DIY - Fitting a fuel Cut-Off Switch to prevent Vehicle Theft

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
This is a DIY to Prevent thieves from making off with your Car. Since Car Theft is a Problem in Malaysia, This is a Sure way to confuse Criminals who prefer getting in and out Quickly.​

Installing a fuel pump cut-off switch

One of the easiest security measures someone can have in the vehicle is a fuel pump cut-off switch. Not a mechanism that is wired into your alarm, because that can still be bypassed, but an actual switch inline with your fuel pump wiring. This is not a guarantee that your car will never get stolen, but if you hide your switch (or possibly switches) well, then it might deter a would-be thief. And for less than Rm30.00 and a little bit of your time, how can you go wrong?!

I am not responsible for any damage incurred to vehicle or individual. This worked flawlessly for me, but that doesn't mean something couldn't happen to you. If you are not sure get a Qualified Auto Electrician to complete this simple Procedure.

Here is what you would need :

- 25A Automotive rocker switch (I don't recommend the lighted switches, Why would you want a light on a switch you are trying to hide):mad:

I recommend that a 25A switch be that absolute minimum you use for this application.
A relay could also be added to the Circuit if you are using a performance fuel Pump or if you prefer to be Extra Safe

18 to 14 gauge wire (the thickness of the wire is dependant on how far away you will be mounting your switch(s) from the original splice of the yel/grn wire. You can use the thinner wire if the switch is close to the point where you joined the switch) , I would recommend the Use of Primary Wire as opposed to Speaker wire , Speaker Wire is not Designed to Carry continous current , Primary wire is the wire that is used in most Automotive applications , and come in Different colours and Guages , It must be Noted that you should never use a guage of wire that is smaller than the guage fitted standard to the vehicle , When it comes to Wires , The Higher the Number the Smaller the Guage , so if your vehicle theoretically comes with 18g then do not use a 20g or 22 g (If Unsure Go to an Auto Electrical Specialist )

You can get relays at any Spare parts in the fog light section or just ask for a standard bosch 5 pin relay. You will only use 4 of the pins on the relay but usually the 5 pin version is more readily availible and usually cheaper then the four pin version. On the 5 pin you will not be using the middle pin, numbered 87A ( See Wiring Diagram )

- Crimp on butt connectors (Red) (these are useful if you don't feel like soldering, and they work just as well However Soldering is the Right way to Do this)

- Heat shrink-wrap or electrical tape

Other tools you may need​

- 10mm open-ended wrench
- Wire cutters
- Needle nose pliers or wire crimpers (for crimping the butt connectors, if you use them)

Before starting to cut wires on the car, prepare the switch.

Solder on the wire you will be using to the Switch and cut the wire to a length which is much longer than required , It can be snipped Later when everything is done. When wiring a non-lighted SPST (single pole single throw) switch, the top blade is typically the POWER side or LINE side, meaning that this is where you solder the wire that will be running from the 12V battery . The middle blade is the LOAD side of the switch. Which means this is where you would be wiring the side of the fuel pump wire that goes directly to the pump. Check out the picture to see what I am talking about. This picture shows a lighted switch (Not a Good Option ), but it's the same principal. The RED wire is what will be used for power, the BLACK wire is the one going to the fuel pump side

Before doing anything, Disconnect the battery.

This is common sense.

First we have to remove the bottom cushion of the back seat.

1. Lay the tops of seat down like you would if you were loading something in the car.(For Civic Only, Other Cars Establish where your Fuel Pump is and work from there)
2. Pull up the fabric that covers the spare tire. Pull it up enough so you can see the bottom of the back seats, like in this photo.

• Use your 10mm wrench on the single bolt in the back. It can be somewhat of a pain to get to.
• After you have that bolt removed, pull the tops of the seat back up and get inside the car.
• Pull the cushion up by the front first. You will have to lift up and pull back, as there are little hooks holding the front of the cushion in.
• After you are done you should see this:

Now Comes the Cutting and splicing of the Wires to Connect the Switch

1. Pull the little bit of carpet back if you need to, and unwrap the wires.
2. Find the YELLOW wire with a GREEN stripe

3. Cut it where ever you like.
This next part is assuming you already have your switch mounted where you like it, and the wires run.
1. Strip about 10/15mm or a little more off the ends of the wires.
2. If you are using shrink-wrap, make sure to put in on now.
3. Insert the appropriate wires into the butt connectors (SOLDERING IS A BETTER OPTION) POWER wire goes to the part of the YEL/GRN wire running up front, LOAD wire goes to the YEL/GRN wire going to the pump.
4. Then they will look like this:

If you wish to add a Relay , Use this Wiring Diagram to guide you through :

5. Now wrap up the connections neatly.
6. Put the rear cushion back in place. You might need to bump the front of it around to get the hole lined up in the back for that 10mm bolt.
Time to test. Hook the battery back up. Flip the switch to the ON position (the "|" position), and start the car up. If the car starts up that means everything is wired up correctly and nothing has blown. Now flip the switch to the OFF position (the "0" position), the car SHOULD stall out and you won't be able to start it back up with out flipping the switch back on.
If the car doesn't start with the switch in the ON position, you may have blown a fuse. Check the number Fuel Pump Fuse.
t's normally a 15A fuse, but I switched mine to a 25A just in case.

That's it. You can see how easy this can be!

It is advisable to hide the switch somewhere thats easy for you to reach but difficult for a criminal to Identify , You are only limited by your imagination. ALSO, you don't HAVE to cut the wires where I cut them. The wiring for the pump runs along the driver's side door sill, so all you would have to do is pull up some carpet to splice a wire in there, JUST REMEMBER IT'S THE YELLOW/GREEN wire! If you are feeling Unsure , Just Visit an Auto Electrician , They could wire this Up in Under 20Mins.

Hope this helps to keep a few cars safe , So next time you Park , Flip the Switch and Leave knowing that your ride will be there when you return :driver: and it will go a long way in keeping those bastard thieves guessing .

AD_EG

Apr 5, 2009
:rofl: hehehe pocket.

Bro,come over to Jb .. half teh halIa also can d ..

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
@ Pocket Rocket , I Dont mind helping you out with the wiring , Perhaps we Hook up sometime , Who can resist a Good Teh Tarik :biggrin:

@ AD_EG - cant Promise when I'll be in JB again , but if I do come around those parts I will Look you Up Bro

@ Levin818 - Good idea too , Now the Forumers have a Variety of Methods to "WIRE" the minds of those Friggin crooks

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
kudos bro!
gud DIY..but i'm really a noob in wiring..
so dun dare to try this out..hahaha!

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
Thank you Amrancharger

Since the objective of this thread is to safeguard your ride , I would suggest you get a Auto Electrical Specialist to wire this up for you , that should remove the Wiring difficulties and Safeguard your car . . . . So you get to kill 2 birds with one stone . . . :biggrin:

wfhan

Jan 9, 2004
selangor
Muhammed,
nice DIY guide, intended to do the same to my car too..
i bought an switch, but not sure is 25A or not.. (i'm also noob in wiring/soldering/electrical/etc...)
will try to snapped a pic to show u here 2moro/later if u can tell if usable or not in this application. also want to ask, what type of relay to use ar. ..... really noob here..

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
Hello Wfhan

Thanks for the Post ,The switch you need to use / Buy is called a SPST ( Single Pole Single Throw ) Automotive Rocker Switch, Or a Toggle Switch , The Amperage that your Switch can handle will be Written somewhere on the Switch itself ( See attached Photo ) , It will state 25A or whatever the Load rating for that Switch is , Try not using a switch with a Lower Rating as that Could cause trouble. ( The Rocker Switches in the Picture are all 20A, Just for Reference sake, You will need a 25A, But if you are fitting a relay , Then a 20A would work too)

You can get relays at most Sound Fitment/Accessory/Spare parts Stores, ask for a standard bosch 5 pin relay. these are Great Quality relays and come with a pre wired plug that makes it easy to connect your car wires to, but You will only use 4 of the pins on the relay but usually the 5 pin version is more readily available and usually alot cheaper then the four pin version. On the 5 pin you will not be using the middle pin, Which is Numbered 87A if I recall correctly.

If you are Unsure , Get all the Correct Parts then Head to an Auto Electrical Store / Service Centre and have them Wire up the Switch for you , If you Supply all the Hardware it Should take no Longer than 20 Mins to Connect the Switch and Should not cost more than RM30.00, This May save you alot of time

Skyfiro A32

Jun 12, 2007
hi bro,plan to do it by tmr,but not sure where is the power wire(red wire) is go where?izzit battery or any "+" terminal?

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
Hi Skyfiro A32

Thank you for the Post , as it stands now , Your car is recieving current to the Fuel pump , So in essence when you cut the wire that leads to the Pump , you are causing a break in a circuit that is already providing power , The Purpose of the Switch is to allow User control over when the Power is delivered , After cutting, the Red Wire should be connected to the cut end that runs away from the Pump , and the Black should be connected to the cut wire running towards the Fuel Pump, Then add the relay and the Switch , Mount it and you should be ok .

E-Tech

Jun 28, 2005
Johor
Another good DIY...
For those running hondas, another option is to make the cut-off switch
at the wire to the ECU. Merit are, you do not need long wires & relay is not required.
The ECU control many things, 1 of them is the FUEL PUMP RELAY (FPR)..

Just cut the Yellow/black wire and put the switch in between the wires.
Pls "search" if you need your cars ecu "pin out"....
For hondas..... FPR/FLR- OBD1 (A07 of the 26pin connector) yellow/black
OBD2A/OBD2B (A16 of the 32 pin connector) green/yellow wire.

Making life difficult for car theifs....DO NOT forget, they could always TOW the car away..

Muhammed

Sep 2, 2009
www.dezignercustoms.com
Another good DIY...
For those running hondas, another option is to make the cut-off switch
at the wire to the ECU. Merit are, you do not need long wires & relay is not required.
The ECU control many things, 1 of them is the FUEL PUMP RELAY (FPR)..

Just cut the Yellow/black wire and put the switch in between the wires.
Pls "search" if you need your cars ecu "pin out"....
For hondas..... FPR/FLR- OBD1 (A07 of the 26pin connector) yellow/black
OBD2A/OBD2B (A16 of the 32 pin connector) green/yellow wire.

Making life difficult for car theifs....DO NOT forget, they could always TOW the car away..
This May be another Good option but only for those Brave enough to Try it , You may not need long wires or a relay , But if Done the wrong way then you could Potentially Fry your ECU , Which would result in a Very Expensive Replacement , The Risk you run by doing it the other way is Simply Burning a Fuse , which will be less costly to replace , But then again if they tow the car , then none of this will help

---------- Post added at 12:54 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:52 AM ----------

damn muhammed
YOU ARE SO GREAT AT DIT!!!
gonna rate you the DIT king of ZTH!!!
Thank you Very much , If this helps to Save even one members car , then I would be the Happiest person on the Forum ;-)

hi guys
anyone using these PU foams in the car??..
i am just wondering how many brands are there out there?..whats the different between the expensive and cheap one...

heard expensive ca go up to RM600 per car..while some around RM100 ..

anyone have any comment of this?