Drive a Honda Civic Eg/EK Must Read!

ahlim13

Oct 9, 2006
Here is 4 pic i took inside my ECU.. i never see inside my ECU b4. So i dunno is it problem or not..

Picasa Web Albums - ahlim13 - Civic EG#

Others place caps seems ok.. but look at the third pic. upper left capasitor area. Is it the problem u said.

hope can solve this cb problem T_T now sometime i start car like carburetor engine. >.<

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Everything will be alrite dude coz it is a new car......:biggrin:

Nice bro....:biggrin:
I like the white model....
Congrats...........!

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:08 PM ----------

Here is 4 pic i took inside my ECU.. i never see inside my ECU b4. So i dunno is it problem or not..

Picasa Web Albums - ahlim13 - Civic EG#

Others place caps seems ok.. but look at the third pic. upper left capasitor area. Is it the problem u said.

hope can solve this cb problem T_T now sometime i start car like carburetor engine. >.<
Ahlim and all....

This is his ecu picture.
Confrimed, caps have leaked!
Need to be replace before more trouble comes up.!!!

2 choice... send for repairs or buy another ecu...
U decide wat you need to do....Thanks:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Ahlim....
Yes 3 picture, that 2 caps area looks worst but other also have leak, but very little and have no cause damage to outter areas so you might think it is ok, but actuall the cb caps are already leaking...
The biggest cap, it's the guy that will cause smoooooooooooking... TQ

P/s: that area of the connectors are related to TPS(throttel position)/MAP(air preassure) and more to the center IAT(air temp)... so i guess that is way you have cold start trouble now....but another few weeks, it will be worst unitl CEL up and cannot start.

ahlim13

Oct 9, 2006
Nice bro....:biggrin:
I like the white model....
Congrats...........!

---------- Post added at 11:11 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:08 PM ----------

Ahlim and all....

This is his ecu picture.
Confrimed, caps have leaked!
Need to be replace before more trouble comes up.!!!

2 choice... send for repairs or buy another ecu...
U decide wat you need to do....Thanks:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 11:11 PM ----------

Ahlim....
Yes 3 picture, that 2 caps area looks worst but other also have leak, but very little and have no cause damage to outter areas so you might think it is ok, but actuall the cb caps are already leaking...
The biggest cap, it's the guy that will cause smoooooooooooking... TQ

P/s: that area of the connectors are related to TPS(throttel position)/MAP(air preassure) and more to the center IAT(air temp)... so i guess that is way you have cold start trouble now....but another few weeks, it will be worst unitl CEL up and cannot start.
Good.. u so pro. :biggrin:
Ok.. now i know whats the problem. thanks.

so what do u suggest? replace all caps or only area in pic three?

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Good.. u so pro. :biggrin:
Ok.. now i know whats the problem. thanks.

so what do u suggest? replace all caps or only area in pic three?

Bro....
Must replace ALL 7 caps....
Tq

---------- Post added at 07:36 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:31 PM ----------

guys,

just an idea came out my mind..
can we change the caps or mod into solida-state caps??

refer to this -> TechBrief: Gigabyte Adopts Solid Polymer Capacitors For Motherboards - PCSTATS.com
Bro,
I guess can...(expensive kah?-- )
You get the parts, i do on your ECU free.
Then we make report write up but if ecu kaput...sendiri mahu ingat....:biggrin:
Tq

apexkecik

Nov 22, 2008
port dickson
i'll check mine today.scared la

---------- Post added at 11:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 AM ----------

bro e-tech,if we change the caps,do we need to tune the ecu back..sorry.noob here

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
i'll check mine today.scared la

---------- Post added at 11:51 AM ---------- Previous post was at 11:44 AM ----------

bro e-tech,if we change the caps,do we need to tune the ecu back..sorry.noob here
SmallAPEX....
It is good that you have check.
So, still okay? No juice cuming out??:biggrin:

Honda std ecu where can tune?

Just change the caps, plug back start and drive..
If no CEL appear, then good job done.
Tq.

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Warning! Pls Read thread from page 1. Important info will be miss out if you do not start there. TQ.:wavey:

fusionnetx

Sep 26, 2009
how to differentiate the caps? i'm not an electronic guys..
then how to change it to solid-state caps? what to check?

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
how to differentiate the caps? i'm not an electronic guys..
then how to change it to solid-state caps? what to check?
Bro..
U were the one who bring up the subject of solid-state caps...
So dun ask me abt this ok...:biggrin:

For the normal e-caps.... will have body markingson the sleeve cover...
e,g 33uf 35v 105c and so on...

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Caps replacement carried out tonite on a P30.. This auto ecu have 8 caps...

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Here's the values and locations...
The 3rd picture is the location of the big cap...220uf 35v..
You can see signs of very minor leak. Can only be seen after cap is
removed.....TQ

I owned a 2008 Mercedes Benz CLS 350 and have been driving it for almost 8 years now....There weren't any problems with the engine or car all this years and also accident-free...The car have been great & the performance never let me down...However, over the last 3 years....My CLS's engine sound became really loud....Especially during idol or gear on 'P'....The engine sound is really loud and can be heard especially from inside the car.....No power loss at all but just that the loud engine...