Bridgestone Potenza RE-71rs VS Yokohama Advan A052

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
I am looking for tyres which are suitable for street and occasional track use. Tyre specifications (255-40-20/285-35-20/200 TW)

I am planning to upgrade my current RE-71R tyres to either RE-71rs or A052. However, I'm not able to source for a direct comparison online of these two tyres since the re-71rs is relatively new. I would appreciate feedback from anyone who has used both tyres :)

I am also open for other suggestions such as competition tyres. I was interested in the a050 but it's not available on my current rim size. I also heard mix reviews on the r888r overheating.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
So far only this below comparison analysis of all 200 tw tires but unfortunately still missing the newest re71rs.

I am looking for tyres which are suitable for street and occasional track use. Tyre specifications (255-40-20/285-35-20/200 TW)

I am planning to upgrade my current RE-71R tyres to either RE-71rs or A052. However, I'm not able to source for a direct comparison online of these two tyres since the re-71rs is relatively new. I would appreciate feedback from anyone who has used both tyres :)

I am also open for other suggestions such as competition tyres. I was interested in the a050 but it's not available on my current rim size. I also heard mix reviews on the r888r overheating.
holy cow... RE71R as a daily drive but occasional track tyre? Bro you got very good taste in tyres :biggrin:

A bit overkill if you ask me but then again you didn't share what car you drive so I'm going to assume it's a 911 Porsche. R888 and A052 are way too extreme for daily driving. How do you drive your RE71R in the rain?

nw111

Feb 13, 2018
Terra dei Motori
holy cow... RE71R as a daily drive but occasional track tyre? Bro you got very good taste in tyres :biggrin:

A bit overkill if you ask me but then again you didn't share what car you drive so I'm going to assume it's a 911 Porsche. R888 and A052 are way too extreme for daily driving. How do you drive your RE71R in the rain?
Don't think it's a 911. Probably Cayman or other RWD cars. Newer 911s come with 20" wheels & 285 rears were last used in 996 (285/30ZR18).

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
Im using a gtr r35 as weekend car, daily driving on semi slicks are quite overkill. The re71r does have decent wet performance.

Based on online reviews, the a052 is superior in terms of grip but gives less feedback compared to the re71r. Bridgestone claims the re71rs is faster then the re71r. But I can't find actual benchmarks of the re71rs against the a052 :(

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010

R888 and A050 are way to extreme for street cuz will be horrible in the wet but A052 and RE71 still can as long as no heavy rain or standing water.

6UE5t

Oct 8, 2010
Can try Goodyear F1 SuperSport R also, in between F1 Supersport and the RS.....
I was about to suggest that also but not sure what's the TW rating, is it 200 or below?

Edit: I saw the F1SS R tw is only 80?! Then it would finish very fast.

I was about to suggest that also but not sure what's the TW rating, is it 200 or below?

Edit: I saw the F1SS R tw is only 80?! Then it would finish very fast.
Woah, then need F1 SS, this one for daily sure good, some report say track also ok, but ofcourse not like R and RS....

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
I am looking into shaving off a few seconds during track days. For goodyear, it looks like the Eagle f1 supercar 3 is a decent 200 TW tire.

Some sources are claiming that the A052 is still superior in terms of grip levels

hotel kilo

Mar 18, 2010

Am using the A052 & have bought the 71RS but not yet installed. How often do you track in a year & how many km do you do in a month & whats is your average 1 way commute? What is your present opinion of the 71R both likes & dislikes?

hex999

Oct 27, 2011
Am using the A052 & have bought the 71RS but not yet installed. How often do you track in a year & how many km do you do in a month & whats is your average 1 way commute? What is your present opinion of the 71R both likes & dislikes?
I track about 3 to 4 times a year, my average monthly mileage is probably around 500km since it is a weekend car. Regarding the RE71R, I would say it is very predictable in terms of handling, I can easily tell when the tyres are on its grip limit, I am very pleased on the driving feedback of the RE71R. The downside of the RE71R is it wears off quickly after every heat cycle. When I changed to a new set of RE71R, there was MAJOR improvement in terms of grip although my previous set had about 30% thread left.

After going through several Japanese reviews regarding the RE71RS(Video subtitles & video comments translated to English)
I've decided to go for the RE71RS because I assume it will have the same great feedback it's predecessor had along with better grip & wear.

Here are the videos I've went through.
RE71RS is 4 seconds faster then S007A in wet.
RE71RS is 1 second faster then Dunlop ZIII
Reviewed by Keiichi Tsuchiya & Akihiko Nakaya
Reviewed by a professional racer

I still wonder how the RE71RS will go against the A052 though.

hotel kilo

Mar 18, 2010
I track about 3 to 4 times a year, my average monthly mileage is probably around 500km since it is a weekend car. Regarding the RE71R, I would say it is a very predictable in terms of handling, I can easily tell when the tyres are on its grip limit, I am very pleased on the driving feedback of the RE71R. The downside of the RE71R is it wears off quickly after every heat cycle. When I changed to a new set of RE71R, there was MAJOR improvement in terms of grip although my previous set had about 30% thread left.

After going through several Japanese reviews regarding the RE71RS(Video subtitles & video comments translated to English)
I've decided to go for the RE71RS because I assume it will have the same great feedback it's predecessor had along with better grip & wear.

Here are the videos I've went through.

I still wonder how the RE71RS will go against the A052 though.
Ya as you pointed out, no direct review between the 71RS & A052. Based on my experience the A052 is very grippy very semi slick like grip better than my previous Cup2. For TW200 the wear rate is high & the sidewall is softer than I'd like it . I dont think I can see 3 track full dry days with the A052 including my 500km a month street mileage. From friends who also track, the A052 is slightly better then the 71R on track. I would be happy if the 71RS has the same grip as the A052. Hoping the wear rate is better. Pretty sure the 71RS sidewall is better.

sifus out there,,pls help me on dis 2 things,,,
which one is better???wuts the pro n contra between them(emanage/afc)
fyi,i run 4g93p(gti)
n can i know the requirements to install dis piggyback??
tenks~