Breaking News: Godfather of the Lexus LFA dies in test drive crash

keshy

Dec 12, 2007

There is not much information as this piece of news is fresh out of the oven but reports out of Germany are saying that two Toyota test drivers were killed on a highway near the Nurburgring when their car veered into the oncoming lane and crashed into two other test drivers driving a BMW.

The two BMW drivers survived the crash with minor injuries but the yet-unnamed Toyota test drivers died behind the wheel of the LFA Nurburgring Edition that is still under testing.

Though there isn't a confirmation on who was behind the wheel, reports are saying that the driver of the LFA was 67 years old and Toyota's chief test driver, which leads to the conclusion that the test driver could just be Hiromu Naruse.

Besides being Chief Test Driver, Naruse was also Akio Toyoda's personal driver and the Godfather of the LFA.

Expect an official announcement soon. Video of the accident scene posted below.

<object id="flashObj" classid="clsid:D27CDB6E-AE6D-11cf-96B8-444553540000" codebase="http://download.macromedia.com/pub/shockwave/cabs/flash/swflash.cab#version=9,0,47,0" width="486" height="416"><embed src="http://c.brightcove.com/services/viewer/federated_f9/52669590001?isVid=1" bgcolor="#FFFFFF" flashvars="videoId=101406801001&linkBaseURL=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.rhein-zeitung.de%2Fregionales_artikel%2C-BoosNuerburgring-Chef-Testingenieur-stirbt-bei-Unfall-mit-Super-Lexus-_arid%2C102517.html&playerID=52669590001&domain=embed&dynamicStreaming=true" base="http://admin.brightcove.com" name="flashObj" seamlesstabbing="false" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowfullscreen="true" swliveconnect="true" allowscriptaccess="always" pluginspage="http://www.macromedia.com/shockwave/download/index.cgi?P1_Prod_Version=ShockwaveFlash" width="486" height="416"></object>

Source: AutoBlog

RERider

Aug 7, 2004
Putrajaya
what a sad day for motorsport enthusiats...my condolences to those involved.
RIP Naruse-san.

dawg

Nov 29, 2003
dawgsevo.blogspot.com
Condolences to the legendary car designers.

On the other hand, such news would create a negative image to Lexus and even more concerns about the crash test as 2 test drivers died in the LFA while the BMW escaped with minor injuries.

K2 stanley

Mar 24, 2009
A sad news from automotive world, i think this time toyota should take their crash test seriously to avoid these kind of sad news happened again. When i was young kid my parents always told me how good of toyota can't imgaine now all this happen.

minivan

Jun 11, 2004
BBBangi/KL

Dayline668

Aug 4, 2007
Dun look like the Nur spec LFA hav airbag, n then the BMW cover in airbag. We know the result of that... sad day...

Zeroed

You cant compare the safety levels of a bespoke supercar to a high end family saloon...

This is sad news though.

Hikaru33

May 4, 2009
Very sad indeed. I didn't know who he was until today. But knowing who he was now, I felt that he deserve so much respect and recognition from me and from all car enthusiast.

RIP......

skazareth

Feb 8, 2007
RIP... I dunno this guy's name but saw him in the net if you "youtubing" LFA related...

ashabmy

Sep 11, 2005
Labuan
www.cardomain.com
Condolence to the victims......

On the other hand, the LFA, being the ultimate Toyota's sport car should be much safer than family car. We've seen Ferrari or even Audi R8 crashed severely, even left only the driver "capsule", but the driver survived. Toyota is getting worst........

luqae

Dec 4, 2008
for what i see theres no skid mark at all on both lane, this might be a high speed, high impact crash, i thing both driver might be driving pretty fast, it just show how good of a car or driver u are, accident could happen. whatever it is RIP.

hi.anyone here have install adjustable fuel regulator on your viva..please share with me how you did that..thank you..