~DOHC VTEC air ram..which one is better?~

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
The best air ram is the one with the least bends. :P

CAI's bend more, but they make up with the cooler air, I think.

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
Stock Airbox not enoughlah.. tested already.. even with new filter, worse than my HKS Powderfellow.. :P

budin99

Mar 19, 2006
which one is better??? the air ram facing to the front (infront of the bumper) or facing 45 deg ? I mean in between on the side and front?
and anyone can post the picture as a example how to DIY CAI for EK? planning to make one. TQ in advance.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
as per AEM,2.75" siezed air ram promotes d BEST air velocity...coupled w CAI,dis will promote d best air intake 4 combustion process........
i'm now using 2.75" aluminium air ram(taken frm H22A Accord's)...cut accordingly 2 make it as straight as possible 2 b applied in my CRX(battery @ d back lor!)....
feels good compared 2 my previous ARC......
but ultimately,if its all out power dat ur after...go 4 QUADS ler......no question abt dat..if its a daily driven......all those mentioned above actually not much diff ler....
anyhow,a heatshield won hurt,not even d wallet..go buy d RM8 windscreen sunshade(d 1 w aluminium foil,can lipat2 1?)..cut according 2 size n shape ler...been using dis 4 d past 5 yrs dy..hehehehehe

shiroitenshi

Apr 18, 2006
as per AEM,2.75" siezed air ram promotes d BEST air velocity...coupled w CAI,dis will promote d best air intake 4 combustion process........
i'm now using 2.75" aluminium air ram(taken frm H22A Accord's)...cut accordingly 2 make it as straight as possible 2 b applied in my CRX(battery @ d back lor!)....
feels good compared 2 my previous ARC......
but ultimately,if its all out power dat ur after...go 4 QUADS ler......no question abt dat..if its a daily driven......all those mentioned above actually not much diff ler....
anyhow,a heatshield won hurt,not even d wallet..go buy d RM8 windscreen sunshade(d 1 w aluminium foil,can lipat2 1?)..cut according 2 size n shape ler...been using dis 4 d past 5 yrs dy..hehehehehe
Hmm.. I don't think it's that easy, since velocity is dependent on how fast the piston moves (piston speed) and the engine capacity (engine cc) and how big is the piping..

The idea is to balance resistance of flowing air through a big enough piping so there's less resistance, yet not too big that velocity suffers.. which is why different pipe sizes for the exhaust, extractor, runner, intake all affect power.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
shiro,
well,dats wat AEM sed ler....n i'm just trying it out...whc 2 me is kinda true.....throttle response is good n i dun think it sacrificied any top end performance

J101

Jul 15, 2005
malaysia
prolly we should determine how cold is this cold intake system when it comes to functionality rather than how big we need a cold intake. so far the weather in malaysia hasnt been cold plus the heat from the engine bay.

akuma

Jul 16, 2005
Kuantan
cold air intake is whn u route ur air intake 2 inhale ur air con air lor?manyiak SEJUK punyer mah?HAHAHAHA

camshaft

Nov 3, 2006
then air intake like this ok or not huh? or there are better ways to improve the air?

how much does it cost to do vertical door ?? can give any idea how to do it...where can i find its stuff???