Block Repair shah alam / subang

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 6, 2011
361
76
528
Negeri Sembilan
Hi guys,

Do you guys mind to share machine shop to repair block with good workmanship and affordable price.

Do i need to do engine tuning after block rebore?
engine is s4ph campor iafm.

My block have small hole like pic below.

Anyone experience this before?

tq
 

Attachments

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM

gunnerzz

2,000 RPM
Jul 3, 2014
2,082
677
713
36
Melaka
Hi guys,

Do you guys mind to share machine shop to repair block with good workmanship and affordable price.

Do i need to do engine tuning after block rebore?
engine is s4ph campor iafm.

My block have small hole like pic below.

Anyone experience this before?

tq
Never seen that before.
Whats the reason mentioned by the mech?
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,344
6,401
5,213
KL
It looks like the cylinder was overbored until it's touching the water jacket. You might need to resleeve instead of repair the block.
 

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Aug 6, 2011
361
76
528
Negeri Sembilan
Never seen that before.
Whats the reason mentioned by the mech?
not sure, i dont have mechanic.

It looks like the cylinder was overbored until it's touching the water jacket. You might need to resleeve instead of repair the block.
the block never been bore before. still within factory spec 79mm
Do you have any recommended machine shop?
 

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator

Izso

NA NA NA NA NA
Helmet Clan
Moderator
Mar 28, 2004
15,344
6,401
5,213
KL
not sure, i dont have mechanic.



the block never been bore before. still within factory spec 79mm
Do you have any recommended machine shop?
If not bored before - seriously - consider another block. Repairing blocks is a hit-miss thing. I personally don't know anyone who does this well.
 

Tory97

Junior Member

Tory97

Junior Member
Dec 28, 2017
6
0
1
Johor Bahru
Hi guys,

Do you guys mind to share machine shop to repair block with good workmanship and affordable price.

Do i need to do engine tuning after block rebore?
engine is s4ph campor iafm.

My block have small hole like pic below.

Anyone experience this before?

tq
I experience the same thing as you, a line cutting in on the cylinder wall, same on the top portion. Mine one is due to one of the spark plug cable lose and dropped out when engine is running, imbalance cycle so the piston scratched the cylinder wall. My local mechanic "sand papered" the wall and top overhauled, haven't rebore yet.
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
Any updates on this? Looks more like a step than a hole. You sure it is a hole?

And campro stock bore is 76mm lerr how you become 79mm bore?

If it's really just a step caused by the piston ring, just rebore and put in oversized piston. Though i really wonder how the step can form. If it really is a hole, it is possible to re-sleeve as well, but it won't be cheap, but you can re-use your pistons if it still in good condition, while if you go oversize you need new pistons, so more or less about same also in terms of costs...
 

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Aug 6, 2011
361
76
528
Negeri Sembilan
Any updates on this? Looks more like a step than a hole. You sure it is a hole?

And campro stock bore is 76mm lerr how you become 79mm bore?

If it's really just a step caused by the piston ring, just rebore and put in oversized piston. Though i really wonder how the step can form. If it really is a hole, it is possible to re-sleeve as well, but it won't be cheap, but you can re-use your pistons if it still in good condition, while if you go oversize you need new pistons, so more or less about same also in terms of costs...
damn pening edi:rofl:, yes stock bore 76mm.

I don't know the term of this thing. Maybe overheat cause this??
Engine in stock condition. No open pod or any modification

Already send the block to a fren mechanic to rebore.


I wonder how much u did for bottom full engine balancing by VPRO?
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
damn pening edi:rofl:, yes stock bore 76mm.

I don't know the term of this thing. Maybe overheat cause this??
Engine in stock condition. No open pod or any modification

Already send the block to a fren mechanic to rebore.


I wonder how much u did for bottom full engine balancing by VPRO?
Yeah it's called a ridge, I think it's pretty common cylinder wear. How many KM's had the engine went through and what oil you were using before this?




Can't remember the price of the balancing, but i think it's almost, or around 1k. Have to send complete rotating assembly including crankshaft, flywheel, timing gear, main pulley and all bolts that will be attached. Also send in pistons and conrods for balancing.

So going oversized piston?
 

kayour

Known Member
Senior Member

kayour

Known Member
Senior Member
Apr 5, 2006
326
41
1,528
my kawasaki krr 150 block also happened like this
but at bottom side:burnout:
 

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Aug 6, 2011
361
76
528
Negeri Sembilan
Yeah it's called a ridge, I think it's pretty common cylinder wear. How many KM's had the engine went through and what oil you were using before this?




Can't remember the price of the balancing, but i think it's almost, or around 1k. Have to send complete rotating assembly including crankshaft, flywheel, timing gear, main pulley and all bolts that will be attached. Also send in pistons and conrods for balancing.

So going oversized piston?
190k++ km on it.

The mechanic say need to rebore to 0.5mm. Not going for oversize at this moment.
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
190k++ km on it.

The mechanic say need to rebore to 0.5mm. Not going for oversize at this moment.
rebore the whole cylinder 0.5mm and not changing pistons? Then your piston-to-wall clearance is gonna be shit, possible issues might include rattling noise when cold, or even when hot, excessive wear and tear, loss of compression and oil loss.

Usually if rebore 0.5mm it will include changing the pistons to 0.5mm oversized as well, i have never heard of anybody boring 0.5mm oversized and not changing pistons. And reboring 0.5mm is considered oversized already what so what you mean by not going oversized?
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,878
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
rebore the whole cylinder 0.5mm and not changing pistons? Then your piston-to-wall clearance is gonna be shit, possible issues might include rattling noise when cold, or even when hot, excessive wear and tear, loss of compression and oil loss.

Usually if rebore 0.5mm it will include changing the pistons to 0.5mm oversized as well, i have never heard of anybody boring 0.5mm oversized and not changing pistons. And reboring 0.5mm is considered oversized already what so what you mean by not going oversized?
Agree, 0.5mm is a lot for piston clearance. In the cylinder means 1mm....:confused:
 

punk

Known Member
Senior Member

punk

Known Member
Senior Member
Thread starter
Aug 6, 2011
361
76
528
Negeri Sembilan
rebore the whole cylinder 0.5mm and not changing pistons? Then your piston-to-wall clearance is gonna be shit, possible issues might include rattling noise when cold, or even when hot, excessive wear and tear, loss of compression and oil loss.

Usually if rebore 0.5mm it will include changing the pistons to 0.5mm oversized as well, i have never heard of anybody boring 0.5mm oversized and not changing pistons. And reboring 0.5mm is considered oversized already what so what you mean by not going oversized?
Agree, 0.5mm is a lot for piston clearance. In the cylinder means 1mm....:confused:
yes include change piston. max oil clearance for proton is 0.03mm based on manual

i thought u mean going full max oversize rebore.:rofl:

i dont know the term mah.
 

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member

Nightstalker1993

Known Member
Senior Member
Aug 30, 2010
265
128
543
Subang Jaya
yes include change piston. max oil clearance for proton is 0.03mm based on manual

i thought u mean going full max oversize rebore.:rofl:

i dont know the term mah.
Ohh then yeah that seems right then. As long as you're boring your cylinders larger and fitting a larger pistons in, that's what we call going oversized as your pistons are now 0.5m larger than before. Anyway, wish you all the best!
 

stupidcar

5,000 RPM

stupidcar

5,000 RPM
Mar 18, 2013
5,567
849
713
Kuala Lumpur
rebore the whole cylinder 0.5mm and not changing pistons? Then your piston-to-wall clearance is gonna be shit, possible issues might include rattling noise when cold, or even when hot, excessive wear and tear, loss of compression and oil loss.

Usually if rebore 0.5mm it will include changing the pistons to 0.5mm oversized as well, i have never heard of anybody boring 0.5mm oversized and not changing pistons. And reboring 0.5mm is considered oversized already what so what you mean by not going oversized?
Bruh the blowby u willl have... better route the pcv hose back to oil pan :rofl:

Anyway i think u just look for persona barai. Get the block, S4PH/PE block damn easy to find.
 

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator

vr2turbo

Beyond 20,000 RPM!
Helmet Clan
Moderator
May 11, 2010
29,878
8,347
1,713
Petaling Jaya
yes include change piston. max oil clearance for proton is 0.03mm based on manual

i thought u mean going full max oversize rebore.:rofl:

i dont know the term mah.
Oh! with piston change then okay.....lol:rofl: