Career change - noob mechanic

mechdreams

Jan 28, 2014
Dear ZTH,

I realised a few years back that I am in the wrong field as my passion lies elsewhere. That does not mean I hate my current job and not doing well. In fact, I joined this MNC since I graduated and now I have a group of people working under me and to manage (I'm in my 6th year here). And yes, I'm earning quite an OK figure here, at least based on my standards. I am married with two kids and my other half is also working and earning quite OK - again, based on our standards. I am 29 years old this year.

It's the quiet period of the year for my company and I had the time to think about my career path and future, and then it struck me: Before I got married, I considered quitting my job and pursuing an automotive course but did not follow through as my priorities were different back then. And now, that thought is back and I am more than serious to find out where will it lead me to.

I have deep interest working on cars. I used to do some DIY at home with my first car, only to be limited by specialised knowledge and proper tools. It was tough and hard work but I really did enjoy getting all hands-on and my hands dirty. Most importantly, the satisfaction of getting the job done was priceless. As years went by, the family grew and time with them has become more important so I changed to a better car and spend less time DIY-ing. I'm quite sure in time, I will get bored of my desk job and will become a zombie - day in, day out like nobody's business.

Now, after all of the above, I am considering a career change -- starting from scratch and diving straight to the deep end of the pool. I have no relevant qualifications nor solid experience in automotive but I believe my passion and deep interest for cars will provide me the drive that I need to thrive similarly to an automotive graduate in 2-3 years.

I am fully aware of the deep pay cut I have to manage and I am fully aware that I will be considered a noob with only SPM that will probably earn me RM1200 a month at most. My family fully supports whatever I decide as long as it makes me happy and we believe that will take me far even with the very late start.

The two most important questions I have are:

1. Will any decent workshop take this b*stard in? :P
2. Is there a long term future in this line of work? We are prepared to suffer for a few years while I learn from scratch.

I did my research but feedback from you guys are invaluable. Let me hear your honest thoughts and feel free to shoot at will if you think this is stupid.

cvkit17

Mar 20, 2012
Dude, I guess many share the same thought with you. But the problem is that you are in Malaysia and the cost of living is rising sky high. You want to provide the best for your wife and children and at the same time enjoy some little leisure from your earnings. With limited knowledge on repairing cars, you'll have a very hard time surviving because your initial may not even be 30-40% of what you are getting now. And skilled workers need to climb a very steep ladder to get to a comfortable income because you need experience, years of it.

Dont get me wrong as I'm not trying to shatter your dream. You dont hate your current job which means it is good because you actually can continue working on the current job and at the same time pursue things that makes you happy. Since your current job is paying you good, why not save or invest the $$ for more return? When you have the capital, you might want to do a small business as extra income source so you wont be relying on one source. Then, you can pursue the things you want without suffering a huge lost in income. The problem is that you are already 29. At this age it feels like you are neither here nor there. Plus, you have a family to support.

I want to congratulate you for signing up for ZTH because you can get to know many people here who have one common interest i.e. cars. So alternatively you can learn a lot of things here...get to know more people...join us for TT...join us for DIT...etc etc. You will find the priceless happiness like you were doing DIY last time. And mind you, these events are stress free because you are not bound to a customer or your boss in repairing or servicing the car. Many of us are no experts in car..."one mountain is higher than another". But I believe we share the same reasons to be happy - discover some new things with your car or any other cars and can always do something stupid and fun. Cheers bro.

Yup, starting out at 29 and into something that you are not good at, will be tough. Many friends I know are working in something that they don't actually like, but then it provides for the family.
I was also in an office job like you managing a department myself and I too was in love with automotive stuff but just kept it as a hobby.
No to pour cold water on your dream, but please do calculate properly before deciding.....

yes, I agree with the rest, all of us have our dreams but in Malaysia its difficult to make your dreams come true :biggrin:
summore u have a family, I suggest just keep your day job & like unker vr2 said keep your automotive interest as a hobby.

desmond0318

May 31, 2013
The age for starting as noob mechanic should be around 14-20, the market's salary for experienced forman also 3-4k only even thought they had 10/20/30 years of experience.. While those works at halfcut would be higher if company wants them to go oversea.

mechdreams

Jan 28, 2014
Don't worry about shattering dreams and pouring cold water etc. Even though it's something close to my heart, I'm very objective about this and will not follow through unless I can really see the path.

Sure, if I look to continue to provide to my family as I am doing now, this idea sucks like hell and I am very well aware of that. Financially, I did some planning and we are in a pretty good shape to get through it for a few years but based on cvkit17's comments, it will take longer than that if I don't know my stuff, in which yes, will be a real problem if it goes on for over 5 years. After that few replies, I can see where this is going. :)

I do have plans to own my own business in this field in the future as I also enjoy the managing part of it. When the time comes, I'm willing to invest but that's putting more things at stake rather than just taking a pay cut and work your way up.

By this point, I think you can tell that I do have my plans even though from the face of it, it looks like I just want to do what I enjoy. :P

I don't know how to sum our opinions here in writing but I get your point and it seems clear to me that I will have to sought other means to get that satisfaction. It's hard when it's not about money isn't it? But that's how the world rolls.

Please continue giving feedback. I'm enjoying the healthy discussion.

maybe if u cant fulfill your dreams let your son do it for u. when he grows up send him to automotive school,
u could open your own part time business & sell car stuffs online.

Join the TTs organized across the country. Its even more interesting haha
Not as good as the DIT we do, right?.....:biggrin:

Yup, we go further and have Do It Together TT where we repair, detail and/or service our cars. And that is where we let our interest loose....:driver:

mechdreams

Jan 28, 2014
maybe if u cant fulfill your dreams let your son do it for u. when he grows up send him to automotive school,
LOL that's tempting but I don't think it's good to impose my dreams on him but I made a promise to myself to give him the guidance that he needs to avoid the mistakes that I did.

Cannot leh! What if son not interested like mine, but my daughter is.....hahahaha:rofl:

---------- Post added at 10:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

LOL that's tempting but I don't think it's good to impose my dreams on him but I made a promise to myself to give him the guidance that he needs to avoid the mistakes that I did.
Yup, must let him decide but can influence.....
Like my son we find he loves computer but he decide to do engineering, but in the end back to computer....:driver:

mechdreams

Jan 28, 2014
Cannot leh! What if son not interested like mine, but my daughter is.....hahahaha:rofl:
LOL well, passion transcends gender. :)

Like my son we find he loves computer but he decide to do engineering, but in the end back to computer....:driver:
That's great. At least he gets to go back, not like us. :P

(I did not realise you are that old, uncle :rofl:)

---------- Post added at 10:56 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 10:54 AM ----------

either one is good enuf...:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 11:04 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:02 AM ----------

let your daughter modify your vr4, change turbine, bigger pistons etc... your son will calculate the size of pistons needed, how much mm need to korek your block, tune your ecu etc etc.....

u just goyang kaki while drinking coffee & watch your kids tune your ride :biggrin:

LOL well, passion transcends gender. :)

That's great. At least he gets to go back, not like us. :P

(I did not realise you are that old, uncle :rofl:)
Haha...Yup, A lot call me unker here.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 11:16 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 11:10 AM ----------

let your daughter modify your vr4, change turbine, bigger pistons etc... your son will calculate the size of pistons needed, how much mm need to korek your block, tune your ecu etc etc.....

u just goyang kaki while drinking coffee & watch your kids tune your ride :biggrin:
Son no interest at all leh! Program his computer then yes....hahahaha:biggrin:

Daughter see whether got interest in mod or not, but more interested in new technology....:driver:

http://i1093.photobucket.com/albums/i436/homelymadmad/MG_1586-_zps3aaad613.jpg
My friend all are talking about asian le mans... I love car but I love pretty gals even more..:P

Just found out some website link that helps you with this.. Asian Le Mans Series
how much you know about asian le mans... do you know which company is sponsoring tyres for this competition