DIY Persona : Rear Wheel Bearing

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan

• Jack up ur car
  • Remove wheel
  • Purple arrow, using screwdriver and hammer to remove it (Sometime need to hammer to release it)
  • Put in first gear or P position for auto to avoid the car moving forward
  • Release Handbrake
  • Black arrow, not sure why the screw gone already.:hmmmm:
  • Hammer a bit at outside brake drum to release the hub
  • Using flat screwdriver, hammer the small hub slowly pry to release it.

• Yellow Circle, Remove the bolt in order to take out the wheel bearing
  • U will need a long pipe to loosen the bolt. This bolt damn tight.
  • I'm not sure what actually is the bolt size actually.
  • It might be socket size 29mm or inch bolt screw.
  • I'm using bolt size 30mm with aluminium foil to remove the screw (Not the proper way to do it):stupid:
  • The risk is yours if u still want to use bolt size 30mm.

• Comparison with old proton and new ntn bearing
  • New bearing is from NTN, RM85 each

• Actually i put a white marking before i remove the bolt
  • The white marking were not align when tightening the bolt, if i go further i think it will be too tight.
  • So i didnt align with the white marking.
  • If u overtighten the bolt, ur bearing wont last long.
  • Insert the brake hub back and turn it.
  • If got brake and hub friction, u need to loosen a bit at the handbrake cable screw inside ur car.

• Apply silicon gasket at the gold color hub
  • Or u can apply at the inner diameter of the bearing

• This is the old silicon seal taken out from old bearing.
  • Not sure why the silicon is applied there previously.

Update:
The car feel very light since no friction already between the hub and brake.
High speed(100km/h) emergency braking still like normal. (Tyre can lock)
The only disadvantages is low speed braking very very poor. :banghead:

The endd:beer:

punk

Aug 6, 2011
Negeri Sembilan
No wonder when I looked at it -really very clean lor!:biggrin:
:biggrin:

Nothing special, but for some noobs like me that scare themselves. It means something ma.
Seeing all the rust, it mean the water can get in right? Or its condensation?
Yes water can get in but not much.
Those rust i think come out after i finish clean and spray water.
As i remember there is no rust at the brake pad steel thingy on other car.

The bearing i use is for NON ABS.

Hi all. My wife's car (MyVi 1.3) was drowned in the flash flood last week. The water level was up to the coin drawer(I don't really know what it was called). The car was parked when it was sank. After the flood I've tried to start the engine but failed. Does any of otai here have any idea what's the problem since the Perodua Service Centre quoted me RM16k to repair the car(I rather go to other workshop than paying that RM16k). Any recommend for trustworthy & good workmanship workshop(with...