Car won't start

thri-p

Hey guys,

Can we list the possible problem that if car won't start?

I've got some here but if you guys can think of anything else, please post!

Car not igniting (no sound when keys turned to ignite)
Possible reasons: Car battery kong. Try to jumpstart car. If still can't, starter KO?

Car have ignition sound, but can't start
Possible reasons: Starter KO. If manual transmission car, push-start car. Put car in 1st gear, press clutch, when car on a roll, engage first gear and try to declutch car and accelerate (not too much).

Anything else to add?

gohkokeng

Feb 21, 2006
lol car won't start many problems until cannot say all leh....

no engine
no petrol
no
no
no

lol u guys sambung......

patrickchong

Mar 26, 2006
1st, must see whether got cranking or not. if no cranking, check batteri, fuse, and see whether when turn on ignition switch got lamp in combination meter or not.

if got cranking, check fuel pump, and so on about fuel injection.

escaflowne

May 4, 2004
the basic thing to know.
The car need 3 basic thing.
1)electricity
2)Fuel
3)air

Normally alot of engine that unable to start is because of factor number 1.
It is quite hard to just to know straight from the sound but as you guys know.The basic is

1)turn key...u can only hear tak tak tak.That means..starter didn't crank(most of the time battery kong so not enuff current for the starter to crank)
2)Turn key..u can hear the start cranking but it wont start.Now is time ot check electricity and fuel.

It is best to have a test pen.You can see those mechanic have this kinda light bulb connected to a pen.It is a useful tools to see where got current and where didn't.

For example...starter crank but shit engine cant't start.As usual..if you pen the pen on the source from the battery it lights up..showing that battery got power.Since there is alot of socket..so you can trace.Let's say no power to your distributor..when you stuck the pen into the socket you can't get any lights on.so on and so forth for the possibility

For your case,no cranking sound.That means starter no turning.Check if battery got power or not.Then check the possible connection to the starter..is there any lose cable..socket etc.And any electric to the starter.If there is electricity to ur starter..most probarly is the starter kong..wont turn.Get a test pen..it is darn useful.

patrickchong

Mar 26, 2006
easyly, if got cranking cant start, pull out plug cable, take 1 long skru driver stuck inside, then crank the starter. then put the skru driver near metal. then can see whether spark plug, cable, distributor, electricityno failure.... and, 1 important thing, when cranking cant start engine, must check fuel pump, inside the engine room have a socket tat can direct supply to fuel pump, check whether the pump functioning or not.

Ashburton

Oct 7, 2005
what if sometimes start and sometimes have a hard time getting it to start (especially if i don't use it during weekends)? i'm having trouble with that now.
sometimes starts on 1st try. sometimes it will just cough n cough n wheeze b4 a couple of times b4 it starts.

why why why?

Ashburton

Oct 7, 2005
using injection. found out the problem already.

one of the vacuum cable/hose was loose. after tightening it the car starts like a dream.

want to find out where have shop can do head lamp repair because my headlamp have water go inside....:adore: