colour fading

theorekz

Mar 29, 2005
hiztorikal.c.t.
my car is a Dark Grey Iswara A/B... it hasnt went trough polish for the past 4 yrs... Recently i polish n wax it with Turtlewax product...

under strong sunlight(evening), my car seems like got 2 colour..... a faded grey colour on the body... a darker(more to original) on the rubber spoiler behind..
The difference quite significant...

is there any product that can really restore the colour?

btw, polishing the car too much will skim off the paintwork ar??
thx :biggrin:

prodigy

I'm no car care specialist but logically, once you notice the paint work has faded, i'd say the only way to bring back the original shine is to go for a car repaint. A car polish/wax can only help to bring out the shine and prolong the process of paint fading but it certainly won't help to restore a badly faded paint. Which is why upkeeping is very important. I'd say a normally driven car should at least go for a thorough polish twice a year.

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
erm... no idea. haven try polish under hot situation...

but u can seek Dr.Dent advise... wan his number?

alex962

Jun 19, 2005
Jay Bee
Autoglym Products

Yo dude just wanna intro a good shampoo for ur babe it's not that costly...anyone here heard about Autoglym???it's a prefect product if u dun blieve try it....instant results man..i bought the car conditioner, resin polishx2, and a sealant all total up 4 only for rm90...quite cheap rite cant get it outside this price...loc JB

gloss

May 23, 2005
SJ
i thought now topic is on color fading? n ways to recover it?

ehehehe..

theorekz

Mar 29, 2005
hiztorikal.c.t.
hmm.... i'm still a student(lagi-lagi form6).... cant afford new paint work... if discuss with parents sure kena 1.....

looks like the only thing i can do now is to prolong the fading by waxing it right??
anyway, thx for the reply..
:D

lude

theorekz,

if ur in kl, u could check out swissol in hartamas.. was refered there by another zth member.. the guy there could give u some advice on what they can do..

bought my car 2 months ago and have some ugly faded looking spots.. took it to swissol and was told that these spots can be removed.. the prices are also quite reasonable..

just my 2 cents.. no harm trying to get an expert's opinion

lude

volvo850 said:
hey bro,

how much did u pay to the swissol's guy?. thanx mann :biggrin:
he quoted me rm150 for the "stain removal" and it takes about 4 hours..

LilKeV84

Feb 7, 2005
Subang Jaya
has the car been baking under the sun all the time?

if it has and you haven waxed your car for so many years, most probably the clear coat is gone and ur paint faded as an effect. if its true clear coat is gone, no other choice but to repaint. can't spray just clear coat on it (that's y its very important to protect it =) )

if u wanna try out, u can try and get those color restorer, found some in places selling those car care stuff. no gurrantees though =)

good luck!

VW Golf R finally arrives! Passat CC R-line also revealed!

We waited, and waited, and the wait is now finally over. It is official - the Golf R has finally landed on our shores! Just to quickly go through the stats once more: 2.0L turbo mated to a 6-speed DSG box, 255PS and 330Nm, 4MOTION all-wheel drive system, Adaptive Chassis Control (DCC)...