Engine dies when moving from idle.

optbiL

Oct 31, 2011
Hi all sifus,
I own a 2005 Chevrollet Optra 5 1.8 which was passed down by my mom.
As mentioned in the title, the problem with my car is that lately it's engine always dies when I start to move from idle (eg: at a traffic light).
I always shift the gear to 'N' from 'D' as I don't like to step on the brake for long.
As soon as I shift gear to start moving, it dies. It's easy to start it up again, but I'm kinda worried if it doesn't start.
The engine also dies when I brake hard or step the throttle hard on idle.
I had a few checks. There seems to be some engine oil in the throttle body and when I take out the spark plugs, there seems to be some oil too.
I have changed the filters, spark plugs, engine oil, but the problem remains.
My mechanic told me to service the throttle body and engine to remove oil. But the problem is, I don't really trust him as he does not even know how to change the gear oil. I changed the gear oil at another workshop but it is expensive.
The engine also has a loud vibration noise which I expect is the fault of bad engine mountings.

So if any of you don't mind giving a helping hand, I would like to know what service I should do. And there are very few spare parts for this car. Very difficult to find :confused:. and expensive also.
I would mind to use aftermarket parts if it's price is not far off from the original parts.
Is it advisable to change the air intake and exhaust system? I felt the car has heavy breathing problem. The car starts nicely.rpm below 1000. But after moving, at idle, the rpm is always above 1000.

I stay in Shah Alam. I have gone to several mechanics, but none of them know what the problem really is. I'm afraid if I just go along with their say, I might get conned and problem still not solved.
Thank you for reading this. I'd really appreciate it if you helped out.:adore:

P/S: I have taught of changing to another car but my dad advised against it. The cars current value is lower than the amount in debt. So I'm thinking of using it for some time.

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
try check all ur vacuum hoses.

sometimes aged n cracked rubber can cause that

optbiL

Oct 31, 2011
i think there's a chevy specialist in glenmarie..
What is the work shop name? if you don't mind sharing.

---------- Post added at 07:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:06 PM ----------

try check all ur vacuum hoses.

sometimes aged n cracked rubber can cause that
Will do. I did however told my uncle about this. He did mention to check the oil gear level. Because it was somewhat of a gear problem. Could that happen?

D7zul

Feb 24, 2011
in an automatic car, there's a lot of things can cause that.

u hv to check everything starting from vacuum hose, engine oil, gear oil, brake fluid, aircond compressor, etc

gudluck :burnout:

crazykatak

Mar 1, 2006
Subang Jaya
What is the work shop name? if you don't mind sharing.

---------- Post added at 07:09 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 07:06 PM ----------

Will do. I did however told my uncle about this. He did mention to check the oil gear level. Because it was somewhat of a gear problem. Could that happen?
Shared Auto.
Near Raihan Nasi Kandar.

nyantong

Jul 26, 2008
From what you have described, the throttle body requires a service as there is too much oil and probably carbon build up. Typically cleaning the throttle body is inexpensive if you know how to remove it. You can use brake cleaner to clean the oil and carbon as it is safe on electronics. Also try cleaning the air sensor with the brake cleaner.
At the same time, its probably best to use higher viscosity engine oil or add an oil catch tank to separate the oil vapours from the PCV hose before feeding it back to the intake pipe.

dis43686

Mar 24, 2009
Optra for more than 100km please change spark plug cable and ignition coil. This 2 will faulty will cause oil in spark plug because of running less cylinder.

Since the last batch of V-Series spy photos back in September, some new spy photos of the BMW crossover variant dubbed Progressive Activity Sedan (PAS) have emerged from our neighbors to the left, Sweden's AutoMotorSport.se. In addition to the spy photos, AMS Sweden also has a couple of interesting computer renderings from Schulte-Design of what the vehicle could look like. Check them out.

The Gran Turismo model based on the CS Concept, which was recently announced by Chairman of the Board...