DIY high octane fuel

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
any chemical student or ppl in chemical industry?? i got this mad idea which i want 2 DIY a higher octane fuel?? any chemical student or ppl in chemical industry knows the calculation for this mixture?? maybe we can DIY it n test it.. hehehe..

howiechoo

8,000 RPM
Jul 25, 2004
Bukit Jalil
be careful....later u b urn ur house...

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
n3o5er: i'm not running on highly boosted engine.. the reason i wanted 2 do this is just to try it out cause my fren last time try b4.. it works but i lost contact with him so can't ask himw ats the formula n the calculation.. i tot maybe some of the sifu here might help..

howiechoo: i doubt anything will happen if i get the correct person to give the formula n calculation.. hehehe..

n305er

Jan 25, 2005
- Penang -
www.n305er.com
Well, it's hard to even test out if your fuel did increase or decrease in octane level after you done your experiment. How do you test it?

Anyway, there are many Octane boosters in the market which you can buy nowadays.

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
those type of octane booster will actually work.. when we tested it was using my frens car ler.. lucky din kaboom or anything ler.. but that time the consumtion was very high.. tested on a satria 4g91.. 1 full tank onli last us 400m.. but the responce was good n more power..

Cannonfodder

Feb 15, 2006
Industrial grade toluene (100% proof) will improve octane ratings by about 5-8 points if used up to 30% of volume. Premix toluene with petrol instead of just pouring it into the tank.

Proven octane increase with no adverse effects if you don't exceed 30%. After that, it becomes difficult for the mixture to burn properly.

Methanol will also increase both octane and energy value, but can be dangerous as excessive volume will pop your engine. That, and it also corrodes your fuel lines.

am_izham

Oct 17, 2004
Kota Bharu
Fuel Formulas

Please note that I would NOT suggest that a person use the following fuel mixtures without considering the detrimental effects on their engine, vital engine components (O2 sensor, etc), and other potential damage. That said, the information is interesting.

Fuel Formulas
=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-=-
Original publication is:
GS-Xtra
1213 Gornto Road
Valdosta, GA 31602
(912) 244-0577

Editor: Richard Lasetter, president Gran Sport Club of America (GSCA)
The title of the original was something like "Homebrew Octane Boosters"... I
took a little license in adding some things to the article from my experiences
when I typed it in, so it isn't verbatum, but most of the info came from Rich.

Formula #1 - Toulene
=============================

R+M/2.........114
Cost...........$2.50/gal

Mixtures with 92 Octane Premiums
--------------------------------
10%...........94.2 Octanes
20%...........96.4 Octanes
30%...........98.6 Octanes

Notes: Common ingredient in Octane Boosters in a can. 12-16 ounces will only
raise octane 2-3 *points*, i.e. from 92 to 92.3. Often costs $3-5 for 12-16
ounces, when it can be purchased for less than $3/gal at chemical supply houses
or paint stores.

Formula #2 - Xylene
R+M/2.........117
Cost...........$2.75/gal

10%...........94.5 Octanes
20%...........97.0 Octanes
30%...........99.5 Octanes

Notes: Similar to Toulene. 12-16 ounces will only raise octane 2-3 *points*,
I.e. from 92 to 92.3. Usually mixed with Toulene and advertised as *race
formula*.

Formula #3 - Methyl-tertiary-butyl-ether (MTBE)
R+M/2.........118
Cost...........$3.50/gal

10%...........94.6 Octanes
20%...........97.2 Octanes
30%...........99.8 Octanes

Notes: Oxygenate. Very common in octane booster products. Has lower BTU
content than toulene or xylene, but oxygenate effect makes the gasoline burn
better and produce more energy.

Formula #4 - Methanol or Ethanol
R+M/2.........101
Cost...........$0.60 - $1.75/gal

10%...........94.3 Octanes (Methanol)
10%...........94.7 Octanes (Ethanol)
20%...........Not Recommended

Notes: Methanol is wood alcohol. Ethanol is grain alcohol and found in Gasohol
in 10% ratios. Both alcohols are mildly corrosive and will eat gas tank
linings, rubber and aluminum if used in excessive ratios. Main ingredient in
"Gas Dryers", combine with water.

Formula #5 - Isopropyl Alcohol and Tertiary Butyl Alcohol
R+M/2.........101
Cost...........$0.60-$1.50/gal

10%...........94.5 Octanes
20%...........Not Recommended
30%...........Not Recommended

Notes: Similar to Methanol/Ethanol. Isopropyl Alcohol is simply rubbing
alcohol.

How to make your own octane booster (this is the basic formula of one of the
popular octane booster products). To make eight 16 ounce bottles (128 oz = 1
gal):

100 oz of toulene for octane boost
25 oz of mineral spirits (cleaning agent)
3 oz of transmission fluid (lubricating agent)

This product is advertised as "octane booster with cleaning agent *and*
lubricating agent!". Diesel fuel or kerosene can be substituted for mineral
spirits and light turbine oil can be substituted for transmission fluid. Color
can be added with petroleum dyes.

there you go. found this at a dodge charger forum site many2 years ago. dont ask me where to get these chemicals, i dont know shit about it.

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
wow... good info.. anyone here knows where 2 get the chemical??? hehehe.. this experiment i'm gonna do it once onli.. cause dowan 2 risk my car.. hehehe..

SABAH
www.irs-asia.com
Sounds good...but if those local monster cars can tuned up to few hundred horses and they are only running with local pump fuel, I see no reason to risk our engine by mixing our own fuel...

Just my opinion. Cheers.

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
hehehe... this is just for experimental.. i wont do it now... when i going 2 convert my engine then onli i try...

jswong

Dec 30, 2004
You can get toluene from good old Ace Hardware, at the same section as methylated spirit (methanol) and other solvents. They sell toluene in a big flask.

Too bad they don't have nitric acid to go along with the toluene.

bobo

Jun 16, 2005
Klang Mali
thanks jason... anyone knows the ratio of toluene n per liter of petrol to add?? dont want to get anything wrong n kaboom...

JINEIL2EN

Sep 6, 2004
Island Of Pearl
team99ers.2.forumer.com
if u wan more easier RON 100 fuel, just buy 104 degrees Octane booster & mixed w/ any Ron 97 fuel.....maths is very important...:_:
we doing this is bcoz of some Jap tuned ecu is tuned for Ron 100 fuel only, if using 97, engine will knocking....

I just bought proton wira 1.5 sedan..

i just want to know whether wira rear lamp can convert either to evo 1, 2 and 3??

getting advice from senior.. :confused: