Civic 1.7: Why buy new headlamps when you can restore them?

DarkAccoon

To all Detailen Fans,

I was given the opportunity to restore an oxidized headlamps of a Civic. It was a whacko day as I had to rush back from Melaka for this restoration only to discover later that the owner was in Melaka as well. Not to mention the temperature today is like..... hell on earth.

Without further delay, i present to you......

Today's patient

Previously wet sanded by the owner using 2000 grit sandpaper and hand polished with Soft99 something......(sorry ya, i forgot.) Can still see that the sanding mark is visible

After operation "give me my sight back"

Nice leh.... gloss leh.... shiny leh....

Inspired by Fishy's shot... i gotta do this too

This is what was done, wet sanding using muscle power.
Started with 1500 grit then followed by 2000 grit. ONR as lube and Osren Bubble&Wax as cleaner.

Compounded with Optimum Double Sided Wool Pad + Optimum Hyper Compound (2 - 3 passes)
Polished to a brilliant shine using Optimum Double Sided Foam Pad + Optimum Hyper Polish (enough passes to ensure no more lines.)
Both headlamps were then given the Opti-Seal treatment.

Car was later washed with Osren Bubble and Wax. (yeah, i sorta dusted the entire car with the compound and wool, so its only common courtesy to clean it up rite.)

Sun was setting by the time we were done.

Time spend: 3.5hours (inclusive of washing the car)
Satisfaction level: High but after being praised by the owner it became SUPER HIGH
Products used today: OHP, OHC, Opti-Seal. Osren B&W, ONR

Some tutorial:
- Always sand softly... dun use force as it might create deeper than wanted lines.
- Always sand one direction - makes polishing it off way easier
- Always lube between your paper and the plastic
- ONR is a damn good lube.

Any comments (good or bad) is much appreciated.

V53

Aug 7, 2011
The headlamps being restore back like a new one.....Awesome job!

seech

Jan 21, 2007
Awesome job! Now all you need is OptiCoat or OptiCoat 2.0 to make it permanent!

s1tl

Jul 13, 2010
Ipoh/KL
sifu seech is so right!

DarkAccoon

awesome job. it made my day!
Glad you love the end results. Enjoy your renew sight and hopefully the lights shine brighter on the ground too.

The headlamps being restore back like a new one.....Awesome job!
Thank you for your kind words.

Awesome job! Now all you need is OptiCoat or OptiCoat 2.0 to make it permanent!
Yeah, that was the only thing missing in my arsenal of products and tools...... besides a flex. kaka.

sifu seech is so right!
Sifu Seech is always right :)

Interesting.. I have a mythbuster coming up related to this. Minus the scary sanding not meant for the noob like me. :biggrin:

DarkAccoon

Izso: Can't wait to see your mythbuster series. Love the un-bias reviews.

Just too bad I don't have a rotary to try...:(

DarkAccoon

Superb!

The car does not need spectacles! eyes restored:biggrin:
Ini macam laser surgery d

Just too bad I don't have a rotary to try...:(
you can have a test run of a rotary in KC's clinic before deciding to get one. Its a real must have tool for the more hardcore detailers

if u need an experiment subject, I would like to offer my satria neo cps (white)...... :-)
=), i got a few offer to experiment on their cars d. keke.

i must learn detailing too....
Danz, jangan cakap saja, come come, kita sama sama manusia, 2 tangan, 2 kaki, passion untuk kereta, mesti boleh wan.

Something rather interesting about the future of tyres.

Michelin plans to make all of its tyres with recycled, renewable, biosourced materials and go 100% sustainable by 2050. In this video, it shows in brief the materials and processes involved to achieve that.

In 2017, Michelin introduced the VISION Concept tyre which featured an...