Bridgestone RE002 or Toyo T1R Feedback

issuzark

Sep 4, 2014
UTQG = Uniform Tire Quality Grade
id say the UTQG differs from one manufacturer to another. different manufacturer has their own secret and blend.

AD08 = 180 AA A
R1R = 140 AA A

in layman's term, the lower the number the the higher the wear rates therefore higher grips provided.

nah i never consider R1r since the UTQG was too low for daily drive. altho AD08 quite low as well but just "gatal" to try a set.
Ah, treadwear. Ok. RE002 isn't that much better either. Mine comes with 220 A A. Heh.

i also have to made decision between t1r and re002 as my rear tyre. i m just ask the tyre shop,the price for my 205/45/16 is rm360, wheras re002 are lack of stock now due to bridgestone are now focus on production on ecopia
That's quite expensive. Where'd you check? Mine was 205/55/15 for 250 each for 002.

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
If you drive very careful in rainy day, then RE002 is better for u (especially if u like to take hard-corner in dry). it stop better in rain, and excel in other aspect if compare to T1R. But it also wear out faster than T1R. Cant comment on GY Directional 5 and Nitto Neo-Gen since i have no experience with them. But once my current T1R wear-off, i surely will give a try for Nitto Neo-Gen after considering it good price and good feedback from website @ forum.
Heard about nitto but never have the chance to try it.

dkny

Jul 1, 2013
do u guys really think japan made tires real good? probably good for their weather and road conditions but hell apart from ours.
thats why id say thai/indo made BS/michelin came closest to our weather.
Those legal Japan made tyre bring in to Malaysia are made for summer session, so no worry about it.
4 session tyre normally not suitable for Malaysia market, so no tyre maker will import to here, only those parallel import dealer.

---------- Post added at 08:36 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:36 PM ----------

New
Wet - Re002

After 20~30% use
Wet - T1R

---------- Post added at 08:37 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:36 PM ----------

Wait for Re003 next year(Confirmed), just duno which quarter launch in Malaysia

dkny

Jul 1, 2013
Next year should Botak liao, as u oledi know Re002 treadwear very low.
Once wear one side u cannot rotate anymore....

IIRC T1R has quite bad wet grip though, from the reviews that I saw. That's what stopped me from getting the T1R in the first place.
I mention of T1-R aquaplane resistance not grip. T1-R thread pattern quite a lot of grooves, so aquaplaning kept low, but then less contact surface so grip is not there. T1-R I used before and keep on wheel spin if I power up in the wet. Sidewall also too soft so I need to increase air pressure but then comfort suffers.:banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:18 PM ----------

Been using both tyres. My opinion is like this:
Dry - re002
Wet - re002
Anti-Aquaplanning - t1r (inflate below 30psi. if more, the anti-aquaplanning capability will gone)
Treadwear - t1r last longer than re002
Braking in both wet & dry - re002
Steering feedback - re002.

T1R may look bad in most aspect. But remember, it better in the most important aspect which is anti-aquaplanning (especially in Malaysia). Dont forget to check for Nitto Neo-gen @ good-year eagle directional 5 which I heard also good in anti-aquaplanning. GY not a top choice in our country even their product is good.
Probably side line by the big brother the Asy2.....:driver::biggrin:

yewly1990

Aug 18, 2013
I mention of T1-R aquaplane resistance not grip. T1-R thread pattern quite a lot of grooves, so aquaplaning kept low, but then less contact surface so grip is not there. T1-R I used before and keep on wheel spin if I power up in the wet. Sidewall also too soft so I need to increase air pressure but then comfort suffers.:banghead:

---------- Post added at 03:20 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:18 PM ----------

Probably side line by the big brother the Asy2.....:driver::biggrin:
Ya, heard that T1R always spin

They're also about 2 tiers above 002 and T1Rs. :biggrin:

Also C99D, what's the best wet tire for you then?
For me, the GY F1 GS-D3 German made ones.....but discon already

---------- Post added at 03:23 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:21 PM ----------

been using both tires but in different sizes, id say RE002 better than T1r in overall stats.
T1r had a slight tendency to "makan tepi" altho i always monitor the tire pressure and chamber. at least for my case.

do u guys really think japan made tires real good? probably good for their weather and road conditions but hell apart from ours.
thats why id say thai/indo made BS/michelin came closest to our weather.
Heard some time ago, Japan uses more synthetics rubber where Asean factory uses more natural rubber. Not sure true or not?:confused:

---------- Post added at 03:27 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:23 PM ----------

Theres still all weather tyres and summer tyres ma. Which they have.
Usually the pattern differs as all season have to be able to use in snow, not only rain and sun like us, that is summer tyres.....:driver:

---------- Post added at 03:30 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:27 PM ----------

Ah, treadwear. Ok. RE002 isn't that much better either. Mine comes with 220 A A. Heh.

That's quite expensive. Where'd you check? Mine was 205/55/15 for 250 each for 002.
His is 16 inch mah! When sizes goes up so does the price....:biggrin:

---------- Post added at 03:34 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:30 PM ----------

Those legal Japan made tyre bring in to Malaysia are made for summer session, so no worry about it.
4 session tyre normally not suitable for Malaysia market, so no tyre maker will import to here, only those parallel import dealer.
Have brother. Hankook v2 concept 2 and Falken ZE-912 are category All seasons....:hmmmm:

---------- Post added at 03:35 PM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 03:34 PM ----------

I just buy 002 now 003 coming out ah. :bawling:
Can brother, you go more touge loh.......:driver::biggrin:

issuzark

Sep 4, 2014
Whoa wheelspin some more ah. That's quite the scary leh. How many bhp back then? 200?

Also, GY F1 D3 even better rain grip than D5? :pepsi:

Whoa wheelspin some more ah. That's quite the scary leh. How many bhp back then? 200?

Also, GY F1 D3 even better rain grip than D5? :pepsi:
Yup, 200 from engine not wheel....hhahhahhaha:biggrin:

F1 GS-D3 is real good. D5 is actually not the replacement quality, but then did not use D5 before, but from feedback.

issuzark

Sep 4, 2014
Yup, 200 from engine not wheel....hhahhahhaha:biggrin:

F1 GS-D3 is real good. D5 is actually not the replacement quality, but then did not use D5 before, but from feedback.
So they went another direction altogether. Fair enough.
Hmm, then how much would it be on wheel? :driver:

The main question of the cars owners whether it is necessary to wash engine or not. Let's find concrete arguments for and against washing the engine.

Oh gosh... Never wash before because afraid might harm the parts.

Look at the dirt accumulated after 12 years when owner obtained the car...