best engine swap for SAGA FLX

Hohoho...i sense a top secret mod developement in process.....

on the 1.3 engine,i was expecting an improve of performance when using ron97 as its using high comp piston.what surprise me is that the performance is the same with ron95.
Is around 10:1, right? not really that high. What fuel octane is recommended on the car manual?

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
Is around 10:1, right? not really that high. What fuel octane is recommended on the car manual?
dunno lah bro..hahah
probably 95.

my waja is super good on ron97.
maybe carbon build up but no knocking on ron95.

last time my blm knock on ron92.

dunno lah bro..hahah
probably 95.

my waja is super good on ron97.
maybe carbon build up but no knocking on ron95.

last time my blm knock on ron92.
Use what your car likes. If BLM no response to Ron 97 just give Ron 95....hahhaha:biggrin:

Like my Tiggo and Hyundai runs fine on 95. Tiggo needs 93 and Hyundai only 91 so 95 is fine. VR old single cam 2.0 already requires 95+ on the petrol cover, VR needs more.....:smokin::driver:

flarery

May 13, 2013
Johor
seriously i dont care about a type of car, i just care about performance.....my aunty buy me this car without asking first, but im not regret at all, because for me FLX quite looking nice car.:biggrin:

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka
wah..got so many people their car bought for them these days.

performance is most of new owners seek esp the younger gen.
they just seems to be attracted to the word performance.
i was like that in my early 20,but now i am driving a very2 lightly mod car only.

and...that lightly modded car do surprise some more powerful car once a while.
then again,most of the driver are youngster in their blindly modded car.
if the otai driver in zth...surely they left me to makan asap...

flarery

May 13, 2013
Johor
my car not a brand new one la....huhuhu...already 2 years ...everything working fine without any problem except power...feel little bit underpower since im used an automatic transmission.

wah..got so many people their car bought for them these days.

performance is most of new owners seek esp the younger gen.
they just seems to be attracted to the word performance.
i was like that in my early 20,but now i am driving a very2 lightly mod car only.

and...that lightly modded car do surprise some more powerful car once a while.
then again,most of the driver are youngster in their blindly modded car.
if the otai driver in zth...surely they left me to makan asap...
Reading your post, I remember meeting one of my mechanic's customer. We were having drinks and talk about old times. He used to race and go for rallying.
He said, during our younger times, we mod our cars, make it as low as possible. Now as age catching up, we mod our cars as high as possible. Family man now and he drives a Harrier......hhahhahahhah:rofl:

---------- Post added at 08:28 AM ---------- 6 hour anti-bump limit - Previous post was at 08:20 AM ----------

my car not a brand new one la....huhuhu...already 2 years ...everything working fine without any problem except power...feel little bit underpower since im used an automatic transmission.
Even though not brand new you are getting a car, that is what bro. gunner meant. Our times not that easy, the best is a Motor bike....hahhaha:biggrin:
Anyway, 1.3 what do you expect. If you need more power BOT is the answer, as the other minor mods I don't think you will be happy with the power increase. But then BOT need a couple of thousand RM cost....:smokin:

stupidcar

Mar 18, 2013
Ha, keyword: Automatic.
You can't really enjoy the power be it 1.6 or 1.3 with AT.
I have 1.6 AT myself with 1300kg body.
Really really bad acceleration unless high rev (4-6500rpm)

Ha, keyword: Automatic.
You can't really enjoy the power be it 1.6 or 1.3 with AT.
I have 1.6 AT myself with 1300kg body.
Really really bad acceleration unless high rev (4-6500rpm)
Even at 4-6500 RPM, no oomph like manual.....:biggrin:

flarery

May 13, 2013
Johor
can someone provide me roughly cost for this type engine conversion??

saga blm 1.6 crankshaft = RM???
saga blm 1.6 conrod = RM???
bolt on turbo kits = RM3.5k

anymore??

gunnerzz

Jul 3, 2014
Melaka

anymore??
prepare abt rm2000-2300 if u want to change to 1.6 stroker.
u can retain the 1.3 piston and u will have a high comp 1.6.
if u want to turbo the use 1.6 piston or cfe piston(not sure can fit or not)
u will get better torque,hp is not increase by much.
yours is auto so u wont feel the gain as much as on a manual.

turbo will require change of piston to reduce the compression.
u can bolt a turbo kit alone but on stock ecu and injector,not much gain for the money spent.
again,yours is auto so dont expect much.google and find how much power is loss
in an autobox.

i would suggest just go for easy bolt on part and not turbo.
this way u will retain the running cost and durability of the motor.
plus,its easy to reverse the mod and sell the part seperately if u want to sell the car.
use the money to mod your new car in the future.
bolt on part like:
-extractor and exhaust system
-air filter
-crank pulley
-better suspension
-better brake
-good tire
-some strut bar(front 2 point,front lower arm,rear anti roll bar)
total for the part above can go beyond the cost of a turbo kit but remember than once u install
the turbo kit u will need to upgrade your brake,suspension,cooling,chassis,tire as well.
so u will end up spending more.

goin fast is not a simple matter of squeezing hp out of the engine.
the surrounding parameter such as braking,cooking,handling must also be talen inco

on engine transplant,not sure if the 1.6 cps engine is a direct swap to the blm.
get the manual gb.

ken yeang

Yeah......understand the works of turbo and how turbo car behave oso important......

I have seen newbies masuk longkang, langgar pagar, climbed kerb as a result of not familiar with turbo car...

anymore??

Get the crank already have 300cc extra, easier maintenance, handling and cost.....:driver:

Kopi

May 18, 2004
Cheras
flarery : save yourself from the trouble of working on an automatic 1.3L. Even if you made it pop 130hp, it will guzzle gas like a 240 Volvo and already at 50% of its life duration. By the time : you can only shred the weight of the car.

or cheaper : buy yourself a throttle controller to make it a little more responsive to the torque. proton's drive by wire system generally the main reason the performance sucks. And second : the punch CVT gearbox. the laziest gearbox I've ever met. Literally you want to downshift to overtake, you have to 'punch' it with high revs.

When looking at oversea selling Motul 800 road racing 2T for +-US$17 and we are getting it at +-RM133 per bottle, I think it is too much. So, I'm wondering if volume can bring down the price a bit. Mix product purchasing also can, like x bottle of different engine oil + x bottle of different 2T.