im using a 1983 e28........
how to cuci da spark plugs?

the plugs are
SPARK PLUGS BOSCH SUPER BP5ES
W8DC

can sum1 teach me any other ways to wash the plugs?
the technique im using now is
i first wash it in petrol.....then i use a tooth brush to wash the head.......then i wash again n use the sand paper to scrap the black stuffz....(if not mistaken is copper oxide) then i wash again.......kau tim.....clean like new....
any other wayz? plz share
:rolleyes:

alexbaby88

Jan 2, 2004
Why don't you just buy a new set of 6 and save yourself all the trouble?

I recently changed all 6 for RM42 on my E28.

unclebabi

i bout all 6 for RM 30
15 for 4 .......
the prob is my plugs gets dirty very fast........about 2-3 weeks....and the car would b jerking and under power......so u hav to either cahnge it or wash it......changing it every month? i aint tht rich thou......
so i was thinkin whether is there any other wayz of washing......
btw.....u buying da same plugs? y so mahal 1......
urs can last for how long?

alexbaby88

Jan 2, 2004
Originally posted by unclebabi@Mar 9 2005, 14:52
i bout all 6 for RM 30
15 for 4 .......
the prob is my plugs gets dirty very fast........about 2-3 weeks....and the car would b jerking and under power......so u hav to either cahnge it or wash it......changing it every month? i aint tht rich thou......
so i was thinkin whether is there any other wayz of washing......
btw.....u buying da same plugs? y so mahal 1......
urs can last for how long?
If your plugs are fouling up in 2-3 weeks then there is something wrong with your engine. You need to address the root cause of WHY your plugs are fouling.

I mean if you have a cut on your hand you can't just keep wiping the blood off and hope the problem will go away! You need to fix the cut!

What is your fuel consumption like?

I had a problem with one of my spark plugs earlier, it was getting fouled up and my fuel consumption was real bad, running very rich, low on power.

It turns out that my injectors were kaput. Got a recon set from the chop shop, had it cleaned and flow balanced. You wouldn't believe the difference it made! Like a new engine almost! More power, not running as rich, smoother etc

I would try some of the injector cleaners to see if that works, before splashing the money on replacement injectors.

Also you may want to check your air flow meter to see if it is working as it should.

Cheers

unclebabi

wht plugs are u using?
im planning to try da WR9LS platinum plugs.....itz definitely not got to do wif da fuel injector......the bmw specialist says ma engines needs and overhaul.......but my dad doesnt wanna do it...coz its to costly.....how muc does cleaning an injector needs?

also thinking bout trying da X5DC plugs.....both are suitable for this model....searched on da web.....hmmph..........oh ya....1 new sets of plugs can last for about 1 and a half month......but after washing it.....it can onli last less than 1 week.....huh......

fabianyee

Jan 9, 2004
your engine is running too rich...... that's what causing the problem.

alexbaby88

Jan 2, 2004
Originally posted by unclebabi@Mar 10 2005, 17:47
wht plugs are u using?
im planning to try da WR9LS platinum plugs.....itz definitely not got to do wif da fuel injector......the bmw specialist says ma engines needs and overhaul.......but my dad doesnt wanna do it...coz its to costly.....how muc does cleaning an injector needs?

in that case better keep changing the plugs then...

unclebabi

wht u mean by rich?
u mean da lubricant alwayz overflowing da plugs? yeh....tht 1 i noe
but wht to do....my dad duwan to send for an overhaul......by right if overhaul...then kau tim......thts wht da specialist said

Hey guys,

I am a newbie in car mods.... but damn interested to mod me car... I am looking for some sport springs.... I drive a Wira Aeroback 1.6 1999... with 16" rims....Which brand is good? How about absorbers? do I need to change them too?

Currently... my tyres hits the arch when I go for a bumpy ride... With the springs this prob would be resolved rite? they say my spring now is too lembut.

The cheaper the better... lol .... but I dun mind spending more to get better comfort or quality...