compression calculation

aarion

Dec 24, 2003
Hi, i was wondering how to calculate compression ratio. My current na is running on 15:1 compression and i planning to turbo charged it. I'm using a standard 1mm gasket.

If i use a 2mm metal head gasket, how much will the compression be reduced? Please give me some light into this matter. Thank you.

Joeker

Walking Dead
Nov 19, 2003
Jinjang
To calculate Static compression ratio, need to know the block's bore, stroke and head's dome volume.

Or

Do it manually at workshop using a pc of glass panel and brake fluid,

Formula, (c + hv) / hv

Eg.

Piston@BDC, 500ml, being c.

Head's dome + head gasket, 50ml, being hv.

(500 + 50) / 50 = 11

Therefore, static compression is 11 : 1

BTW, your compression 15 : 1? CI engine?

aarion

Dec 24, 2003
i'm running a 4g93p block with Mivec head. Using 4g92p high comp pistons.

bore will be 82 and stroke is 89. but don't have the dome volume.

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
i'm running a 4g93p block with Mivec head. Using 4g92p high comp pistons.

bore will be 82 and stroke is 89. but don't have the dome volume.
15:1 is not ur compression ratio....tat is ur compression test results!I think if u use the 4g92p piston on a 1.8block...the CR should be around 11.X:1

CarroTT

Nov 9, 2006
waaaaarr, 15:1 , engine diesel arr ? :adore:

here is a very useful tool that i use frequently,
Engine Calculator...

15 bar izzit ? :hmmmm:
at wat rpm ?

wira_tak_laju

Dec 16, 2006
if i am not mistaken..depends on which 92 piston u r running..3 version of 92pistons..92d-h frm local 1.6,92d-e frm 92 dohc non mivec and 92d-v frm mivec...since u turbochrging,why not use ur 93 pistons as its alredy 10.5.1 ratio..then either 1.5mm or 1.8mm to reduce the compression for safe application

cooljas

Jan 24, 2005
if i am not mistaken..depends on which 92 piston u r running..3 version of 92pistons..92d-h frm local 1.6,92d-e frm 92 dohc non mivec and 92d-v frm mivec...since u turbochrging,why not use ur 93 pistons as its alredy 10.5.1 ratio..then either 1.5mm or 1.8mm to reduce the compression for safe application
Bro, u got the codes wrong......92d-h is from 1.6dohc non mivec, 92s-h is from 1.6sohc(local), 92d-v from mivec.......

Well for those who've grown up watching Japanese car videos from the gigantic Option group, like their all-time favourite Best Motoring seasons, Hot Version and the ever popular D1 Grand Prix Championship series, you've probably forgotten how interesting Japanese commentators can be.

Especially during climatic moments of the D1 GP heats, where the words Obunai (danger) and Sugoi (cool) are being...