cant start on my cefiro A31

jim_lee84

Sep 14, 2005
kuala lumpur
Hi guys, need some expert advise for my issue on cefiro A31 after changed dashboard,my vehicle unable to be start after several days, been thru two specialist checked and they unable to figure out what and where problem came out,my car been in workshop more than 8 months, if any of pro may be sharing some experience,much more appreciated .thanks

titan_m

Sep 12, 2009
Hi Jim,

Do you know anything else that was done besides the dashboard change? 8 months in workshop is a long time just for a dashboard.

When you turn the Ignition on does the dashboard light up? Does the car crank?

ken yeang

incorrect wiring after dashboard change....

Was the dashboard changed to another model? or exact swap?

To start need fuel and spark, so check if any fuel coming in to combustion chamber and are there any spark at spark plugs.
No sparks means wiring

scoupe

Mar 19, 2005
shah alam
Can you crank? if yes then start a process of elimination. Check if fuel is coming to the rails, see if all cylinder getting spark. Then work your way up.

ken yeang

if like tat, the mechanic that did the wiring must be damn noobie.....

Pray that the wiring didnt cause short-circuit and started a fire....and burn the car pulak...

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
In general:
1.if can crank,check to see if fuel arrive to the engine like one forumner said.if fuel does not arrive to the engine then check the internal fusebox wiring and all the fuse.most of the time the fuse and relay is position in the engine bay but its worth checking
check for spark,if there is none then check the coil,wires and everything relating to the ignition.

if fuel do arrive and spark is present to the engine bay,plug in a diagnostic computer and make sure the ecu is in good health and all sensor reading and setting are in order.if there is an error then trace the error as i bet some critical wiring are installed incorrectly.

2.if u cannot crank:
check the main key console wiring and make sure power is at the wire when it should be.if the mech made an error here than whack him with an engine support tool.this is the heaviest steel one man can pick up at the workshop.

if that is fine then check the wiring on the gear console area.if its an auto the there is a switch which detects the gear in N or P position to allow the car to start.some car have this switch outside but some have it inside.double check the wiring/switch,make sure its functioning.on mercedes,if the switch got problem then either the engine can crank but cant start or reverse light wont turn on.if yours is a manual,oso check the gear console area,some manual car oso got the switch.

check your immobiliser be it built in or aftermarket.

worse case is that the mech did not disconmect the battery when doing the job and a shorted wire fried the ecu.

Mar 9, 2015
hi all..
im hady from kuala kangsar perak..i drive cefiro a31 rb20det also..my problem same to you(cannot start)but different category..first..recently ive change internal fuel pump..(use 2 fuelpump internal n internal) also change sard adjustable fuel regulator to tomei fpr..why engine wont start after change both fuel pump n fpr..pressure to fuel-rail ok(i guess,dont know enough pressure or not coz batery at the back..when fuel reach adjustable fuel regulator theres no presure (0)psi to return fuel back to tank.whats the causes and how to fix it..:banghead:please help..

kayour

Apr 5, 2006
your car can start before changed the fuel pump/ fpr or not??
if can...the problem are sumwhere there la

hi sifu's,
juz wondering why the top speed of my car 1.8 Mivec hard to reach 200km/h after 160km/h...im using standard gti gearbox....i tot standard gti gearbox should be able to reach 200km/h without any problem....pls help me