DIY cool air vent

Booze

Jan 6, 2004
My bed room "on da BED"
www.defcon.org
Did anyone tried to DIY a cool air vent before?
like those advertise in newspaper. It is suppose to cool down the cabin tempreture when the car is park under the hot sun.

-Does it drain the battery?

-How effective is it? (how much the tempreture in the cabin is reduce)

-Can insect craw in the cabin through the vent?

-How much does it cost to DIY. the market product cost around RM200 right?

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Let me help reply your thread :

Did anyone tried to DIY a cool air vent before?
:::: YES

-Does it drain the battery?
:::: YES, Minimal.

-How effective is it? (how much the tempreture in the cabin is reduce)
:::: Just a bit. Almost like Leaving both the front windows down during parking.

-Can insect craw in the cabin through the vent?
:::: They didn't claim anything. But logically.. Yes.

-How much does it cost to DIY. the market product cost around RM200 right?
:::: DIY Cost, Estimately RM 50 the most. (If solar powered.. RM 80).

Booze

Jan 6, 2004
My bed room "on da BED"
www.defcon.org
Thanks for the info.
Can u tell me how to DIY it?
-Did u drill a hole in ur car, or just use the air-con vent as the air vent.
-What type of motor did u use, the 12v Pc fan can ar?
-Do need to ON the thing or it will auto ON when the cabin is hot?
-Solar... very interesting, where get the right solar panel and where to fix it?

Thanks JL

evan2000

yeah....good topic....our DIY gang should be able to solve this....

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by Booze@Jan 28 2004, 08:28 AM
Thanks for the info.
Can u tell me how to DIY it?
-Did u drill a hole in ur car, or just use the air-con vent as the air vent.
-What type of motor did u use, the 12v Pc fan can ar?
-Do need to ON the thing or it will auto ON when the cabin is hot?
-Solar... very interesting, where get the right solar panel and where to fix it?

Thanks JL
I never really make it to full use for my DIY because it is a bit troublesome as I did not install it properly. Only DIY to test and learn...

Well there are a few ways to can do it.

FIRST Way. Cheap, Fast and easy. (If your Cigg Lighter 12Volt plug is ON when engine is OFF)

- Get a 12Volt PC Fan
- Get an old Car Handphone charger.
- Cut away the Plug Jack for the phone charging.
- Wire in the 12 Volt fan.
- Make a braket using alluminium to hang the fan on your window.
- When locking the car, leave a 2 inch gap on the front windows
- Hang your fan there to BLOW OUT hot air from the car.

::: If your cig lighter 12Volt plug is ON only car engine is ON. Then you need to tap the power source from your Fuse Box.. and add a switch. :::

---------

Second way. Professional, costly and neat.

- Install 2 X 12volt fan in the Air Con fresh air intake. (These vent the outside air into your car when you switch your aircon dial to FRESH AIR)
- Make sure the fan are SUCKING air IN (Not blowing out)
- Wire it to remote powersource and switch.
- WHen you lock your car, remember to turn your air con vent to FRESH and then turn on the fan.. and also windon your window a bit. (1inch from each window)
- You will feel air coming in..

----------

WARNING !!!
DO not leave the FAN ON for days.. Drains minimal power.. But 3 days continuous is not good for the battery..

evan2000

King of DIY......so how about the solar powered?? then it wont drain the battery power loh.... :lol:

But where to get the solar cell ah?? and how ah??

Another thing, about those aftermarket moedl(ecovent) they vent out the heat thru the edge of the car.....(i means the place like door edge, boot edge)

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by evan2000@Jan 28 2004, 11:28 AM
King of DIY......so how about the solar powered?? then it wont drain the battery power loh.... :lol:

But where to get the solar cell ah?? and how ah??

Another thing, about those aftermarket moedl(ecovent) they vent out the heat thru the edge of the car.....(i means the place like door edge, boot edge)
Solar Powered.. Yeah.. Nearly forgot this one..

Ok.. You can purchase Solar Power Experimental Kit from Electronic Shop... You might be needing 2 pieces to generate enuf power.

And you also need to find for 3V - 6V Fans for this purpose.

The Solar Power Kit will come with it's own circuit to generate and amplify power to be strong enuf to turn the fan. If it doesn't, you might need to find / burn an additional circuit to amplify the power source.

Wiring will be the same.

Booze

Jan 6, 2004
My bed room "on da BED"
www.defcon.org
Thanks man
I think i'll try the "Second way. Professional, costly and neat."

one more question

y is that?

QiW

Jan 6, 2004
still got to leave windows opened 1 or 2 inch meh ??? if hot hot weather then suddenly rain die laa ?? its always nice to come back to a cool car ... but damm afraid to leave 1-2 inch gap on the windows laa .. :D
just my tots ..

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by Booze@Jan 28 2004, 01:36 PM
Thanks man
I think i'll try the "Second way. Professional, costly and neat."

one more question

y is that?
Strange... I have replied a lengthy post.. then it disappeared ? hmm.. nevermind.. I will post again.

-----

Why "SUCKING air IN". It is because Hot are are lighter than cold air. So, the hotter air will flow to the top and then forced out of the windows becuase of the increase pressure and air volumn blown in by the Fan Sucking the outside air into the cabin.

The reason why the window units are mounted to Flow the hot air out is the same reason. Hot air will be channeled out and the decreaseing pressure in the car will suck cold air into the car.

johnsonlam

DIY King
Balik Pulau, KL
Originally posted by QiW@Jan 28 2004, 02:50 PM
still got to leave windows opened 1 or 2 inch meh ??? if hot hot weather then suddenly rain die laa ?? its always nice to come back to a cool car ... but damm afraid to leave 1-2 inch gap on the windows laa .. :D
just my tots ..
Most car's nowadays have Rain Shield on the windows.

Normally even without this DIY device, most people will leave 1 - 2 inch down. rain will not pour in. But I came accross a bad storm with strong wind ones. A few drops of water managed to be blown in and wet my seats.

No worries about it.

surf2004

Dec 13, 2004
I DIY mine on Vios using 12V 0.12A PC fan.

Used 8 X C size batteries.

The air blowing into the cabin is rather weak.

Any other feedback from those who DIY ?

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
well... i'm a very satisfied user of E-Vent....

my comments here is. go get the real thing... it cost me rm388 + rm50 installation... worth de money..

if u only using good tinted film also kenot fight this product when u park under de hot sun...

well its works perfectly.. no need to put down window.. u may open a bit to let de air escape faster... this thing here sucks in air using ur car blower (with ur aircon vent OPEN) then push out those hot air tru microscopic holes...

it has a circuit to cut off de power when ur car batt has just de right current to start ur car.. n it will also cut off by itself it u park ur car more than one day... so no worries of batt dying... used for more than a year liao...

B)

guys, don't buy if u bump into these items:

1. sard EL boost meter
2. Greddy EGT meter without sensor
3. M's electronic boost controller without the relay
4. Sony cd player XDC L470