DIY - CAI for Saga LMST stock filter box

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Yesterday came back from work in the morning, couldn't sleep, rolled here and there on the bed. Until 11:45AM finally decided to start DIY CAI.

Here is the link..

http://ahhzen.fotopic.net/c563278.html

Finish at 4PM, tired, thirsty, sleepy + eyes pain, backache..But felt really good.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
i got it from ninja_iga....

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
wah... nice job man!!! but when i c ur superlon wrapping de stock air intake hose a little crude lar... mayb u wrap it terbalik... where join superlon joint is at de bottom... then it will look much nicer...

anyway.. nicely done!

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Thanks man

Yea...that one was simply done because i just want to shield the heat coming from engine part mar..the bottom is completely wrapped.

platipus_85

Apr 29, 2005
huhu,nice work..thinking of doing that too but dun ave time n money..can ask u jawyat..wat is the purpose of tapping pcv???can give clearer picture??cannot c so much.. :)

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Got 2 things there le.

1 for the microcompressor, another for vacuum meter.

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
jaywat,

ur front scoop... if wanto take it to extreme.... de shape is not suitable i think... it will occur a starvation situation where de air is not flowing into de hose smoothly...

u should use an bell mouth instead.. de curve is terbalik from ur "scoop"

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
Actually the DIY turn out a little different than what i expected lo..i planned to face scoop mouth more perpendicular to the grill, so the air can directly ram into the hose, but due to the hardness of flexi hose and limited space between the grill and car body, i'm force to adjust it facing side abit.

Second thing, the skin and structure of the hose actually make the hose wider than i think. So my plan to stuff the hose through fender there didn't work out, the hole at the fender is 2.5 inches only.. so what i do is using an 2 inches pipe to interconnect the flexi hose in engine bay and the hose at the bottom. So in the process of cold air intake, i expect lost of some amount of cold air. Since this CAI is mean for high speed cruising, so i think the cold air still can easily reach the air filter box.

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
u don't scare the hose will bend when got high pressure???

khguan

Aug 17, 2004
Seri Kembangan
fotopic.net
huh?? bend when high pressure?? wat u mean??

when high pressure it will be straight....just like a baloon!! like my hose is working very well on my car.. :)

jaywat

Jan 9, 2005
yea...i got what u mean already..

I choose to use 4age sivlertop with addition of turbo charger. How to take good care of this type of combination. plz give advice:driver: