DIY Change Absorber Or Spring

ken12292703

Drives a shopping cart...
SoMeWhErE
:) If you compressed the spring then you don't need to use that bucket. :lol:

To remove the nut above, you wil notice a small hole at the upper spring tray. Put in a strong nail or something strong. I put alan key because i was lazy to go find a nail. The purpose of this is to counter the force to open up the nut above.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Yellow colour - upper mount
cyan colour - tray

Use some cow force and you wll be able to open it.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
I tried both of the methods.

For the WITHOUT COMPRESSING THE SPRING METHOD,

1) put the bucket into sleep position
2) direct your top absorber to the mouth of the bucket closely in sleep position also
3) remove the nut and PING! the top mount and the tray will bounce into the bucket. Don't worry about the nut. It will be sticking at your socket spanner.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
To install the sport spring,

Pull the shaft of the absorber so that it will be at the longest state. The shinning thing ahh. :) And place your spring.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Put some grease at the bearings and cover the cap. :) Replace it like how you took it out and IT'S DONE! :lol:

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE
Drive your car to correct your alignment and it's done. This APM sportec lowered my 1.3 proton satria until 1 finger cleareance between the tyre and the fender for the front. :) The back i leave it stock because i don't like the car to look like a boat. :lol: Just joking.

Thank you for the www.zerotohundred.com member who sold me this set of spring.

The most important is; thank you to my beloved gf that took the pictures because my hands are damn dirty. :)

Conclusion;

COST - RM5+- for the compressor and if buy tools also nevermind as i like to collect them. Drink plain water with ice lahh, no need to buy 100PLUS.

TIME - depends on how fast you can do it.

RESULTS - i am not using it for racing, it's for the lowered look and quite comfortable. Make your hands dirty for a few days. You can't remove 100% in one day.

ken12292703

SoMeWhErE

fstrader Posted: Oct 4 2004, 11:19

wahhh ken, i wanna change back to original springs wor...can help kah? muahahhahaha

nice job.

Can can can fstrader tai korr. Drive to malacca and we do together. Change back to original liao larr? Leaving the modfication world? Sad :(

ksgoh

May 19, 2004
Kedah/Penang
Originally posted by ken12292703@Oct 4 2004, 12:10

fstrader Posted: Oct 4 2004, 11:19 

wahhh ken, i wanna change back to original springs wor...can help kah? muahahhahaha 

nice job.

Can can can fstrader tai korr. Drive to malacca and we do together. Change back to original liao larr? Leaving the modfication world? Sad :(
i want too.....can help?? :P

badguy

Jun 15, 2004
can teach how to do the "COMPRESSOR"??
wat we need to buy and wat to do after buying!!
i also plan to change the absorbar

need to realign the chamber of it is it??

GForce

Sep 16, 2004
where is the bearings located? and how it looks?

anyway, thanks alot for your DIY guides!!!

hi there sifu...

if lets say i wanna change my engine block to a higher cc.. must i change my air filter and intercooler to a bigger size ones??..will the engine be very hot??
thx!!