d'carbonize treatment..

NSkyline

Jul 2, 2005
Subang Jaya
3M got automotive product meh??? where u buy??

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
mengz : only fuel injection cars can use that 3M fuel injector cleaner right?

i dont think its suitable for carb cars?

ndselvam

May 20, 2006
Well for carb cars - i m a carb user - i user carb cleaner spray from STP/1top bought in eonos cost bou rm 20 or less -- I spray on the carb and to vaccuum hose inlet - when i did top overhaul because my gasket need to be changed - the pistong was clean - i do this every 10000 km h once --DIY - cost rm 20 - works for me ---

Thre is spray type - one for all usage- and another type is spray and liquid form -

So far my engine is good - very smooth - mileage per full tank 45L petrol i get bout 470-500 kmh

GNandGS

Feb 24, 2006
If you use a lot of spray on a carb, let it evap before starting but dont let it sit for days... carb cleaner (spray) can leave a gummy "film" behind if used in large amounts. Dont forget the linkage!

Not endorsing any particular brand here but STP has a nice description of their products here: STP® - Fuel Additives

NSkyline

Jul 2, 2005
Subang Jaya
yeah....stp/1top/abro/crc/ and the list goes on.....sigh...dont know which one should i get....

mie77

Mar 6, 2005
1.Anyone heard or tried "Blue Coral" brand of fuel system treatment/cleaner?
2.How bout Pennzoil's endorsed by Dale Earnhart..??
3.For those using 3M's fuel injector cleaner,hows de effectiveness?how many treatment do u need to "feel" the difference..??

I've been surveying around for a fuel injector cleaner for my 3 year old Proton GEN2 but here in Kota Kinabalu Sabah kinda hard to get a reputable brand like Redline,LubeGuard,3M...got those cheapo unknown brands a lot la but hard to trust the "claims" on the labels man...

Cheers!!!

NSkyline

Jul 2, 2005
Subang Jaya
I've heard of blue coral...is a brand under Shell company in Europe....planning to get the radiator flush....3M?? didnt know they are into automobile..Pennzoil been around for long long time liao....wanna clean your injectors?? best is to do it manual one by one...lots of dismantling la...

GNandGS

Feb 24, 2006
Injectors have to be pretty bad to "feel" any changes. The cleaning that you do is a preventative thing.

One way to help cut down on crap in your injectors is to not drive the car til the tank is on fumes, another is to keep the tank full if not driving the car (extended periods might need something like staybil also). Change your fuel filter!

I think many people put too much emphasis on inj cleaning. Fuels are so much better than they used to be. I would recommend once a year or so (or so = every other year) adding an additive to the tank - pick your poison... brand is secondary IMO. Heck, you can even make some homebrew cleaner if you want with Toluene.

mie77

Mar 6, 2005
GNandGS,
Good advice ther bro!"Preventive Maintenance",yup, thats de key word here which i'm tryin to do for my ride,to keep her in pristine condition...thats y i'm tryin to source the most effective cleaner for my engine fuel system,stuff that works as claimed!
NSyline,
To dismantle n clean yr injectors need specialist skills+equipment bro,cos yr injectors are "precisely engineered" items,cos if u "screwed up" the calibrated orifice while doin "maintenance/servicing" on it,then u better buy a new one bro cos yr engine wont be running smoothly+efficiently after that..;-)

Cheers!!!

NSkyline

Jul 2, 2005
Subang Jaya
Bro...Mie...i cant agree more....but you know....there are tons of ways N methods that people are making money out of our car....so which methods are viable?? i dont know....well....is all up to us....

kk13

Oct 29, 2005
yeah too many choices now days

mengz

Jan 15, 2005
nskyline, yes 3M has automotive products....a whole wide range of it actually. from interior cleaning,restoration to maintenance and also exterior cleaning, restoration and maintenance. i have alot of 3M automotive products as my dad works in 3M. i think 3M did advertise their fuel system cleaner on Hypertune for a few issue's. price and where to get i really have no idea but i can always ask my dad who their distributor or dealers are. i dunno why 3M automotive products not very famous here in malaysia though.....i see alot of ppl using 3M products in overseas forums.

and yea, i use Redex too....my club member's company used to print the labels for Redex...and he got very cheap for a few boxes. so i bought a few bottles and use. pretty much the same ler i would say.

nitrus

Nov 14, 2005
mengz , there is a decarbonizing product from 3M ? how much?

guys.. need your help and opinion..

can fto dashboard fit satria or not? have u heard about it? ok or not ??i heard that evo4 dashbord can fit wira with some mod..but how bout fto... i want to try la...:shades_smile: