Clean headlights with toothpaste

aalto

Dec 31, 2004
Found this in Youtube....

Haven't tried this, (due to just changed my headlamps to glass)...
but it seems good...& can really save you some cash...

Headlight Lens Restore using Toothpaste! - YouTube

Code:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2lZ96BXoT10" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Gonna have the mint smell on the headlamps :rofl:

Seems good using whitening type...will try after checking out how long my headlamp will last with the headlamp polish i used previously...

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
i tink its time for me to try this on my myvi headlamps too...
it already start showing oxidation badly...

amrancharger

Jul 19, 2006
Bro Amrancharger,

I think I also want to try it out this weekend...

Do you think we better wash it first with GLO dishwashing detergent?

What do you think if we do 3 layers? :listen:

Final touch with a coat of paint sealant etc? :confused::love:
i am no pro in car detailing.
washing it with normal car shampoo will do for me.
mayb using the dishwashing detergent will give better cleansing on the plasticky headlamps?
can try...hahaha....

btw, wat kind of paint sealant r u referring to?

I've tried dishwasher detergent on my car for quite sometime and so far nothing bad happen yet hehe.will try this toothpaste on the headlamp later on
Best not continue, is like using dishwashing detergent on our hair. :rofl:
Logically it makes sense. :smile: just my 2 cents...
this really depends on car owners.
i have friends, neighbour using even clothing powder soap.
they say it works...but i dun dare to try on my car...
i love the factory paint too much... :listen:

i am no pro in car detailing.
washing it with normal car shampoo will do for me.
mayb using the dishwashing detergent will give better cleansing on the plasticky headlamps?
can try...hahaha....

btw, wat kind of paint sealant r u referring to?

this really depends on car owners.
i have friends, neighbour using even clothing powder soap.
they say it works...but i dun dare to try on my car...
i love the factory paint too much... :listen:
Yup, I dare not try either...

Please stick back to topic...not discussing detergent eh...

Headlamps are just plastic. With a cutting compound you'll just reduce the thickness of the headlamp. Dishwashing liquid will work in cleaning it but I would advise against paintwork. It'll eat into the clearcoat and eventually it'll expose the base coat and bye bye paintjob. True story for me.

Sifu have spoken...so is a no no on detergents on paint but is quite alright on headlamps.
Still toothpaste, I might gonna try using the whitening type :biggrin:

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Detergent...is very acidic / alkaline.cant remember which, but it is strong. That's why it can be used to remove stubborn stains. It will eat into your paint effortlessly.

For plastic headlamp, nowadays got headlamp polish & plastic polish. If the headlamp already yellow and/or peeling then better use 2000 grit sandpaper to sand down then polish back with plastic polish

BEWARE IF YOU PLANNING TO GET A PERFORMANCE CAR FROM JB. The story starts...A week before Chinese New Year I've viewed a car, Nissan Skyline R30 hatchback, year 1984 in JB, very rare model with turbo S15 engine . After view the condition of the car and test drive (just sit beside), I've decided to buy the car and pay the deposit. I have asked the seller to do the arrangement to change the ownership and do the endorsement for the new engine that he has changed.

After waited for nearly 1.5...