just changed piston rings.... it could have been anything. My point is that car shouldn't have needed an overhaul, unless the driver thrashes it daily or he didnt maintain by not putting in water or changing his oil.

Google how you should buy a car and you can get lots of info.

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
I think last question Is the salesman give me one month warranty are useful or useless? Or enough for check the car?
Thanks a lot sarled.

---------- Post added at 06:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:30 PM ----------

I think last question Is the salesman give me one month warranty are useful or useless? Or enough for check the car?
Thanks a lot sarled.

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
Thanks a lot sarled.

---------- Post added at 06:40 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 06:30 PM ----------

Thanks a lot sarled.
just back off from the deal.
is the one month warranty really enuf/irresistible?wat if the car breakdown after 1 month?

even if it breakdown within 1 month, u can claim for repair but how sure are u it gonna survive for the next month.

either way, u are screwed. :listen:

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
Thanks to reply.
I also think before to quit the deal.
My friend said if repair not properly than next time will having a big problem.
Unless i have already have a spare engine to replace.

ken yeang

the salesman is hiding something.

Walkaway, and find another better Tezza.

mokh

Oct 18, 2008
just sharing. i experienced this before. just replace the gasket. the gasket is just rubber anyway.
cant remember how much. but not too expensive.

apart from that, im not sure.

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
thanks mokh.
just now i go to the used car shop again,i touch that thing it feel like rubber.
i also not sure the liquid gasket how it fell like.
i also tested the car ,the triptronic M mode also like auto function shift gear.doesn't let drag untill 7000rpm. but the car is quite powerful, easily can go up to 140.
hope can get more infomation.
thanks.

AE111_SEG

May 18, 2005
Putra Heights
Bro... to change the top gasket is not expensive.... check the car for accident. Pls also check underneath for any damage... :rolleyes:

yongkui

Aug 29, 2011
teluk intan
I know it is not expansive.May be rm200-300.
The worry thing is this car have been overhauled before.
I also found there is a blue e manage under the passenger sit.
i am not so sure this can do what, just know can tune something for the ecu.Any other function on that thing?

Anyone got any eperience on the workshops in Singapore? I have a very bad one with a reknown one!!

They will try to pull a fast one on you! So, be careful !!

Cheers. :banghead::mad: