Drifting & Rims

fordrunger

hello all..

are there any specific rims that are ideal for drifting? whats the density of the different alloys or metals got to do with tyre traction or car balance during a drift? anybody know? or do standard rims work fine? my old merc 82 s class merc tends to bounce when i try it..

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
no idea about rims
but the best rear tayar for drift is SIME ASTAR

WAJA2003

Originally posted by simonchangwaimun@Dec 22 2004, 11:51
no idea about rims
Errr y is SIME ASTAR???
Is it cheap n not grip???? pump more air more syiok...

mist

Sep 20, 2004
bounce? maybe the feeling is due to soft tyre sidewalls and high-riding / old suspension or cut springs... if it's the first one, switch to lower profile tyres, or get 'undersized' tyres and stretch over the rim, e.g. 215/45 on a 8" wide rim instead of the usual 225/50

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
like this...

215/45/17... on 17x8 rims... but don't get this yokohama ler... damn grippy. hehehe..

simonchangwaimun

Nov 21, 2003
Cheras
teamshadowrider.multiply.com
Originally posted by WAJA2003+Dec 22 2004, 17:35 --></div><table border='0' align='center' width='95%' cellpadding='3' cellspacing='1'><tr><td>QUOTE (WAJA2003 @ Dec 22 2004, 17:35 )</td></tr><tr><td id='QUOTE'> <!--QuoteBegin-simonchangwaimun@Dec 22 2004, 11:51
no idea about rims
Errr y is SIME ASTAR???
Is it cheap n not grip???? pump more air more syiok... [/b][/quote]
YES!!!
super drift tayar!!!
wahahahhahaha
stupid F-ing sime made me cry on track day
:lol: :lol:

fordrunger

thanks guys... so how long do tyres last? what about using shitty old recond tyres? the guys down my road sells them for 50 bucks a piece.. currently all four tyres are different makes.. im running 205/65 in the rear and /60 in the front..

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
fordrunger

yes... wanna practice drifting, better use 2nd hand tyres.... even if go event... use 2nd hand tyres. ehehe...

waaa.. RM50 each aa? good price lor. maybe can get a bit more cheaper.

205/55/16 should be just nice to start drifting.

205/60/17 aaa? can also la... but will have a lot of sidewall flex.

Your old merc tend to bounce because the suspension setting aaa. it's quite soft i'm guessing. try to get harder springs and absorbers.

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
simon

ya lor... new tyres how to drift... hehehe...but my 17s will be getting new tyres next month, as i will be getting a pair of 16s for drifting. :)

e39a

OZ
topui boss,

got side front pic of ur rims ar? wanna see la... :D

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
Originally posted by e39a@Dec 24 2004, 16:46
topui boss,

got side front pic of ur rims ar? wanna see la... :D
bro

for your viewing pleasure... heheheh

:lol: :lol:

pogo

Dec 4, 2003
Hi mike..

T11..
is this the rim u wanna letgo aa bro?
hehehehe.. very nice laa.. :)

ps: Nice A31...wif eastbear side skirt
if i'm not mistaken..?? am i right bro?

~take k mike..

topui11

Mar 15, 2004
Originally posted by pogo@Dec 24 2004, 18:19
Hi mike..

T11..
is this the rim u wanna letgo aa bro?
hehehehe.. very nice laa.. :)

ps: Nice A31...wif eastbear side skirt
if i'm not mistaken..?? am i right bro?

~take k mike..
i was selling the rims... but now having 2nd thoughts already.

like i said in the nissan forum, lots of people told me offset 10 will not fit cefiro... saying that it's too much sticking out... this la.. that la... so, i'm tired to the complains... and now i've proved that the rims will fit cefiro and i've been running it with no problem at all!

maybe will sell the rims... if i can get a nice set of 18s... hehehe

:D

e39a

OZ
Fuh...bro...NICE car ler...

the rims looks like it's home edi la... :D

after a paint job, sure look cun la...

hye guys, anybody have and need sell harnness HKS FCON VPRO for honda B siries part code HP5-2 4202-RH006 ? or anybody want to swap with me HKS VPRO harnness including map sensor,air temp FOR CP9A MP5-2 4202-RM009.pm to me directly... TQ...