EG clubs/owner etc

mADmAN

if ur a B16A, best to get the DC2-R with 4.7 FD gearbox

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
My tuner also said the same thing. B16 or B18 use 4.75 FD. B20 use 4.4 FD. He said if B20 use 4.75 FD, have to change gear very fast. What does he mean?

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
FD = Final drive

My tuner said B20 use 4.75 FD, "banyak cepat mau tukat gear''. I don't know what he meant?

Ling Reiden

From Facebook
Nov 4, 2010
FD = Final drive

My tuner said B20 use 4.75 FD, "banyak cepat mau tukat gear''. I don't know what he meant?
oh ya hor ok ok sorry for my lack knowledge...hmm thinking of it also d now...found this rigid collars seems not bad hmm:idea:...
Stiff Ring - Available Model

and 1 of my friend recommend me to read and save up some for further upgrade such as
http://www.shc-forum.com/viewtopic.php?t=66191

---------- Post added at 12:59 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 12:54 PM ----------

byk cepat mau tukar gear....??change gear want very fast...??Aaaa...??

mADmAN

another way of putting wat ur mechanic means is that its as if u dont have enough gears... even when ur at 5th ull feel that u wanna upshift to another gear....

im sure at times when ur on fifth u feel as if ur on 3rd or 4th? itll be worse with 4.7... too close for 2.0

DeaconFrost

Oct 2, 2009
I think:

1. B20 got more torque.
2. Speedometer climb faster.
3. RPM climb faster.
4. Need to shift faster.

4.785 FD I heard complaints of "makan minyak", maybe because:

5. 5th gear cruising also RPM high.
6. RPM high = "makan minyak".
7. RPM high = noisy = want extra gear for silent cruising.

cad843

Mar 23, 2005
Oita Ken
4.4 & 4.785 FD is an OEM one. 4.4 FD coming with original B16B fr EK9 while 4.785 FD coming with original B18cR fr ITR 98 spec S80, U can search around wats the differ between this 2 FD. But I prefer 4.4 FD for street type use. 4.785 FD give u more torque estimated 9% extra virtually... so ur rpm much lighter than 4.4. For city driving, 4.785 give u more torque so reduce gear changing but in h'way .. if u at 5th gear u will feel like there is another gear n off course fuel consumption higher than 4.4FD. But remember basic theory la ... more power = much higher fuel consumption

Another option is u play around with gear ratio, there a lot of aftermarket short gear ratio u can play with ... just standby $$$ onli. Try la search around ...

4.9 FD is after market one like MFactory etc ... to me 4.9 suitable for track not for street use

Gear ratio will determine whether u be in front or behind if side by side wif other car that same hp as ur car ... Remember .. the best bout honda vtec is not onli the engine but GB as well ... try play around but just prepare enough $$$ to be dump

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
4.4 & 4.785 FD is an OEM one. 4.4 FD coming with original B16B fr EK9 while 4.785 FD coming with original B18cR fr ITR 98 spec S80, U can search around wats the differ between this 2 FD. But I prefer 4.4 FD for street type use. 4.785 FD give u more torque estimated 9% extra virtually... so ur rpm much lighter than 4.4. For city driving, 4.785 give u more torque so reduce gear changing but in h'way .. if u at 5th gear u will feel like there is another gear n off course fuel consumption higher than 4.4FD. But remember basic theory la ... more power = much higher fuel consumption

Another option is u play around with gear ratio, there a lot of aftermarket short gear ratio u can play with ... just standby $$$ onli. Try la search around ...

4.9 FD is after market one like MFactory etc ... to me 4.9 suitable for track not for street use

Gear ratio will determine whether u be in front or behind if side by side wif other car that same hp as ur car ... Remember .. the best bout honda vtec is not onli the engine but GB as well ... try play around but just prepare enough $$$ to be dump
sorry i am a new honda owner,newbie,do correct me if i am wrong, from the info i dig on wiki and honda tech, S80 gear box is from ITR from 96 while 98 and after, they using N3E gearbox.. both are 4.785 FD but i heard that N3E gearbox are with longer 4th and 5th ratio which improve the cruising... is it?:nurse::nurse::biggrin::rolleyes:

Civic eh5

Jan 30, 2012
Hi guys, im new here...if i want to transplant b16a to my eh5 1995... Can i still use the auto cruise contol..current engine d16a nonvtec..

mADmAN

sorry i am a new honda owner,newbie,do correct me if i am wrong, from the info i dig on wiki and honda tech, S80 gear box is from ITR from 96 while 98 and after, they using N3E gearbox.. both are 4.785 FD but i heard that N3E gearbox are with longer 4th and 5th ratio which improve the cruising... is it?:nurse::nurse::biggrin::rolleyes:
S80: 4.4FD 96 Spec

S80+N3E: 4.785FD 98 Spec

both specs are using the S80 gearbox...98spec has the addition of the N3E which i assume means the 4.7FD

peterj

Apr 27, 2010
Kuching
S80: 4.4FD 96 Spec

S80+N3E: 4.785FD 98 Spec

both specs are using the S80 gearbox...98spec has the addition of the N3E which i assume means the 4.7FD
i am new in honda,lol:banghead:

---------- Post added at 10:07 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 09:54 PM ----------

bro madman,ur ride is eh5? hatch rite? btw, may i know what different between local eh and jdm eg? like chasis? no nid to include the interior stuff like seat different,dash different, catalytic converter or non,engine power lower .... i nid the main thing...tqvm..... and also bro, what is those number after our eh and eg? instead of differentiating hatchback or sedan and coupe.... chassis hardness different like mine is eh2 4 doors,some is eg5 4 doors, some is eh5,the higher the number the better?the stronger the chassis? i only know eg9 and eg6 got dohc vtec, others are sohc d15 or d16 vtec and non vtec... honda sifu pls teach me newbie:adore::adore::adore::adore::adore::adore::adore:

ddv_nk12

May 18, 2011
PD
another way of putting wat ur mechanic means is that its as if u dont have enough gears... even when ur at 5th ull feel that u wanna upshift to another gear....

im sure at times when ur on fifth u feel as if ur on 3rd or 4th? itll be worse with 4.7... too close for 2.0
Seriously bro, even with 4.4, I feel there's a need for a 6th gear especially on the highway. Lol... When the time comes, I'll play with my GB since the synchro is already giving problems. I think it's better to build with aftermarket ratios and LSD rather then getting another 4.4 FD with LSD GB. I know it's gonna cost more but what say you?

Good stuff here!!
By any chance, is there any after market ratios which are lower than 4.4?? Something that won't make me feel for the need for the 6th gear?

Black coloured Toyota Hilux 2.8 bearing number plate QKM3626 stolen in Medan Jaya, Bintulu, Sarawak.
Pls be on the lookout n info police if spotted.
This vehicle belongs to a friend. :bawling: