buying computer(3.5k to 4k)

bear300

Dec 14, 2003
hi all,

what spec i can get if i got 3.5k to spend on only the cpu?
what's the good n bad for AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ /1M/800MHZ ??

regards,
bear..

netmatrix

P Jaya:Malaysia
kh_tan.tripod.com
WOW! R u nuts? People here would not spend 3-4K just for CPU alone!

BUT!!!! For that amount of money, you could buy top of the line AMD OPTERON 64bit processor system.

BUT!!!! U are not going to make use of all those processing power, without the proper application and operating system in it.

If you buy top of the line AMD or Intel CPU it should reach more than 3K if just for the CPU alone without monitor and all the other external stuff.

THAT IS!!!! If you buy those fancy liquid coolers, neon lamps, fancy fans and casing, it would blow any budget.

SataniC

Old Is Gold
Dec 9, 2003
Subang
hooowieee...if i got 4k to spend on the cpu i would get the best of the best....monitor speaker no need cos i'll just hook it up to my TV and hifi...tv as monitor and hifi as speaker...than only nice playing games on big screen maaa

FTO

rm3.5k for cpu alone?no need upgrade mobo?can can can...
buy urself a AMD athlon 64 FX51 at rm3k...still left rm500..
wait! did i just said 3k?!OMG!!this is crazy!!
:P

simplythebest

not worth it at all, unless you are too loaded with cash lare .. 3.5k can actually get a set of good PC specifications.

3.5k go get yourself a bestest graphic card and then go get P4 3.0ghz .. ok power liao .. just nice 3.5k LMFAO :lol:

santaclause

Jan 12, 2004
Originally posted by netmatrix@Jan 26 2004, 12:07 AM
Yeah that one agreed! Best Invidia or ATi stuff that cost RM1600. hehehe. But actually overkill la. 64MB card enuff lar. ;)
man im using 128mb ati radeaon 9200 and itstill sucks..

maybe its the card or something,

my radeon 9000 64mb seems to be faster

even my geforce 4 440mx 32mb!!!!!

bear300

Dec 14, 2003
hi all,

here is one of the spec..

1) AMD ATHLON 64 3000+ / 1M / 800MHZ / FAN

2) Gexcube 128MB Radeon 9600XT Xtreme Edition

3) 1GB DDR400 Ram CL2 (Corsair XMS Pro 512x2)

4) MSI MS-6702FIS2R VIA K8T800/DDR400/SATA +S+GL+IE

5) Maxtor 120GB SATA

6) 16x Pioneer DVD-106S

7) HEC 300watt PSU + Casing

8) Floppy

actually i want to get a pc that can play most of the game.
why i cannot get the performance from the 64bit processor?
is it there is still no system that supports 64 bit?

please give me some specs for reference..
i cant online often cause my current pc blow already..

regards,
bear..

FTO

my advice is get a P4 2.4C or higher,then get urself a 9800 Pro....enuff 4 gaming
eh boss...u going to overclock or pc extremely ah?ur ram mahal stuff with LEDs
@ rm760!
wah~~better spend on graphic card since u just wanna play games mah...

Realistic_Reactionist

Unjustifiable
Originally posted by santaclause@Jan 28 2004, 01:59 PM
man im using 128mb ati radeaon 9200 and itstill sucks..
maybe its the card or something,
my radeon 9000 64mb seems to be faster
even my geforce 4 440mx 32mb!!!!!
santaclause,
There could be many factors that causes your radeon to perform unsatisfactorily. Radeon's are known for power, thus, theoretically it should be working good.

Some opinion:

1) Try downloading and installing the latest drivers. Obtain the drivers from your radeon card manufacturer's site (GigaByte, Asus, etc). Also try checking out ATI's website for updates.

2) Is your hard disk too fragmented? Regular scan disk and defrag (I guess once every one or two months would be good) would help, just a tad bit.

3) Is your swap/paging file, commonly known as virtual memory, at the optimum size? I read somewhere that setting it at 384 is good enough. Note that both the minimum and maximum figures must be the same. Thus, minimum would be 384, and maximum would also be 384.

4) Do you have lots of background applications running? Check background running applications by pressing ONCE the key combinations CONTROL+ALT+DELETE. Look through the list of running applications. Should be minimal. If there are applications that you see that don't need to be running, just click on END TASK. Note that it may or may not have undesired results to it's trial and error.
This is what I have when I just started my PC. The basic apps.
* NAVAPW32 - Anti Virus (it's a must for almost everyone), * EM_Exec - Mouse driver, winpppoverethernet - streamyx drivers. The rest are all basic elements.

That's all I can think of for now.

can i still install a management for my 1.8 mivec since the original ecu has been rechipped??and what is the best management for mivec and where is the best place to do it?